We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, terrific location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #242 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh, pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, terrific location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

The Hotel Scribe easily lives up to the previous positive comments. First of all is the location. It's in the beautiful Opera area. When researching hotels for this stay, I really liked this hotel's amenities, but remembered liking the St. Germain area and thought we would prefer that area for this stay. I'm so glad we chose this hotel. The St. Germain area now seems so touristy (and on this particular weekend a huge techno music parade was happening creating mobs in the streets). The Opera area a lovely and seems to be filled with more locals.
Another plus for this location is the transportation from the hotel. The Roissy Bus runs directly from CDG to Opera (Rue Scribe) - literally one block away from the hotel. It's a one hour nonstop bus from CDG to Paris. Cost is about 9 Euro per person/one way. This is a great plus for this hotel. The hotel is also very near to both the Opera and Madeliene metro stops. Galleries Lafayette is only about 2 blocks away. The Louvre is about a 15 minute walk. The Seine about 20 minutes walk.
The staff was lovely. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready. The woman checking us into the hotel took us to the Spa so that we could freshen and change into comfortable clothes.
The rooms are a nice size, considering this is Europe. The beds are amazingly comfortable. The TV has English channels like CNN and BBC. The bathrooms are very modern. (Instead of a shower curtain, it does have that little glass shield that unfortunately allows water to spray all over the bathroom).
We didn't dine in any of the hotel restaurants. We were just eager to get out into the Paris streets and try some other restaurants. There are many, many restaurants around the hotel.
There is the small spa available. Separate jacuzzi and steam rooms for men and women. A small gym with weights and treadmills.
Another small amenity...the hotel has umbrellas available for guests in case of rain. It looks like internet service is available for a fee.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    608
    158
    55
    32
See reviews for
412
859
108
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Scribe for 4 nights and had a great time.

The room was beautiful with a large bathroom, a GREAT bed with awesome linens and a little balcony with a wonderful street view.

We were celebrating our Anniversary, so the day of----they laid out champagne and treats---very nice.

The breakfast buffet was included each day and we really enjoyed it. Great croissant, bread, fruit, meats--etc. I am sure you could eat cheaper on the street or in a cafe---but it was good to negotiate its inclusion in our rate/trip. We found that having breakfast included at the hotel gets us up and out quicker and we see more throughout the day.

When we were too pooped to go out, we got baguettes with various fillings from nearby bakeries that were AMAZING! Way better than any room service!

Within walking distance was a great restaurant-----Chez Clement Opera. VERY affordable, great portions and wonderful food. As many (or more) locals as tourists. The service was typical for Paris---somewhat rushed----but they were responsive to any request and tolerant of our English. We ended up eating there 3 nights---which sounds like alot---but the food was AWESOME! I imagine this is what everyone thinks of as French country or "peasant" food--great roasted chicken, awesome vegetables---etc. We tried beef, seafood and chicken---all great. The sides were very homey and comforting (the best mashed potatoes I've EVER had)----and the sauces were amazing. We tried a few different desserts and they were also great. I am sure we missed out on other great dining experiences, but this place was so close, good and reasonably priced----we just couldn't wait to go back.

Overall, the service at the hotel was great---from the staff at the front desk-----to the maid service-----to the wait-staff in the restaurant.

The location was also very good----with quick access to public transport and taxis ALWAYS nearby.

We haven't had much luck in getting a "5 star" experience in European hotels, but both my husband and I felt this was one of the nicer hotels we'd ever stayed in----American, European or otherwise.

We would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RjMTkM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Arriving to the hotel from the Opera Metro which is about 2 mintues away met all our expectations. The door man took our bags so we can check in to the newly rennovated lobby, arriving early our room wasn't ready so we left our bags and were told our room would be ready around 2 pm.
After getting our room key we were pleasently suprised by the large room, (for a Paris Hotel) it was very nice and luxurious, especially the bathroom. Everything was very clean, with Hermes bath products, bed was extremely comfortable, plenty of english channels on the plasma, which the bathroom had speakers to hear the T.V. which was nice, the shower head was good and strong with hot water and never heard our neighbors.
We spent a total of 3 nights there and never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrickerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

Overall, we highly recommend staying at the Hotel Scribe in Paris. We just returned from a trip, which was our first in France, and had a fantastic experience at the Hotel Scribe. The location is prime - one block from the Opera Metro station - and within easy walking distance to all of the places you'll want to visit while in Paris, including the Arc de Triomphe, the Louvre, Les Halles, Monmartre, Notre Dame, etc.

Room
Our deluxe room was very spacious, especially considering our expectations, which were in line with a premium hotel you'd get in San Francisco and/or NYC. Plenty of room for a king sized bed, dresser, etc. Mattress was up to Sofitel's high standards. Our room faced an inner courtyard that had a fountain.

Location
On the same block as restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing and one block away from the Metro. Note, for anyone traveling to Paris for the first time, the Metro is very convenient and economical - buy the 10 trip ticket and it'll cost you around 12 euro.

Taxi to Orly was 30 euro, not sure what it is to CDG, as we used a shuttle service.

Service
Extremely friendly and helpful. Allowed us to check into our room upon arrival at 11am.

Restaurant
Didn't use. Note - the room service is ungodly expensive. Save yourself money and grab breakfast down the street at a cafe.

Spa
Didn't use.

Also considered
Sofitel Arc de Triomphe - glad we didn't stay in that area of town...a little too busy for us. The Scribe is in a much quieter neighborhood, but if you want to be around the nightlife, the area surrounding the Champs-Elysees.

OVERALL
We highly recommend the Hotel Scribe and will try to stay there on future trips to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandRArlingtonCville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Have just returned from a week's stay in Paris and would highly recommend the Hotel Scribe. It is central to transportation (train/subway stations), wonderful and easy to afford sandwich shops just a couple of blocks away, and the great Opera Garnier is just a half block away. The bathroom in our room was quite spacious and we specially liked the strong water pressure!!. We enjoyed the daily buffet breakfast (greats juices, meats, salmon, breads and of course croissants). My compliments to Linda, the Concierge, who helped us in selecting a night illuminations tour of Paris. She was so nice and friendly and helped us greatly in finding the right tour for us. On our last night, we ordered room service (just hungry for pizza and salad) and found that it was not very expensive and was, in fact, quite delicious!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed here for four nights, celebrating my husband's birthday. The hotel is ideally situated for exploring Paris, and close to Opera metro station, which is one block away. Madeleine is also less than 10 min walk. We were able to wander down to the Seine, the Louvre etc in 15-20 min and in fact barely used the Metro.

The rooms have been fairly recently redecorated and we had perhaps the best night's sleep we've ever had in a hotel room! Very quiet, with a wonderfully comfortable bed. Our room was suprisingly large for a Parisian hotel. My only (very minor) grumble was that the bath was quite high, but the bathroom was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The jacuzzi in the spa was very welcome after a long day of sightseeing.

We didn't eat in the hotel - breakfast at 34 Euros (>£GBP30) was simply crazy. Instead there are plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants within walking distance. We bought croissants one morning from one of the ubiquitous branches of the baker Paul and took them down by the river.

All in all, I'd thoroughly recommend Hotel Scribe for short break in Paris if you want a base that's central and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

My Husband surprised me with our wonderful reservation at Hotel Scribe in the Opera district...pure luxury! Great location, steps away from all! Fab food & Service! It was a pleasure to visit this wonderful Hotel

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrHermis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#223 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#169 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#344 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Castille Paris
Castille Paris
#262 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Paris
#113 Business Hotel in Paris
#119 Family Hotel in Paris
#158 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#182 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing