We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on par with other 5 stars in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #229 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I travel to Paris very often for work and stay in a good number of hotels across the city. Given its price point the Scribe is just not quite on par with other 5-stars in terms of the quality of furnishing, overall look, efficiency of reception desk, etc. I managed to leave a make up bag (the women reading would know this is no small financial loss!) in the room but called the evening of checking out- I was told that they would look into it and ring immediately. I never heard back and had a friend call on my behalf the next day.

This time the management did ring back and apologise - he seemed quite professional but I have to say I didn't think any of the staff I came across before that were. Considering the cost of staying at Le Scribe it is hard to recommend to others.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Haagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank your for sharing your thoughts with TripAdvisor members.
I would like to offer my apologies for the miscommunication you have experienced. You have the right to expect actions when you contact us. I will ensure your comments are passed on to our staff members for corrective actions.
I sincerely hope you will give us a chance to rectify your first impression and create a more enjoyable memory on your next trip to Paris.
Best regards,
Nadjet B. Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traditional building where the Lumière brothers performed their first shows. pros : excellent location at a stone throw to Madeleine square and its famous food delicatessen (Hediard and Fauchon) or to the opera and of course to the large traditional Lafayette and Printemps stores. Good quality breakfast served by friendly multi lingual staff. Weaknesses : small size bedrooms (unfortunately it is quite often the case in Paris !!) and high price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuneLune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a wonderful stay, drove from London and the Valet driver on arrival could not have been more helpful. Reception was a little slow but OK. Room was excellent in size and wifi was free fast and efficient. Only problem would be the outside floodlights intrude into the room still when curtains are drawn. Excellent position for shopping, walking distance to Printemp, Lafayette, Haussmann etc. Great shop next door for artwork 'Talents' showcase for young French designers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Allenhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here on business for a few days. Good, central location. Rooms small but (newish) high quality fittings and everything you might need. Room service food was very good. Overall service also friendly and not snooty. My only issues are that it's not that cheap; and despite being in a classic old building, the inside is a bit characterless. However, better than the Westin Vendome Paris I stayed in last year which is similarly priced (see earlier review).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of the best positions for a hotel in paris, employees friendly but not very flexible at the reception, concierge team well organized, chef of the orchestra Mr Louis Sirot- Guest relation manager- who is very well trained and ready to help and find solutions.
When the reception employees have to deal with more clients as usual - they lose their control - something that happened upon our departure.
The tea shop at the entrance of the hotel may increase it's working hours as it is the best spot of the hotel. The fact is that we will choose again our hotel for our next visit ti Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ngangelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went here for our "mini moon". Fantastic location, room was small, but we spent most time visiting locations - so that didn't matter.

It's not far from many famous locations - 15 min walk to Louvre. Metro station is 2 min walk which takes you around the city!!

Would recommend restaurant in the Opera.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Tommy_Boy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear guest,

I am so happy you enjoyed your "Mini Moon" with us, I will share these nices comments with our team!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon in Paris,
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel could not be better situated; it is walking distance to everything. It is charming, though the rooms are very small. It is clean and luxurious. The bedding is sumptuous. The staff is welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank runs4smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for these Magnifique comments. I am happy you had wonderful dreams with our "My Bed"!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon at the hotel Scribe Paris.
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#212 of 1,802 in Paris
730 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#260 of 1,802 in Paris
1,175 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#253 of 1,802 in Paris
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Paris
#112 Business Hotel in Paris
#119 Family Hotel in Paris
#160 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#181 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $279 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing