We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“centrally located historical five star back to the roots of the cinema” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #198 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
272 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“centrally located historical five star back to the roots of the cinema”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traditional building where the Lumière brothers performed their first shows. pros : excellent location at a stone throw to Madeleine square and its famous food delicatessen (Hediard and Fauchon) or to the opera and of course to the large traditional Lafayette and Printemps stores. Good quality breakfast served by friendly multi lingual staff. Weaknesses : small size bedrooms (unfortunately it is quite often the case in Paris !!) and high price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuneLune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    551
    144
    46
    27
See reviews for
374
786
92
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a wonderful stay, drove from London and the Valet driver on arrival could not have been more helpful. Reception was a little slow but OK. Room was excellent in size and wifi was free fast and efficient. Only problem would be the outside floodlights intrude into the room still when curtains are drawn. Excellent position for shopping, walking distance to Printemp, Lafayette, Haussmann etc. Great shop next door for artwork 'Talents' showcase for young French designers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Allenhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here on business for a few days. Good, central location. Rooms small but (newish) high quality fittings and everything you might need. Room service food was very good. Overall service also friendly and not snooty. My only issues are that it's not that cheap; and despite being in a classic old building, the inside is a bit characterless. However, better than the Westin Vendome Paris I stayed in last year which is similarly priced (see earlier review).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of the best positions for a hotel in paris, employees friendly but not very flexible at the reception, concierge team well organized, chef of the orchestra Mr Louis Sirot- Guest relation manager- who is very well trained and ready to help and find solutions.
When the reception employees have to deal with more clients as usual - they lose their control - something that happened upon our departure.
The tea shop at the entrance of the hotel may increase it's working hours as it is the best spot of the hotel. The fact is that we will choose again our hotel for our next visit ti Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ngangelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went here for our "mini moon". Fantastic location, room was small, but we spent most time visiting locations - so that didn't matter.

It's not far from many famous locations - 15 min walk to Louvre. Metro station is 2 min walk which takes you around the city!!

Would recommend restaurant in the Opera.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Boy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

I am so happy you enjoyed your "Mini Moon" with us, I will share these nices comments with our team!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon in Paris,
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel could not be better situated; it is walking distance to everything. It is charming, though the rooms are very small. It is clean and luxurious. The bedding is sumptuous. The staff is welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank runs4smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for these Magnifique comments. I am happy you had wonderful dreams with our "My Bed"!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon at the hotel Scribe Paris.
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our third trip to Paris and third stay at Hotel Scribe. We really like the location and in the past, the staff has been great. This time around, our stay was still good, but not as great as we remembered. We had to ask for an upgrade - since it was our third stay, we thought they would do something......but we had to ask. In the end, Some small things were overlooked like turn down service for the duration of our stay and we had a lot of issues with the free wifi. The one concierge who usually works in the evening, directed us to two terrible restaurants and funny enough, when we were returning one evening after walking out of one of the restaurants (au petit riche), there was another couple complaining to her about the restaurant she sent them to. In the past, the gym worked well, maybe they weren't as busy but this time, we would have to wait to use things - the last thing you want to do when in Paris. We also found that the state of the rooms were looking a bit tired and needed some fresh paint etc. We didn't make the time to complain to the manager until we were checking out. She was very open and receptive to what we had to say and handled our complaints very well. We may go back - we'll see what we decide because we also rented an apartment at the beginning of our trip, which we also really enjoyed and it is much more cost effective :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tvizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for your review, I appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback with us.
I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations this time. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the free wifi, our concierge service and with the gym.

I would be more than pleased to offer you a VIP treatment for your next stay in Paris, please feel free to contact me directly prior to your arrival in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#168 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#228 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Paris
#113 Business Hotel in Paris
#120 Family Hotel in Paris
#127 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#184 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing