We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Ronceray Opera
Ranked #886 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I read if you return to Paris, that you should never stay at the same place. The idea is that since the city is like many different cities in one with all the "arrondisements," you should experience/get to know a different part of Paris on each visit. On this, my 5th trip, I chose to go against that advice and stay at the Ronceray Opera again. I loved everything about this hotel. The main floors retain the "old Paris" with what looks like 16 ft. ceilings in the lovely "French" dining room, while the rooms (be forewarned, they are small!) look like they've been updated; they are attractive and comfortable. The location is wonderful with the beautiful Passage Jouffroy adjacent, and the Metro twenty steps out of the hotel. The area of town is lively without being noisy or raucous with a lot of cafes, restaurants and shops. The breakfast is just delicious, with an array of fresh breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, yogurt, cereals, juices and fresh fruit. Many 3-star hotels "scale back" their tourist complimentary breakfast, but you will not go hungry here! Staff is helpful and attentive to your needs and questions. If (and when) I long to visit this amazing city another time, I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: You can take the RoissyBus from Charles de Gaulle for 10 euros, it drops you off at the Opera Garnie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maribeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astagh, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Ronceray Opera, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Good afternoon

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

La Direction
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ronceray Opera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 887 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Paris has many quirky hotels, and you usually have to trade off between local surroundings, comfort and amenities, convenience depending what you are doing, and degree of quirkiness. The Ronceray Opera clearly has a history and is somewhat faded. Nestled in the covered arcade, you feel like you are in a bygone era. Winding you way thru narrow corridors, through cheap walls and doors, you'd think you were in a rooming house. The lift only goes to level 4, but if you are happy to walk up, you might be rewarded with a window that looks out to Sacre Coeur. Rooms are large enough to turn around in, but not much more. Everything in the room is pretty basic, but there is free wifi, and quite adequate heating. Breakfast is the same each day, but with sufficient quality and variety that you didn't get bored. French bacon is delicious. The neighborhood is full of tourist retaurants, but you can find fantastic French restaurants if you tried. The major department stores are close, while the arcades have nice old fashioned things like stamp collections. The metro (line 9) stops just about in front. However, if you were coming in from either Orly or Charles deGaulle, it's not exactly convenient connections to the train - the best was to take the Roissybus to Opera and walk 1km. I don't think i'd choose this area to stay again, but it was interesting to get to know the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vivian2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night whilst on business. I loved the location as it was so central, unfortunately I didn't have time for any sight seeing. The room was small but clean and tidy. My only real complaint is that the door at the end of the corridor which allows access to the rooms was slamming all night - I was only 1 room away from it - room 421. Breakfast was a nice surprise, a buffet afafir with an excellent selection.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BertieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

they stolen my medication from my room,
I arrive at the hotel at 10 AM the said check in at 12 noon
I come back at 12:45 they said no check in is at 14:00 afternoon
hotel is very noise, customer service very poor
will not use it again, after one day I moved to another Hotel 300 yard same street extra money but better service

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
3  Thank AYMAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A friend and I booked this hotel through an online travel website package deal and frankly didn't have high expectations. First, the location is perfect. The neighborhood is not too ostentatious nor seedy, just the right mix of affordable shops and restaurants and a place two women always felt safe. It is a short walk to the Ronceray Opera building which is stunningly beautiful especially at night. The area near the Opera is a good one for shopping with a large department store and Uniqlo but also very close to the 'lady district' where all the VERY high-end jewelry stores are located. There is a Metro stop just a few steps away from the hotel and the entrance to the hotel is in a charming covered Rue of shops and restaurants that winds on and on for blocks in either direction. The staff went above and beyond expectations to be helpful with everything, right down to getting morning coffee and a croissant at 5:00 a.m. while we waited for our shuttle to the airport.

The hotel building itself is older and definitely showing signs of wear and tear but so are many of the other hotels in Paris. Rooms are teeny, tiny but have everything you could need. Our room, 324, had two floor-to-ceiling windows that opened which made the room feel more expansive and let in beautiful breezes. The view from our room was of Sacre Coure (sp?) and rooftops and because we were at the back of the building was supremely quiet. Note that if you get a room on the top floor (5th) you will have to take the stairs for the final flight. Elevator only goes to the 4th floor.

This is a busy tourist hotel with small conference rooms where an interesting cross section of meetings were going on. It felt good to have all this energy in the place we stayed. Our fellow hotel guests were from around the world and a very friendly lot.

Breakfast was included with our package deal and it was WAY beyond any expectations. Always a buffet but the array of choices was amazing. We ate fresh croissants (plain and pain au chocolat!) every morning with cheeses, ham, salami, soft boiled eggs, juices, hot chocolate and fruit. There were also fresh dates, figs and prunes, cereals and jams galore. There was no skimping on the buffet.

Our room had two twin beds, two closets, a nice desk area (that contained a mini-fridge), a really nice bathroom w/tub (handheld shower) and a room safe. Outlets were scarce but a little advance planning helped make electronics charging, laptops and blow dryers work. The room though tiny was thoughtfully designed to make great use of space. Not one complaint.

Highly recommend this cost-effective hotel to anyone who travels to Paris. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back where you will be away from street sounds. Note: elevator only goes to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RedBuddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

we spent 3 nights in BEST WESTERN Ronceray Opera in last week
location is excellent, we took Roissybus from CDG airport, took us about 1hr45mins due to traffic congestion, the bus stop is just opposite to Galeries lafayette, so we spent less than 15mins to walk from the stop to the hotel
room is small but equipped with everything, they provide a all-in-one bottle of shower gel and shampoo, it serves well as shower gel, but we have to use our own shampoo and conditioner as it does not work well on hair
the hotel is very secure and have a locked gate on every floor so you need a card key to get thru, but this is also a problem as our room was located just the 2nd room next to the gate, so we kept hearing the door bangs especially in the mornings
cleaning ladies ignored the "do not disturb" sign and they came in anyway. It was also a big mistake that we forgot to put the sign out one night, and they knocked our door several times to see if they could come in to make the room
breakfast costs $13 extra but there are plenty of choices in the area

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is great - right in the middle of a busy shopping and restaurant district and not too far from a Metro station. The entrance is between two rows of shops down an arcade, and the reception is on the first floor, not the ground floor, so getting there is a mini adventure of its own. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was fairly average. A reasonable size compared to some in Paris - less of a box and more of a small bedroom, though by no means luxurious. I was on the 5th floor which requires a trip up the lift to the 4th floor and then navigation of a maze of staircases. No good if you have limited mobility but I guess they don't put you on the 5th floor if you can't walk easily? Everything was going well until the people in the next room to me returned to their room around 2am and began making a fair bit of noise. Bashing around, TV on, talking loudly to each other, taking showers etc. Normally you would not expect to hear that much, however it seemed that the walls were very thin and I could even hear the tap being run in the neighbouring room. At about 5am they left (presumably on an early flight or train) and I finally got some sleep (for an hour or so). I don't think the people concerned were being excessively noisy, but neither were they being quiet, it's just that the sound seemed to travel rather too easily. I am just thankful that their activities ended at talking and showering...!

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor if you have limited mobility. There are a maze of stairs to navigate to get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The-Elusive-Thnith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Opera Drouot
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Best Western Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Holiday Inn Paris Opera-Grands Boulevards
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Best Western Aulivia Opera
Best Western Aulivia Opera
#945 of 1,804 in Paris
262 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Anjou Lafayette Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Ronceray Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Ronceray Opera

Address: 10 Boulevard Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #886 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $113 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Ronceray Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Ronceray Opéra is a magnificent building dating from the beginning of the 19th century. It is situated in the heart of Paris with the entrance in the charming Passage Jouffroy and a few minutes walk from the Opéra Garnier, The Louvre Museum and the major Parisian Department stores, Galéries Lafayette and Printemps. The 130 rooms offers services and facilities combining history and modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Ronceray Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ronceray Opera Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Ronceray Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing