We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coffin-room”
Review of Hotel Maxim Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maxim Opera
Ranked #1,013 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I spend 4 nights in this hotel. Had ordered a superia room. Had a room that felt like a coffin, that small it was. We have been in Paris many times and rooms in this town is offen small, but this was the smallest room I have ever tryed anywhere in the world :-) Do not understand it is a 4 star hotel. It does not have something special. Brakefast is in the basement, a boring place to sit in Paris! No restaurant and we didn't see a bar. It could be nice after a lang day. Most of the staff was very friendly, but do not expeckt a smile from the mann in the reception! Strange he is working there? However, It's a nice area and everything is new, but we will choose another hotel next time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 246 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff who could speak English.We did feel that our room was rather small and it was difficult to find space for our luggage but the room was very well appointed and we were given a free upgrade to an executive room on arrival. The bed was very comfortable and as we were lucky enough to have fantastic weather, the air conditioning was extremely welcome. It was also great to have a coffee machine. We did not have the breakfast as we felt that 16 euros each was too much out of our budget but there were lots of bakeries and cafes where we could eat nearby. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff-MWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, General Manager at Hotel Maxim Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear M. Cliff,

Thanks for your nice feedback on our team and our comfortable executive rooms ; we are all very glad you had a plesant stay with us, in our authentic Paris district.

We certainly hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you soon again.

In the meantime, we remain,
Truly yours,

Catherine Steckar-Ganas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 6 nights.
2 of them in the regular room which is very small and with a very small toilets (fine for a model)
after 2 nights we upgraded the room to a bigger room with a bath and nespresso coffe machine :), it was wonderful.
the hotel very close to 2 metro station (cadet and grand boulevard) and very close to many attraction.
the stuff very nice and helpful, internet is free in the room, and apple computer is in the lobby for your service.
i am sure this hotel is very good choice specially if you take the luxury room.

Room Tip: take the luxury room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Directeur général at Hotel Maxim Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Michael,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with other Tripadvisor readers.
It will help them selecting the correct room type Vs their anticipated length of stay.

On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Best Western Premier Le Carre Folies Opera, your parisian home away from home!

Kind regards,
Catherine Steckar-Ganas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

It is a nice hotel,easy to get to with metro.The place is quite and central.The rum was clean but small even we had booked the executive room.We didn't tried the breakfast because we thought that the price was very high.You can have late check out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Directeur général at Hotel Maxim Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Kind regards,
Catherine Steckar-Ganas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It's pretty much like the lyrics from the song from the Sound of Music - small and bright, clean and white :) The hotel seems to have been recently built or renovated - the room was very clean and felt new, but even in the executive room I was in, it was too small to full fold out my luggage stand without it being the way of walking. With that said, the room was comfortable and equipped well. The location is ideally situated for exploring the city as it is quite central, with quick access to the metro stops at Grand Boulevards & Cadet.

The one stand out aspect of the hotel was the very helpful and friendly staff. One person in particular, the front desk attendant/manager Bruno, was exceptionally helpful on several occasions from trying to locate slippers for me, providing coffee, recommending places to go eat that weren't touristy, suggestions places to have fun, and providing directions on how to get where I was going. He really went out of his way to make my stay and trip enjoyable.

The hotel was certainly adequate, but it's the staff (Bruno) that made it exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onekfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, General Manager at Hotel Maxim Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Many thanks for your great comments, we certainly look forward to welcoming you soon again to the Best Western Premier Le Carre Folies Opera.

Kindest regards,

Catherine Steckar-Gans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend, on our arrival we were put in room 502 which was a good size with a large ensuite wc and shower room, plenty room to move.
About 1 hour after arriving there was a plumbing mishap (water came through the ceiling), we were quickly moved to another 'comparable' room 301 which was the only room left, unfortunately this was a bit smaller and had a bath and no proper shower. Nonetheless the room and bed was comfortable and the addition of the espresso machine and free wi-fi was great. The area is one minute away from a busy street with a few bars and restaurants, 5 minutes from the Grand Boulevards, about ten minutes from Galeries Lafayette and across the road from the Folies Bergere.
The staff were so helpful, they speak good English if you need it and a couple of other languages as well.
There are plenty of good restaurants like Le Mesturet and La Saotico both ten minutes away in Rue de Richlieu and easy metro access. If you want large rooms ask for the rooms numbered 02 rather than 01, we didn't spend much time in our room so the space wasn't an issue. I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 01 are smallish in comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Directeur général at Hotel Maxim Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback after your stay in room 502 and 301.
We are glad that you appreciiated our hospitality and we have duly noted your preference for shower cabins.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Best Western Premier Le Carré Folies Opera.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Paris was our first stop on our European tour and before coming, I have read reviews that European hotel rooms are quite small. Once we entered our room in Le Carre Folies Opera, we were very surprised at how tiny the room was. We quickly got over the size issue though, because the room was very clean, modern, high end bathroom fixtures (yes, we notice these things) and the bed was very comfortable. The location was also great, a few minutes walk to Cadet station and also the shops, restaurants on Rue la Fayette and Fabourg Montmartre.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaydees416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Maxim Folies
Maxim Folies
#1,237 of 1,802 in Paris
404 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Diva Opera
Hotel Diva Opera
#707 of 1,802 in Paris
328 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
L'Edmond Hotel, Paris
L'Edmond Hotel, Paris
#502 of 1,802 in Paris
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#125 of 1,802 in Paris
469 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Les Matins de Paris & Spa
Les Matins de Paris & Spa
#250 of 1,802 in Paris
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim Opera

Address: 13 rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Le Carré Folies Opéra)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#451 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $117 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maxim Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed right in the heart of the business district and restaurants, Le Carre Folies Opera is an ideal stopover to discover an authentic Paris. Easily accessible a few minutes away from Cadet or Grands Boulevards subways stations, it leads directly to the Musee du Louvre, to the Eiffel Tower or on foot to the Opera House or Montmartre. Our boutique hotel has been renovated with taste and spaces were optimized. Nice buffet breakfast to start your day in natural light of day. Our mulitlingual staff is present 24 hours a day to assist you and our personalized application is free of charge for your to move around with our good plans in the pocket! A hotel of which you will soon make your preferred address in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maxim Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Le Carre Folies Opera Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing