We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“uncomfortable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Geneve

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel de Geneve
Ranked #1,133 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Ottawa Ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“uncomfortable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Paris hotels are expensive. The price we paid here would have easily paid for a very high end hotel in many cites I have visited but in Paris, it doesn't get much. The positives at this hotel are the very helpful and considerate staff, the location near to several metro stations and the clean room. But we were so uncomfortable, it was not a pleasant stay. The room was stifling hot. It was warm the two July nights we stayed but not at all hot. Our room felt like a heat wave was on. I had the window open but we faced a courtyard and there was no circulating air. We had a fan but the cord was so short and there was only one plug so I could not get it near the window. Both nights, we woke repeatedly covered in sweat, thirsty and miserable. Our pillows felt like small rocks and the beds were hard and lumpy. The room is very small and with our 2 suitcases, we had no room at all to move. The shower was so small that even as a petite person, I could not turn around. Our miserable sleep meant we didn't have the energy to enjoy Paris as we might have done and I regretted staying here. I wish I had spent a bit more for a nicer hotel that would have allowed us a proper rest to enjoy our visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapitalMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENEVE09, Gérant at Hotel de Geneve, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello CapitalMom,
Thanks for this comment about our hotel.
We are sorry that no one warned you about standard size rooms in Paris in a 3*** NL Hotel.
Yes, Paris is one of the european capitals where the room size in hotel is seriously impacted by the general problem of free surfaces.
As we focus about price moderation and good quality service, we paid a strong attention about your general comfort though.
We are sorry to understand that you suffered because of the warm weather.
You should asked an extension cord for the fan.
There was a heat wave just during your stay in Paris. Some people in France already regret this heat wave because the summer weather is again very uncertain since.
We hope although that you had great souvenirs of Paris and should not hesitate to see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    102
    81
    21
    6
See reviews for
30
91
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at 6 hotels over 11 days in France. This was the first of our stay and we felt at home.

We stayed a total of 3 nights at this property. We took the Opera bus from the Airport (10.50E per person). From the bus stop, it was a 15 minute walk to the hotel. It was a bit tricky to get to with luggage, narrow roads, and the traffic.

Pros:
*Great location. Just north of the central Opera area. If you love to walk, you can be at the Louvre in 30 minutes. It took us 45 minutes one day to walk to the Eiffel Tower.
*A couple blocks away from Gare Lazare (Metro Station)
*Close to shops and restaurants (Subway was next door if desperate)
*We booked the L'Open Bus tour and one of the stops is down the street from the hotel (used this as transportation for 2 days)
*friendly staff. One of the front desk staff was so helpful in suggesting restaurants and transportation options (a gentleman who worked the night of June 14 and 15).
*Rooms were smaller than we are use to in North America but very clean and comfortable
*TV
*Daily maid service

Cons:
*No A/C so at times could be uncomfortable. They offer a fan and windows open
*No irons (no hotel in France offers irons so pack neatly)
*Sometimes satellite not available when watching tv (If English speaking, you are out of luck; only French channels)
*Had to leave our key at the front desk every time we left the hotel (staff were trustworthy but I lock my suitcases no matter where I stay)
*bring your own wash cloth. All France hotels only provide bath towels and hand towels.

We really liked this hotel and would definitely stay again if visiting Paris in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YTOGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENEVE09, Gérant at Hotel de Geneve, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello YTOGIRL,
Thanks for your review about our hotel.
It was nice to meet you during during your stay.
We are happy to notice that you took advantage of your stay and you had a great stay in Paris while amongst us.
Yes our hotel is situated in a very lively place in Paris around Opera-Bastille where you can easily find restaurants, cafés, cinémas etc
You can as well explore easily the whole city.
The summer is the perfect season to discover Paris although hot temperature.
See you soon in France !.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

~100 euro per night (without Breakfast) in June in downtown Paris (near Grands Magasins). Rather clean, staff was nice, wifi worked. 1 minus: no air-conditioned in the room. Good that I don't really bother the heat.
Like most of Paris middle price hotel: rooms are small, elevator is tiny, streets are busy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moskva69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENEVE09, Gérant at Hotel de Geneve, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hey Moskva69,
Thank you for your review about our hotel.
Yes that's true that we make a special effort on price and offers in order to present an affordable room in the heart in Paris !
See you soon in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Little rooms but clean with everything that you could need! We found the reception staff lovely and helpful!

Good location & walking distance to most attractions! Close by train station was perfect for our trip to Disney!

Would happily stay again for the price we paid!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENEVE09, Gérant at Hotel de Geneve, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hey Gemma L,
Thanks so much for your review about our hotel.
Yes indeed as our location is perfect to visit Paris at reasonable price, it's easy to reach Dinsley too !
See you soon in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Clean, good facilities however no air con but as this was just a one night stay then it didnt bother us that much however the room was hot

Great location as its close to a metro on upper ground station

Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENEVE09, Gérant at Hotel de Geneve, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
hey Craig Y,
Thank you for your comment.
We were delighted to welcome you to Paris during these very nice summer days.
See you soon in Paris!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Found this place very welcoming and the staff helpful. It was very small and compact but all you needed as a base while exploring. Practically next to the station but also not too far to walk to all the main attractions. As it was a called a budget hotel, there was of course no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and, more importantly for us, no air conditioning.

Room Tip: The lift was tiny (it said it could hold 3 persons but 2 was plenty!) so unless you don't mind s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shetlandwomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.0 mi away
Opera Deauville Hotel
Opera Deauville Hotel
#1,124 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
ATN
ATN
#722 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villathena
Villathena
#431 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
#933 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
#981 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Dieppe
Hotel de Dieppe
#1,596 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Geneve

Property: Hotel de Geneve
Address: 36 rue de Londres | 36 Rue de Londres, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,133 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Saint Lazare train station area, nearby Opera Garnier, great department stores, Madeleine church and Montmartre district, the 3 star hotel de Geneve welcomes you in an agreeable setting and places you right in the heart of the tourist and business Paris.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing