We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #570 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 10, 2013

10 min walk from Galleria Lafayette and 13min walk from Primtemps dept store, You'd love it if you are in for luxury brands shopping! Just 1 min (maybe 30secs even) from metro station exit, it's very convenient. Breakfast was nothing to shout about, hotel neighbourhood lacks interesting dining locations. A bottle of mineral water cost 7 euros in room, so better get your own water! Some of my colleagues complained of musty smell and poor ventilation, but my room was thankfully problem-free.

Overall a rather worn-out hotel, but still comfortable and convenient location with Parisian Charm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bopheeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed there for 2 days and I really enjoyed it. The room was very clean and spacious with a fantastic king size bed. I was able to check in early and stay late on the day of the check out. Their service was impeccable too.

Unfortunately my stay did not end well as a rouge front desk guy made an obnoxious comment during my check out that kind of spoiled my "otherwise wonderful" stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpro1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel In April 2013. It has an ideal location. Only 5 minutes away from the metro or if you prefer to travel by taxi like we did there are taxi's right outside! We upgraded our room to a business suite to get a good view however this was a bit of a rip off as although we were on a higher floor our view consisted of the building opposite however we could the very slight tip of the Eiffel Tower if we stood on our tip toes! We never ate in the hotel however did drink in the bar downstairs before heading out one nice and although it was pricy it had a nice atmosphere. I was impressed with the room. It was spotlessly clean and the decor was lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadge812011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable rooms, very nice breakfast. Great location for most people in the traditional heart of tourist Paris although, having been to Paris many times, I prefer the areas (mainly south of the river) where the cafes, restaurants and shops reflect the sophisticated local residents rather than comparatively less sophisticated tourists.

Room Tip: The supplement for a business room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theoriginalchoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in June & were far from impressed with the hotel. It took nearly an hour, 3 phone calls & my husband going downstairs to the front desk to get our luggage delivered to our room. The guy who brought up our luggage made it very clear that it wasn't his job & was doing us a favour. The rooms are nice, but small. They look so much nicer on the website...Some of the staff in the restaurant were quite rude & arrogant. When we asked the concierge for restaurant recommendations near the hotel, ( we didn't want french food), he wasn't really helpful. Instead we had to walk around and find something ourselves. The good thing about the hotel is it is close to the Lafayette Gallerie . Would never stay there again.....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiegirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear "Aussiegirl888",

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which is truly inacceptable.
Please accept out deepest apologies.

Our target is to give full satisfaction and work with service oriented staff concerned by the level

We have elevated the case to our maangement to ensure that this doesn't happen again.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you in the future to provide you with the level of service one can expect from our hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel has changed from a Raddisson Blu to a Marriott. It's about two blocks from galleries Lafayette and The Opera. Walking distance to the underground. Enough restaurant/cafes with wi if nearby.
The hotel itself - the rooms are a decent size for Paris. We visited Paris in heat wave conditions - 36deg and the air condiontioning could not handle the heat. Therefore the rooms were very hot and the maintaninence crew were not able to fix the problem. The breakfast is below standard and the staff were not that interested in replacing food. Bar staff were helpful.
I would recommend this one - if you go out for breakfast, this would be what I would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KADenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a good stay at this hotel. I had read mixed reviews so did not have very high expectations. These were exceeded. Our room was nicely appointed, in good condition, quiet, and a good size by European standards. The bed was comfortable, the AC worked well, the bathroom was fine. The room had no view at all (a tiny inner courtyard/window well).

The location is very close to the Opera Garnier, the Grands Magasins (Printemps, Galleries Lafayette), place de la Madeleine, and Montmartre and very convenient to the metro. We are good walkers so found it fine for walking to most of the central Paris sights. [We have stayed in the 16th, the 7th, the 8th, the 1st and the 5th arrondissements, and prefer the fifth, on the left bank of the Seine) in terms locations and atmosphere.]

The staff were friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel, so I have no comments on food.

We did not choose the hotel (we were there for a trade show). When we choose for ourselves, we generally stay in five star hotels (with associated five star costs!) so that is the point of comparison when I say that the hotel did not impress but it more than got the job done.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelling_Circus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hilton Paris Opera
#300 of 1,804 in Paris
1,848 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#486 of 1,804 in Paris
3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel

Address: 16 Boulevard Haussmann, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Radisson Blu Ambassador Hotel, Paris Opera)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#324 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#350 Business Hotel in Paris
#445 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $262 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paris and luxury like never before at the Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel. Our perfectly located Paris hotel sits nestled in the heart of the Opera District, the Galeries Lafayette and Palais Garnier are just steps away. Enjoy 4-star accommodations and amenities here, along with elegant French cuisine at 16 Haussmann and a state-of-the-art fitness center all within our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Ambassador Hotel, Paris Opera Hotel Paris
Hotel Ambassador Paris
Radisson Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing