We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...short trip to Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #224 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

For sightseeing purposes this hotel is ideally situated in the Opera District. The staff were very helpful and accommodating meeting any needs we had very quickly. We were fortunate to receive an upgrade in our accommodation which was superb.
The only criticism being that we were a party of three sharing a room and all facilities provided in the room were for two people e.g. towels, cups etc. Whilst room service were very quick to resolve we did have to remind them each day!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadjet B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It was our pleasure to provide you with an upgrade and we are delighted you have enjoyed staying with us.
I am sincerely sorry we have not provided you with the required before you had to ask; at the Hotel Scribe Paris, we strive for service excellence and this does not reflect our will to provide you with a Magnifique stay. Rest assured we have shared your comments with the concerned department to avoid those inconveniences in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

Kind regards,

Nadjet Bennaceur
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have been to Paris dozens of times and have stayed at a variety of 5 and 4 star hotels and I can honestly say that this hotel was excellent. It is well situated (just steps from Gallerie Lafayette on Boulevard Hausemann) and a 5 minute walk from the Place Vendome, and the sights of the 1st Arrondisment and quite comfortable with an understated luxury. The hotel has a fantastic history and has hosted ilustrious guests such as Marcel Proust and Josephine Baker (both of whom have floors named and styled after them). It was also the place where the Lumiere Brothers showed the first motion picture ever!

The room was quite spacious and well appointed and the beds, with soft feather mattress toppers, down comforters and 1000 thread count sheets were insanely comfortable and luxurious (which is actually quite hard to find in Europe where even at most 5 star hotels beds tend to be rather hard and spasely appointed). The only real problem with my room was the size of the clothes closet. My closet was less than 2 ft wide and had virtually no room to hang anything. I was there for 3 days and had to keep most of my clothes in my suitcase because I had no place for them. So, if you have a lot of clothes or are coming for a long trip this could be an inconvenience.

The breakfast buffet is the basement, and had most everything one would want, though the service was a bit haphazard (during my stay they routinely ran out of drinking glasses, croissants and other items).

My final piece of advice is NOT to dine in the hotel restaurant, Le Lumiere. We went on our last night because it was a Sunday and many options were closed and the food was overpriced and absolutely horrendous. You'd be better of dining at a McDonalds than dining here. It was truly that bad. But, of course, you are in Paris, so why would you ever dine in a hotel restaurant anyway when you have SO many magnificent options surrounding you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadjet B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

The Hotel Scribe Paris is located in the heat of Paris; which is a very vibrant neighborhood. It was built at the same time as the famous Opera Garnier by Baron Haussman. It was turned to a hotel, sixty years after its completion; therefore providing an uncommon layout.

The “MyBed” beds as you have rightfully mentioned, are very comfortable. They were exclusively designed for Sofitel Hotels.

Allow me to express my sincerest apologies have you not been satisfied with our restaurant. The Lumière restaurant is rewarded with one star at the Michelin Guide and I am stricken to read this has not been a good experience to you.

We would be happy to welcome you again at the Hotel Scribe Paris and offer you a Magnifique experience.

Kind regards,

Nadjet Bennaceur
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

this has been one of the best Paris hotels I stayed so far. However, I think the price was also expensive (EUro 500plus) so if you do not mind the price, you will not end up being disappointed.

On another hand, I have also stayed in very close hotels that were 1/4 of the price of this one and the quality difference was not 4 times.

All in all, this is a nice hotel, but perhaps if you are willing to pay more than Euro500plus, then there could be other nice ones too. I can, the very least say that this one will not disappoint you, if you do not mind the price.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank YALIN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadjet B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Merci for writing a review about your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

I am delighted to read you think of our establishment as one of the best in Paris.
The high rates are due to the extremely busy season; many fairs, exhibitions, shows and so on take place in Paris over the fall period.

Whenever you plan another trip to Paris, please feel free to contact us the earliest so we can provide you with competitive rates.

Sincerely,

Nadjet Bennaceur
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely rooms and very pleasant concierge's on staff..Everyone was so helpful and took care of our every need..I would highly recommend Hotel Scribe..Excellent location and attentive to detail to make one's stay with them an experience worth repeating..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

stayed 1 night, after arrival at hotel / room, found some itrms wanting. 1. direction at floor level was wrong, sign pointed right when room was actually on the left side. 2. showerhead was damaged and affected the water pressure, extremely frustrating. 3. shower area not built logically, water splashes as shower is combined with bathtub. 4. tv remote was missing.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank catoutofbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Scribe as part of a Horse Racing Abroad package to the Arc de Triomphe horse race. It is an attractive hotel in a great location, near Charles Garnier's magnificent and overblown Opera house.
On arrival in our room we were dismayed. We had booked a room with twin beds and our room had a big double bed. The remote for the tv did not work. These glitches however were fixed promptly.
Coffee at breakast was dire - cold, stewed and virtually undrinkable. The staff were inattentive and I had to wave my arms around to attract attention to be served with a hot drink when my friend joined me.
We had no extras, I did not even see a mini bar, but the following week my credit card bill came in and I had been charged 59 euros. Apparently we had downed this much booze. No one had given me a bill before we left, when of course I would have been able to dispute it, and we did not leave the hotel until one pm, having checked out and given them our luggage for safe keeping at around 9.45pm.
Of course I am in dispute with them and expect my 59 euros to be refunded but it is irritating and time wasting and very sloppy of them not to have given me a bill before I left if they thought I owed them money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrigidF679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were very happy with our choice of the Scribe which was one of the several hotels offered through Costco. The service was excellent, fast and friendly. The room may have been small by U.S. standards but was very comfortable, well-appointed and with nice amenities, and quiet. We had a Luxury Room. Connection to wi-fi was easy. The mattress was good and didn't aggrevate a bad back. The location was good with restauarants nearby. The Louvre was a pleasant 15 minute walk, and a similar walk to the tour bus location on Rue des Pyramides. The main stop for the Hop on/Hop off bus was a few blocks away. The breakfast buffet service was personal and outstanding. The hotel is an older, which charm and character. We would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Our room on first floor facing the interior courtyard was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#207 of 1,802 in Paris
731 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#264 of 1,802 in Paris
1,176 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#250 of 1,802 in Paris
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Paris
#112 Business Hotel in Paris
#119 Family Hotel in Paris
#158 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#181 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $283 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing