We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Maxim Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maxim Opera
Ranked #1,005 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nice hotel, great location, decent rooms, helpful staff.

Hotel is generally nice, decent value for central Paris.

Rooms are not huge, but it is Paris. Bathroom door didn't quite close (although we didn't report this).

Several nice bars and restaurants nearby.

Staff are friendly and helpful, particularly with teaching new French nouns.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeordieScotDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Directeur général at Hotel Maxim Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Many thanks for your nice comment.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in 2014 in your hoem away from home.

Catherine Steckar-Ganas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maxim Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 238 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

this hotel has the best staff, I have ever encountered. they were helpful, going out of the way to find addresses for us, getting directions,suggestions.nothing was to much trouble for them. rooms were clean,enough space.can not say enough about the staff..they were excellent,even had some suggestions for up coming trip to the brittany area,as one of the staff was from there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytraveller246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Directeur général at Hotel Maxim Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Happytraveller!

Reading your enthusiastic comments made a happyteam here!

Thank you for taking the time to share this with future travellers, the entire team certainly looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

In the meantime, have a safe trip to Seattle.

Kind regards,

Catherine Steckar-Ganas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I trawel a lot to Paris! And i newer go below 3 stars but this hotel! Is no more than a 1 star!
I have newer experienced room this small! 2 People and 2 suitcases's had to back inside! We moced chair into the hallway go get room, No closet for our close! For the facilitets in this hotel! It was way to expensive!
Find some where Else!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Directeur général at Hotel Maxim Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Peter,

We were very sorry to read your review about our hotel and would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations.

While our rooms are rather small but do match the French Authority requirements for a 4 star hotel, the quality of our service is generally appreciated by our customers (that is why the certificate of Excellence has been awarded to us again this year).

Nevertheless, if space is your main concern, we understand that you may prefer a different hotel for your next stay in Paris.

Best regards,
Catherine Steckar-Ganas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel was nice the rooms very small but we upgraded and it was like staying on a regular room. The breakfast was great good food and choices. When we checked in the ladies were very nice but what they failed to tell us was that after a certain time you have to ring a buzzer to get in (it was unmarked) when we got back to the hotel late the front desk gentleman yelled at me and my friends and was very threatening I am a small female and he is a large man with a very bad temper. When trying to reason with him things began to escalate to the point where I feared my safety. So if you decide to stay here ask them where the bell is because it is unmarked and will save you a lot of grief.

Room Tip: The standard room is very small upgrade to the king bed/2 twin bed room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is very well located on a quite street, walking distance to all the major attractions. The hotel staff was friendly. Our room was very small but we didn't really care as we were out all the time. The shower in the bathroom is not very well thought. Every time we showered the floor was soaked. Same with the sink, you cannot wash your hands or face without the whole floor getting wet...
The hotel does have a "shuttle" service to go to the airport but I DO NOT recommend it. We almost missed our flight because of the driver. First, the driver arrived 10 minutes late and then he made 2 stops at 2 different hotels to pick up people to go to the airport. Then, when we arrived at the airport instead of dropping us first at our terminal, he dropped off the last people he picked up. When the driver was going to leave the terminal to take us to our terminal, he could not find his ticket to leave the parking and we got stuck and had to jump out of the shuttle to find a taxi to take us to our terminal that was 15 minutes away! Not a fun ride!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salma_Lenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This relatively new hotel is well situated in Montmartre and not far from many Paris locations of interest. Beautifully designed and appointed the architect has obviously endeavored to make the maximum use of what space was available in the building.
My only reservation in going full approval was the size of the Executive room.I have had more space in a B&B. Moving around the bed was an obstacle course and was most disappointing. The bathroom was good although the shower height was not adjustable.
I wouldn't stay there again because of the restricted space of the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Check out room size before booking
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Directeur général at Hotel Maxim Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in our hotel.

We are happy that you noted how our architect made the maximum use of what space was available in the building : it is indeed the main challenge of most parisian hotels situated in a central area like ours.

Nevertheless our rooms remain rather small but reasonably priced as well.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Paris and wish you a safe return to New Zealand.

Best regards,

Catherine Steckar-Ganas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Traveling from Le Touquet, my wife and I chose the “Best Western Premier Le Carre Folies Opera” as a place that we thought would be close enough to everything that we wanted to see. Wow… Were we right!! As a Hard Rock collector, the hotel was just about around the corner. The Metro was close, lots of nice places to eat were nearby and we were (IMO) close enough to walk to a few of the places (e.g., Montmartre). The hotel was a little pricey, but for considering location and the treatment we received from the staff, I believe the price was worth it.

The staff was professional, helpful, and friendly. Even when having to respond to 2 false fire alarms around midnight, the staff performed without issue to ensure that we were all safe. Of course the cause of the false alarms, were some very rude people who decided to smoke in their rooms, which set off the alarms. Such is the typical smoker. Rude, nasty smelling, and not very bright.

Room Tip: Report any smokers at the slightest hint of smoke. They are selfish and will make your stay very unp...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Directeur général at Hotel Maxim Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear William,

Many thanks for your kind comments about our hotel location and attentive staff.
This is particularly rewarding coming from a confirmed traveller like you.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the Best Western Premier Le Carre Folies Opera on the near future.

Best regards,
Catherine Steckar-Ganas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Maxim Folies
Maxim Folies
#1,122 of 1,803 in Paris
395 reviews
Hotel Relais Monceau
#1,049 of 1,803 in Paris
146 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Diva Opera
Hotel Diva Opera
#733 of 1,803 in Paris
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#620 of 1,803 in Paris
534 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
L'Edmond Hotel, Paris
L'Edmond Hotel, Paris
#506 of 1,803 in Paris
350 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim Opera

Address: 13 rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Le Carré Folies Opéra)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#450 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $142 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maxim Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed right in the heart of the business district and restaurants, Le Carre Folies Opera is an ideal stopover to discover an authentic Paris. Easily accessible a few minutes away from Cadet or Grands Boulevards subways stations, it leads directly to the Musee du Louvre, to the Eiffel Tower or on foot to the Opera House or Montmartre. Our boutique hotel has been renovated with taste and spaces were optimized. Nice buffet breakfast to start your day in natural light of day. Our mulitlingual staff is present 24 hours a day to assist you and our personalized application is free of charge for your to move around with our good plans in the pocket! A hotel of which you will soon make your preferred address in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maxim Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Le Carre Folies Opera Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing