We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Peninsula Paris(Paris)
$1,100
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$348
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$263
$211
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Muguet(Paris)
$208
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$234
$172
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$198
$168
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel La Manufacture(Paris)(Great Value!)
$130
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Elysees Union(Paris)(Great Value!)
$294
$224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$400
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,212)
Filter reviews
2,213 results
Traveler rating
1,265
669
180
59
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,265
669
180
59
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshermes toiletriesluxury roomopera houseopera metro stationguest relationsclub roomturn down serviceconcierge staffgaleries lafayetteplace vendomestar hotelroissy busopera areabeautiful hotelwalking distancebreakfast buffetexcellent location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
696 - 701 of 2,213 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Loved this hotel for it's service and nice size rooms. Great location to go anywhere in Paris. Great spot around the corner (Capucine Cafe) for a fabulous French Onion soup!! Would stay here again although there are many great areas to explore and try if I come back, like St. Germaine.

My only complaint is we ate in the hotel restaurant and they came around with a cart offering a glass of champagne in the beginning, BEWARE, ask the price as it ended up being a $28.00 glass of champagne!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caligirl311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you ever so much for sharing your opinion about the Hotel Scribe. We are really proud of our ambassador team as its members are all very committed to transform the stay of each guest into a real experience.

Indeed, the Laurent Perrier champagne fits the high level of quality of our restaurant, rewarded by a Michelin Star. However, we feel really sorry that you were not informed of its cost.
We would be delighted to host you again.
Yours Faithfully.
Sandra R.
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

it was my 40th anniversary and the hotel staff and mgmt made it very special. Th e made it very special for us. Super location close to all and handy to subway. We stayed for five days and loved it,we walked around like two school kids thank you

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom5car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

You thank us and we thank you so much for your comments, so pleasant to read ! We love to make special occasions memorable for our Guests, it is such a satisfaction to see happiness on their face, emotion in their voice and even sometimes tears in their eyes ! These moments in themselves explain why we have chosen to work in the Guest Services : Your pleasure is our only goal.

Best Regards

Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Scribe has a fantastic location, minutes from the Opera. Sofitel service standarts are also met, perfect concierge, smooth check in. I will definitely come back. It's worth your money, believe me. Paris hotels are usually horrible (tiny rooms, very unfriendly service).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Le Scribe Paris. Indeed, we intend to respect all the Sofitel standards by delivering our guests a Five Star service in all circumstances. The hotel also benefits from a wonderful situation close to the Opera House and the department stores. It is a real pleasure for us to see on Trip Advisor that our guests wish to come back, it means that all the teams have done a great job to make your stay almost perfect. Thank you again and "A bientôt" !

Best Regards,
Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I booked the hotel to enjoy Paris a couple of days before flying home, as a former employee of Sofitel, this hotel was held in the highest regard for service and style and we always wanted to stay there.
Upon arrival, the Hotel was under some renovation works so there was lots scaffolding over the building (this happens, no dramas) the door staff were not very welcoming almost begrudgingly taking our bags from the taxi.
Reception only had one person behind the desk and at least six people waiting, two of these walked away as they must been waiting so long. when finally we were checking in (approx 30mins after arriving) we were told about room etc, we would be in the old Jockey Club side of the hotel, high ceilings, spacious very light airy! Upon arrival to room it was far from what was 'sold' to us. The room was quite small and tired, I’m 6ft tall and I could touch the ceiling without effort! the room looked out on a decked area and about four other rooms so you had to have to block out curtains closed pretty all the time so no natural light, the bathroom was standard, no dramas except the shower screen did not seal properly so when you shower everything on the floor bathroom was sitting in a pool of water.
one afternoon we had drinks in the Lounge Bar, upon arrival we were seated and given menus, (there were three tables of guests in the bar and two maybe three tables in the Dining area and approx six staff) the staff member came back and took our drinks order, from there we waited almost twenty minutes for he drinks to be served!! we were pretty relaxed at this stage and didn't worry, But after thirty minutes of waiting for any staff member to acknowledge our existence, one finally came and cleared our empty glasses and we order another which was promptly served by the only staff member who knew what customer service is! Sadly after serving our drinks he left and we then sat and chatted for probably close to an hour and our empty glasses just sat there! My wife and got up left and not one staff acknowledged us!
The only saving grace to Hotel was the concierge Heleana, who tried her best to sort things out but I think the list was getting to long (I could easily keep going with this list, Housekeeping, Tea Room, etc) and at no point were approached or contacted by any manager or guest relations staff!
Even since returning home I was sent a guest relations evaluation which I promptly filled out including everything that had happened and still I have not had a response from the Hotel.
After having worked for Sofitel and knowing the training they provide as a 'Luxury Brand'
This Hotel was definitely not Luxurious. 5 Star is in the service you provide; sadly The Scribe has lost it's way!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RocNBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadjet B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking some of your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
Allow me to extend my sincerest apologies regarding your stay. We strive to exceed our customers’ expectations. I am quite surprised and really stricken to read your comments as this does not reflect our service standards.

I am not certain we have received your guest satisfaction survey yet, as we usually emphasize on responding the earliest we can. Therefore, to avoid any additional delay, I would greatly appreciate discussing these matters with you. This will help have a clear idea of the issues you encountered so we could investigate and understand the reasons of the incidents. Please feel free to contact us at your earliest convenience.
Your comments are very valuable to us; they allow us to always do the utmost to satisfy our guests, therefore providing a more personalized service upon their next visit.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Best regards,

Nadjet B.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Sofitel Scribe is very well located in Paris, near Place Vendome, there is a very good hair salon, right beside the hotel and it's near good restaurants and stores. You can walk to Louvre or Champs Elysee!
The rooms have a good size and are very confortable and the bathroom in my room was big, which is a nice surprise in Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillaBuzaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadjet B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

I am delighted to read you have enjoyed the location of the hotel. We are indeed in the heart of the City of Lights, which makes it perfect for shopping and/or sightseeing.
Hotel Scribe Paris, the originally "Jockey Club" Headquarter, has undergone various renovations since it has first opened. In 2007, Jacques Grange, the Interior Designer has restyled the rooms, therefore offering greater space and comfort to our guests.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the very near future.

Warm wishes from Paris,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews