We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #531 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok, but needs improvement”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

It's in a good location, and for the price it's what we expected. Staff were friendly. When we arrived our room was not ready (at 3pm!) but they stored our bags and we went and had a wander for a couple of hours. The drinks at the bar were extremely expensive. Our room was ok, it was clean, but the bathroom could have been cleaner, and what we didn't understand is that we had two single duvets on a double bed... This we didn't realise until very late and it made us feel we were sleeping separately. We had breakfast included (after a fashion, we paid for it when booking, and they told us it wasn't, eventually it was sorted out) the food was ok, the hot cooked stuff was only just warm, and not very nice, but the pastries, breads and cereals were all very nice. They told us breakfast was £40 euros each, we paid half this when booking, and if we had paid £40 I would have been disappointed.

So overall we weren't annoyed, but we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkles1234London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    470
    210
    76
    35
See reviews for
267
477
45
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

You cannot argue with the location of this hotel - in close proximity to some of the finest shops in Paris (Printemps, Lafayette) as well as to the magnificent opera house, Louvre, park and of course the Seine with it's endless charms. However, much of the thrill of being in Paris can be lost as the result of a badly handled customer experience. To wit; we checked into our room to find that the air was stagnant, hot and still. We called to ask that the ventilation be checked and headed out for a walk as the room was stifling. Upon returning later that evening we found an old fan in the corner blowing the same stagnant air in the direction of the floor as the head of the fan was broken. After calling the front desk twice we headed down to the lobby where it took a personal plea to arrange for another room which finally was accomplished. All of this could have been avoided with a savvy customer service agent on duty. That said, once we were settled in our new room, our stay was quickly put back on track.

Room Tip: Lower floors generally have larger rooms. You might also want to ask for a room off the main bouleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mjwinkusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel is very well decorated and the location is fantastic. There are about 4 or 5 metro stops all within 10 minutes walking distance serving various lines. We could also walk to the Rue de Martyrs area, Montmartre, the Louvre and of course much closer than all this was the Opera building. The only minor issue was that they were redecorating the area just in front of the lifts and the noise of drilling through marble floors was incredibly loud; it would have been nice to have been offered some compensation such as access to the club floor since the communal areas were not really comfortable to be in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFunmiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille G, Responsable relations clients at Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear JFunmiB,
I thank you for your comment on your recent stay at the Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador.
I am glad you fully enjoyed our location and your Parisian experience.
I do apologize for the inconvenience you have met with the facelift of the lobby. We were not aware that the work would be that noisy as it was a matter of decoration but. I am pleased to inform you that the work is done and we are glad to offer to our guest a brand new design lobby.
I hope to have the chance to welcoming you back soon to experience our Great Room Concept
I remain at your disposal.
Best regards
Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

As this was mine and my partners first visit to Paris we were a little unsure on location. Having studied Google maps we decided that the Opera district was a good bet, providing easy access links throughout Paris.

The hotel, being a Marriott, we figured would hold a fairly decent standard and be just what we were looking for. The hotel clean, quiet and decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast was delicious and the bar was also pretty nice. The rooms were spacious, quiet and extremely clean. So we were very happy.

My only gripe is the prices at the bar. I made the mistake of ordering a couple of waters for the room. Which cost around €8 for a small bottle.

In terms of location, the Marriott is located on the main Boulevard, which goes all the way to the Champs Elysees. There are tonnes of delicious restaurants on the hotels doorstep, a Starbucks or two and some of the best shops Paris has to offer.

If you like to walk and see the sights, this hotel is probably just right for you. Originally we intended to take the metro around Paris but felt the walk (whilst around 20 min) to the Louvre was really enjoyable. We walked to both the Louvre/Notre Dame and also over to the Eiffel Tower fairly easily.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you like the sights and sounds of paris upgrade to an outside view. The inside courtyard rooms (l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkRossSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Location is prime, Staff is welcoming , efficient , very professional. definitely my prime choice when in Paris. Rooms are very comfortable and all services deserved recognition.
Gym is well equipped and I really appreciated the executive lounge which offers a great gateway at any time ( specially loved the quiet atmosphere at breakfast, perfect before a busy working day). Kudos to the management for a job well done during all those years. my 5th visit and looking forward to the next one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariitea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Excellent location, excellent staff and good room. We called the concierge a few days before we went to recommend and to book several dinners and the Moulin Rouge. they were excellent - made all the reservations and got us excellent seats at all of these. they responded best with email rather than phone. When we arrived all was set. Concierge lounge had an excellent breakfast 9never made it there for hors d'oeuvres) and the staff was "over the top". Front desk staff very attentive and helpful as well. Room was nice. gave us extra towels when we asked. Only complaint was slow elevators, but I can live with that. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights - December 30 and 31 of 2013. Lovely hotel, fantastic club (upgrade) room BUT had issues with reservations. Booked online and once arrived in Europe received a message from the manager saying we needed to book another room to accommodate our 3rd occupant - which was our 11 year old daughter... Little more stress than you want when you are on your way into Paris... Had to get Marriott US Res involved - they sorted it out but, it took a while - and we didn't have to get an extra room. Marriott Club and entire hotel staff was great. Once back in the US had to pull the receipt because naturally no rewards points were credited... While that may not seem like a big deal to most, it just shows that seamless integration does not really exist within the brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTimes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel
Hilton Paris Opera
#281 of 1,802 in Paris
1,570 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Renaissance Paris Republique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel

Property: Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel
Address: 16 Boulevard Haussmann, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Radisson Blu Ambassador Hotel, Paris Opera)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#310 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#351 Business Hotel in Paris
#390 Family Hotel in Paris
#446 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paris and luxury like never before at the Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel. Our perfectly located Paris hotel sits nestled in the heart of the Opera District, the Galeries Lafayette and Palais Garnier are just steps away. Enjoy 4-star accommodations and amenities here, along with elegant French cuisine at 16 Haussmann and a state-of-the-art fitness center all within our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Ambassador Hotel, Paris Opera Hotel Paris
Hotel Ambassador Paris
Radisson Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing