We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not on par with other 5 stars in Paris” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #250 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not on par with other 5 stars in Paris”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I travel to Paris very often for work and stay in a good number of hotels across the city. Given its price point the Scribe is just not quite on par with other 5-stars in terms of the quality of furnishing, overall look, efficiency of reception desk, etc. I managed to leave a make up bag (the women reading would know this is no small financial loss!) in the room but called the evening of checking out- I was told that they would look into it and ring immediately. I never heard back and had a friend call on my behalf the next day.

This time the management did ring back and apologise - he seemed quite professional but I have to say I didn't think any of the staff I came across before that were. Considering the cost of staying at Le Scribe it is hard to recommend to others.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Haagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank your for sharing your thoughts with TripAdvisor members.
I would like to offer my apologies for the miscommunication you have experienced. You have the right to expect actions when you contact us. I will ensure your comments are passed on to our staff members for corrective actions.
I sincerely hope you will give us a chance to rectify your first impression and create a more enjoyable memory on your next trip to Paris.
Best regards,
Nadjet B. Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    584
    151
    52
    32
See reviews for
394
821
105
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
281 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traditional building where the Lumière brothers performed their first shows. pros : excellent location at a stone throw to Madeleine square and its famous food delicatessen (Hediard and Fauchon) or to the opera and of course to the large traditional Lafayette and Printemps stores. Good quality breakfast served by friendly multi lingual staff. Weaknesses : small size bedrooms (unfortunately it is quite often the case in Paris !!) and high price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuneLune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a wonderful stay, drove from London and the Valet driver on arrival could not have been more helpful. Reception was a little slow but OK. Room was excellent in size and wifi was free fast and efficient. Only problem would be the outside floodlights intrude into the room still when curtains are drawn. Excellent position for shopping, walking distance to Printemp, Lafayette, Haussmann etc. Great shop next door for artwork 'Talents' showcase for young French designers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Allenhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here on business for a few days. Good, central location. Rooms small but (newish) high quality fittings and everything you might need. Room service food was very good. Overall service also friendly and not snooty. My only issues are that it's not that cheap; and despite being in a classic old building, the inside is a bit characterless. However, better than the Westin Vendome Paris I stayed in last year which is similarly priced (see earlier review).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of the best positions for a hotel in paris, employees friendly but not very flexible at the reception, concierge team well organized, chef of the orchestra Mr Louis Sirot- Guest relation manager- who is very well trained and ready to help and find solutions.
When the reception employees have to deal with more clients as usual - they lose their control - something that happened upon our departure.
The tea shop at the entrance of the hotel may increase it's working hours as it is the best spot of the hotel. The fact is that we will choose again our hotel for our next visit ti Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ngangelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went here for our "mini moon". Fantastic location, room was small, but we spent most time visiting locations - so that didn't matter.

It's not far from many famous locations - 15 min walk to Louvre. Metro station is 2 min walk which takes you around the city!!

Would recommend restaurant in the Opera.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Boy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

I am so happy you enjoyed your "Mini Moon" with us, I will share these nices comments with our team!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon in Paris,
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel could not be better situated; it is walking distance to everything. It is charming, though the rooms are very small. It is clean and luxurious. The bedding is sumptuous. The staff is welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank runs4smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for these Magnifique comments. I am happy you had wonderful dreams with our "My Bed"!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon at the hotel Scribe Paris.
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#110 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#236 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#348 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Castille Paris
Castille Paris
#262 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Paris
#113 Business Hotel in Paris
#120 Family Hotel in Paris
#159 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#183 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing