We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff and brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #250 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff and brilliant location”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at the Scribe in February and had an excellent stay. Hotel was situated just a block or so from the Roissybus stop from/to Charles to Gaulle which meant no great walking or extra travel after a tiring journey. The Hop-on Hop-off bus was also located here.

Check-in staff were very friendly and welcoming and gave detailed information on the facilities the hotel had to offer. Corridors and rooms were tastefully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Housekeeping were generally good but on one occasion completely forgot about the tea/coffee and didn't even change the dirty cups. However, this was rectified extremely quickly so I won't make a big deal of it.

We enjoyed the Sauna / Jacuzzi on one occasion and it was excellent and very therapeutic after a long day walking around Paris . The only thing is you need to call down before you go to make sure it is vacant as it is not public.

Bar area had a pleasant, relaxed atmosphere and the staff were very attentive. It is rather expensive though, even by Paris standards.

Taken individually, nearly all the major attractions are walking distance from the hotel, but if you only have a few days it is much easier to take public transport or the hop-on hop-off tour bus.

All in all we had a great trip to Paris and would thoroughly recommend Hotel Scribe

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alboy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please, accept our sincere apologies for the dirty cups which remained in your room, be sure that we take good note of your remarks in order to prevent future occurence.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris !
Best Regards,

Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    613
    159
    55
    33
See reviews for
415
870
109
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What I like with this hotel is that if you take the bus from Roissy CDG, it take 45min and stop next to the hotel at Opera.
Perfect central position, staff are very good, food is good, rooms are very well appointed, everything you need is there.
You have plenty of good restaurants around and not too pricy, as well as some cafe/bar for the morning if you don't want to spend a fortune for your breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for courtyard room for a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.
Indeed, our central position is definitely one of our strenghts, and you have well noticed that ! It allows people to have a nice walk around, go to Galeries Lafayette for shopping or enjoy a good restaurant. Again, thank you for your compliments, it is always a real pleasure for us to read such laudatory comments.
Best Regards,

Audrey L.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had booked a birthday celebration in Paris, but this was cancelled with two days notice by the blunders of the booking agent. I phoned Hotel Scribe who solved the situation on the spot.
We stay in many 5* hotels around the world, but Scribe is outstanding. The staff could not do enough for us, and no detail was overlooked.
Many thanks and congratulations to you, Hotel Scribe !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmite-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a real pleasure for us to know that we have made everything to help you with this first cancellation, which could have been very annoying for you ! At Hotel Scribe, we try to make every guest feel special, that is the reason why we are eager to deliver a personalized service. Paying attention to detail is also one of the most important values for us, and we thank you very much for having noticed this fact !
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at the Hotel Scribe, Paris.
Best Regards,
Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in Paris for a week and I absolutely chose the right hotel....thanks again to trip advisor. The hotel itself is very charming, our room was clean and comfortable, and for us was absolutely in the best possible location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat88nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris !
Best Regards,
Audrey L.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I travel very frequently. This hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed. Great location. Great staff. The concierge was very helpful finding and making a reservations for restaurants. I'd definitely recommend to have a dinner at its restaurant. As far as I know is has a Michelin star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank halilertugrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your valuable comment.
Every day, we make it our aim to satisfy each of our guests and try to exceed their expectations.
Our clef d’Or (Golden Key) concierge staff is very reliable and have thousands of great ideas for restaurants, bars, plays, etc…
As far as our restaurant is concerned, it is a 1 Michelin Star outlet and is built under an atrium which allows day light to filter in.
We would be glad to have you back at our hotel and be able to provide with a service as pleasant as the one received the first time.
Best Regards,
Nadjet B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We statyed at Hotel Scribe in March 2013 and had pleasant experience in general. The location and proximity to the Roissy bus delivering us from the CDG airport almost directly to the hotel is a big plus. The rooms are clean but somewhat small by American standards but it may not be different from other Paris hotels. The room charge is significantly high compared to a similar hotel in US but the location and service of the hotel personnel may justify the price. One of the hotel managing personnel, Geoffrey Lecompte ( spelling?) who led us to the room was professional, courteous and a big plus for this hotel.

Minor annoyances: The elevator software system may need improvement. You need to insert your room keycard to go to your floor and often the system gets confused if one guest is going up a floor and the other guest going down. A justifiable annoyance is the time when the hotel manager came to us when we are downstairs in the lobby and eating a pastry from a fancy Parisian bakery, admonishing us not to eat "pizza" in the lounge. We have to let him know what we were doing. He could have been a little more courteous.

On the day we were leaving, we tried to get our boarding pass printed. This service is available in almost all the hotels in US but not here. The front desk manager advised us that we have to buy a card to print the boarding pass. We finally got it printed by talking to the concierge. A hotel that charges more than $600 per nite should be able to provide this basic service.

In spite of these minor annoyances, we recommend this hotel for first tim visitors to Paris and probably will choose it again for our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers.
We would like to apologize for the minor annoyances you have experienced as well as for our staffs’ behavior.
We take your comments seriously and will do our best to rectify the issues as mentioned, so yourself and our other guests can benefit from a spotless stay with us.
Regarding the elevator, the need for the card use is important to ensure the elevators are not misused and therefore promptly respond when called.
We wish you a pleasant day and look forward to having you with us soon.
Kind regards,
Nadjet B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here some 30 years ago and always wanted to return as I was left with such wonderful memories - so glad I did! Loved every minute! Faultless in every way - fantastic staff, delightful room, excellent location, great ambience and style....in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
How wonderful it is to have you experience our hotel 30 years ago to come back and leave satisfied.
We are very pleased your second experience was as wonderful as the first one. You have been a great witness of the full refurbishment the hotel has gone through and most probably have had the time to really re-discover our establishment.
We are extremely happy you loved the time spent at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Best Regards,

Nadjet B.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#226 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#134 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#348 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Castille Paris
Castille Paris
#256 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Paris
#113 Business Hotel in Paris
#119 Family Hotel in Paris
#168 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#182 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing