We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit make do but perfectly fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Williams Opera
Ranked #1,455 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 12, 2011

A pleasant hotel. Staff very friendly and patient with our poor french though all spoke English. Room was a bit make do but shower worked bathroom was clean bed was comfortable . BAsically the important things. Just needs a lick of paint and modernizing. Beautiful views out of the french windows into the square below. Did not eat breakfast as so many lovely bakery s near by. Fifteen minute walk from euro star and twenty thirty minute to town no need to catch metro. Just straight down la fayette to the Louvre.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beccarobinson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 178 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

Hotel Williams Opera is hotel which can be summarized easily. Good location near metro station and within walking distance from Galleries Lafayette.

Room was very basic but clean. Some noise came from nearby park where people were hanging out well into night and talking loudly. Well in big city I actually like sounds of city.

Staff was very friendly and easily approachable. Breakfast was simple but filling, but might get boring for longer visit since I believe its same every morning.

Elevator is somewhat dangerous since exit is straight into stairways. Value is good in my opinion and I would visit here again. Budget travelers choice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuluttaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

To stay in hotel Williams Opera was the worst impression of our stay in Paris. They gave us room in the ground floor, with the window to the street. The problem was, that this windows were really bad and we heared everything from the street. There is a gang of black young people, who spend nights exactly infront of the hotel and they are screaming whole night infront of our window, so the one have the impression, that he sleaping in the middle of the streat, it wasn´t possible to sleap there, and we were very tired next day :( In hotel reception they were very unpleasant and didn´t want to move us to another room, they said that they are full, but I am not sure about that.
Generally rooms are very small and very old furnitured. The only positive was, that the bathroom looks clean. Breakfast was poor, only croisant and marmelade, coffee, tea, cornflakes, white yougurt.

Room Tip: only higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denisakupsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Firstly most importantly the young lady at reception was fiendly, helpful and did a great job of welcoming us on arrival. She also spoke at least three languages perfectly and was happy to change between them as required.

The location is convenient and only about a 7 minute walk from the train station. walking up to the Sacre Coeur Basilica only takes about 20 minutes and is well worth the effort. There are lots are good places to eat nearby and not too expensive. The Metro line is just around the corner near the McDonalds.

The rooms are on the small side but why do you need a big room is you aren't willing to pay for it? The shower was adequate with plenty of hot water. The room was warm on the cold nights.

My only complaint was there seemed to be people in the street or in the park throughout the night talking very loudly. Our room faced the street and I could here talking very late, like after midnight. My recommendation would be to ask for a room without a view.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

First,I have to admit that location is really good. It's walking distance from most of the sites in Paris. But,besides that I was dissapointed with this hotel. In a 3 star Hotel I do not expect big rooms or closets or quite neighborhood,but I do expect a clean towel and a clean floor (even if it was a 2 star hotel). That wasn't the case in Wiliams Opera. What they did was disgusting,the put my dirty towel from the floor back on a hanger,so i had no idea it's dirty until two days later my face towel started to stink. I was appaled. After eating some cookies in a room the first night,there were some crumbs on the floor. They stayed there for a whole time of my stay. If you don't mind dirtiness,this hotel is great for you,as it's not expensive and is close to the center. Otherwise,do not book it unless you're really stuck to a strict budget. Even then,try to find some better place. I'm sure even in Paris decent budget hotels do exist.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolguy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

In line with many views already expressed we were of the opinion that this hotel was hardly 3 star. The bed was comfortable although the sheets and pillow cases were a bit grubby. The room was basic and a bit tired but was light and airy mainly as we had three large balcony doors looking out over the park. The drawback from this was that there was some noise from people congregating at the park in the early hours. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly when we arrived and the ill-fitting door on the shower cubicle did mean that the floor was wet everytime the shower was used. As some have already explained the exit from the lift is a little tricky given it is half way up the stairs and poorly lit. The brealfast is very basic and the tables are squashed in far too tightly to sit comfortably.

On the positive side the hotel is located in easy walking distance from the Gard du Nord and the Cadet Metro Station is only a couple of hundred metres down the road so i is a good location from which to explore the city. We booked the hotel when it was offering a deal so from a price point of view it was reasonable by Paris standards but it looks as though it is true that you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafetymanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

When we landed in Paris there was a water leakage problem with our chosen hotel and we were sent to this hotel until the problem was solved. We paid for 2 nights stay before checking the rooms, the first room we were given the bed was about 10inches highter at the bottom than the top it was like a slide! we asked for another room the bed was level but the standard of the room was not 3* it was more like a basic hostel. We stayed one night without any sleep the most uncomfortable bed I ve ever slept in. The next morning we stated that we were not happy with the standard of the room and wanted our money back for the second night. We were told this was not possible a long altercation took place between myself and the receptionist who had no personnel skills whatsoever. She refused to contact her boss as it was a Saturday. Eventually with help from the manager at our chosen hotel and the threat of getting the police involved to recoup our money we were eventually reimbursed. The receptionist insisted the hotel was 3* by french standards but by Irish standards it would not be 1*. The rooms were dark and dingy and decor from an era gone by a long time horrible wollen blanket on the bed. I would not recommed this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcolreavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Anjou Lafayette Opera
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Bergere
Hotel Royal Bergere
#1,570 of 1,803 in Paris
160 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Helussi
#66 of 1,803 in Paris
608 reviews
Hotel du Pre
#806 of 1,803 in Paris
175 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Golden Hotel Paris
Golden Hotel Paris
#752 of 1,803 in Paris
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Williams Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Williams Opera

Address: 3 rue Mayran | Metro 9 : Cadet, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,455 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $97 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Williams Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Williams Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williams Opera Hotel
Williams Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing