We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Opera Cadet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Opera Cadet Hotel
Ranked #282 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at this excellent hotel.
We couldn't fault anything about Opera cadet. The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Everyone was extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was on the 6 th floor, very bright and clean. The lifts were fast and efficient. The continental breakfast was excellent, hot and cold food and very tasty. The girls there work very hard to please everyone. The reception desk was extremely helpful, always acknowledging you as you walked through, and answering any questions you had, offering maps and ideas for places to visit and restaurants to go to.
The metro is just across the road, buses are frequent, and there are lots of cafes, restaurants and shops nearby. The hotel is a ten minute stroll from the fabulous Galeries Lafayette.
This was our first visit to paris, and we don't think we could have picked a more perfect hotel.
Thank you to everyone at Hotel Opera Cadet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wilsonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was listed as a 4* hotel and we were extremely disappointed as it did not meet our expectations. The hotel and rooms were very small and although the rooms were listed as being sound proofed, this was not the case. We were woken at 6.00 a.m. on Sunday morning when the market was being set up - shouting, traffic and dogs barking. The breakfast was uninspiring.

On the plus side, the hotel was in a good location, close to the Metro and there were some good restaurants and cafes nearby.

All in all though, we felt that the hotel was grossly overpriced and we were glad we only stayed the one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We've been staying at the Opera Cadet for going on 15 years. We have always had a good stay. This time was no different. Last year e knew some of the rooms were being updated (new carpeting, drapes, etc.). This year we got to see the result. A nice improvement. There have been some changes in the staff; but they remain helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat-TL++
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Opera Cadet for 4 nights. The staff were very friendly. They supplied us with a helpful list of recommended restaurants when we arrived. The location with the patisserie and other shops in front of the hotel was great. Very close to the Metro.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the Opera Cadet in April'13. We shared a room with our 14 year old daughter, a very tight squeeze as the room was really small. The bathroom is also very small even the soap is tiny. Anyway it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast is adequate. The staff are not too friendly. When we go back to Paris, we will try another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed four nights here as family of four and were very pleased with the stay. As you can imagine on a first visit to this city we were out most of the time and as a base the hotel served very well. Firstly there is the 'Cadet' metro station on the Louvre line 7 at the end of the street and also a bus stop. We used only the metro with the 3 day pass supplied as part of the booking. The hotel is clean, efficient and the staff were very helpful and even friendly! the rooms were adequate size and had a modern t.v. with French, English and other language options. There was no tea/coffee making facility or clothes iron but there is a mini bar fridge. The street is home to many small outlets and in the evenings busy with people going about their business or sitting outside the cafe/bars in convivial conversation. You'll be spoilt for choice for fresh fruit stalls and patisseries. On one night there was noise from a party or club but it did not keep us awake as one expects these things in summer in a built up area. We felt totally safe as there is a 24 hour manned desk and each room has a traditional key with attached card for lights which you leave with the attendant when heading out. There are fast food options and good restaurants literally around the corner and the Boulevard Montmartre with it's charming passage's shopping and Grevin museum are a short walk. Jacques the bar tender was both charming and efficient. We took a taxi each way from CDG for less than €50 although we were advised it could be higher depending on traffic. This is quiet competitive with the bus option, especially if you have extra bags and children.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeinsterTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The rooms are compact or tiny depending on your point of view, like many Parisian hotels. However, the beds are comfortable providing you aren't too tall. We would have slept well if it weren't for a very loud party opposite the hotel which went on until the small hours and the following night, a nearby shop was noisily restocked by a van in the small hours. Despite this, staff were very friendly. Breakfast was decent. The location is good for gare du nord (10 min walk), opera (10 mins) and Montmartre.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#319 of 1,809 in Paris
665 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#34 of 1,809 in Paris
1,724 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#58 of 1,809 in Paris
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#20 of 1,809 in Paris
565 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Opera / Bourse
Les Plumes Hotel
Les Plumes Hotel
#192 of 1,809 in Paris
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Cadet Hotel

Address: 24 rue Cadet, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Paris
#193 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#260 Business Hotel in Paris
#372 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $159 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera Cadet is located in a charming, typically Parisian side street within walking distance of the Opera, the Galeries Lafayette and the excellent shopping area. The hotel is decorated with a touch of class and has spacious public rooms, bar, lounge, a delightful conservatory and a pretty garden. All the rooms and suites are sound-proofed, air-conditioned and have full bath, satellite TV (CNN-BBC-TVEI), safe, mini-bar and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Opera Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Cadet
Opera Cadet Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing