We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of the best (but also one of the most expensive) Paris Hotels I stayed so far..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #203 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of the best (but also one of the most expensive) Paris Hotels I stayed so far..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

this has been one of the best Paris hotels I stayed so far. However, I think the price was also expensive (EUro 500plus) so if you do not mind the price, you will not end up being disappointed.

On another hand, I have also stayed in very close hotels that were 1/4 of the price of this one and the quality difference was not 4 times.

All in all, this is a nice hotel, but perhaps if you are willing to pay more than Euro500plus, then there could be other nice ones too. I can, the very least say that this one will not disappoint you, if you do not mind the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank YALIN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadjet B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Merci for writing a review about your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

I am delighted to read you think of our establishment as one of the best in Paris.
The high rates are due to the extremely busy season; many fairs, exhibitions, shows and so on take place in Paris over the fall period.

Whenever you plan another trip to Paris, please feel free to contact us the earliest so we can provide you with competitive rates.

Sincerely,

Nadjet Bennaceur
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    551
    144
    46
    27
See reviews for
374
786
92
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely rooms and very pleasant concierge's on staff..Everyone was so helpful and took care of our every need..I would highly recommend Hotel Scribe..Excellent location and attentive to detail to make one's stay with them an experience worth repeating..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

stayed 1 night, after arrival at hotel / room, found some itrms wanting. 1. direction at floor level was wrong, sign pointed right when room was actually on the left side. 2. showerhead was damaged and affected the water pressure, extremely frustrating. 3. shower area not built logically, water splashes as shower is combined with bathtub. 4. tv remote was missing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank catoutofbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Scribe as part of a Horse Racing Abroad package to the Arc de Triomphe horse race. It is an attractive hotel in a great location, near Charles Garnier's magnificent and overblown Opera house.
On arrival in our room we were dismayed. We had booked a room with twin beds and our room had a big double bed. The remote for the tv did not work. These glitches however were fixed promptly.
Coffee at breakast was dire - cold, stewed and virtually undrinkable. The staff were inattentive and I had to wave my arms around to attract attention to be served with a hot drink when my friend joined me.
We had no extras, I did not even see a mini bar, but the following week my credit card bill came in and I had been charged 59 euros. Apparently we had downed this much booze. No one had given me a bill before we left, when of course I would have been able to dispute it, and we did not leave the hotel until one pm, having checked out and given them our luggage for safe keeping at around 9.45pm.
Of course I am in dispute with them and expect my 59 euros to be refunded but it is irritating and time wasting and very sloppy of them not to have given me a bill before I left if they thought I owed them money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrigidF679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were very happy with our choice of the Scribe which was one of the several hotels offered through Costco. The service was excellent, fast and friendly. The room may have been small by U.S. standards but was very comfortable, well-appointed and with nice amenities, and quiet. We had a Luxury Room. Connection to wi-fi was easy. The mattress was good and didn't aggrevate a bad back. The location was good with restauarants nearby. The Louvre was a pleasant 15 minute walk, and a similar walk to the tour bus location on Rue des Pyramides. The main stop for the Hop on/Hop off bus was a few blocks away. The breakfast buffet service was personal and outstanding. The hotel is an older, which charm and character. We would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Our room on first floor facing the interior courtyard was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Well received on arrival. Porters and baggage men very helpful.
Had requested rooms on same floor which confirmed by phone. Corrective action needed to be taken but carried out elegantly and without fuss.
Good barman. Dinner satisfactory. Service and attitude professional and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEONIDAS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#169 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#227 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Paris
#113 Business Hotel in Paris
#120 Family Hotel in Paris
#130 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#184 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing