We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved from disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #229 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had booked a birthday celebration in Paris, but this was cancelled with two days notice by the blunders of the booking agent. I phoned Hotel Scribe who solved the situation on the spot.
We stay in many 5* hotels around the world, but Scribe is outstanding. The staff could not do enough for us, and no detail was overlooked.
Many thanks and congratulations to you, Hotel Scribe !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marmite-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a real pleasure for us to know that we have made everything to help you with this first cancellation, which could have been very annoying for you ! At Hotel Scribe, we try to make every guest feel special, that is the reason why we are eager to deliver a personalized service. Paying attention to detail is also one of the most important values for us, and we thank you very much for having noticed this fact !
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at the Hotel Scribe, Paris.
Best Regards,
Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in Paris for a week and I absolutely chose the right hotel....thanks again to trip advisor. The hotel itself is very charming, our room was clean and comfortable, and for us was absolutely in the best possible location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat88nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris !
Best Regards,
Audrey L.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I travel very frequently. This hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed. Great location. Great staff. The concierge was very helpful finding and making a reservations for restaurants. I'd definitely recommend to have a dinner at its restaurant. As far as I know is has a Michelin star.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank halilertugrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your valuable comment.
Every day, we make it our aim to satisfy each of our guests and try to exceed their expectations.
Our clef d’Or (Golden Key) concierge staff is very reliable and have thousands of great ideas for restaurants, bars, plays, etc…
As far as our restaurant is concerned, it is a 1 Michelin Star outlet and is built under an atrium which allows day light to filter in.
We would be glad to have you back at our hotel and be able to provide with a service as pleasant as the one received the first time.
Best Regards,
Nadjet B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We statyed at Hotel Scribe in March 2013 and had pleasant experience in general. The location and proximity to the Roissy bus delivering us from the CDG airport almost directly to the hotel is a big plus. The rooms are clean but somewhat small by American standards but it may not be different from other Paris hotels. The room charge is significantly high compared to a similar hotel in US but the location and service of the hotel personnel may justify the price. One of the hotel managing personnel, Geoffrey Lecompte ( spelling?) who led us to the room was professional, courteous and a big plus for this hotel.

Minor annoyances: The elevator software system may need improvement. You need to insert your room keycard to go to your floor and often the system gets confused if one guest is going up a floor and the other guest going down. A justifiable annoyance is the time when the hotel manager came to us when we are downstairs in the lobby and eating a pastry from a fancy Parisian bakery, admonishing us not to eat "pizza" in the lounge. We have to let him know what we were doing. He could have been a little more courteous.

On the day we were leaving, we tried to get our boarding pass printed. This service is available in almost all the hotels in US but not here. The front desk manager advised us that we have to buy a card to print the boarding pass. We finally got it printed by talking to the concierge. A hotel that charges more than $600 per nite should be able to provide this basic service.

In spite of these minor annoyances, we recommend this hotel for first tim visitors to Paris and probably will choose it again for our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers.
We would like to apologize for the minor annoyances you have experienced as well as for our staffs’ behavior.
We take your comments seriously and will do our best to rectify the issues as mentioned, so yourself and our other guests can benefit from a spotless stay with us.
Regarding the elevator, the need for the card use is important to ensure the elevators are not misused and therefore promptly respond when called.
We wish you a pleasant day and look forward to having you with us soon.
Kind regards,
Nadjet B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here some 30 years ago and always wanted to return as I was left with such wonderful memories - so glad I did! Loved every minute! Faultless in every way - fantastic staff, delightful room, excellent location, great ambience and style....in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Sir,
How wonderful it is to have you experience our hotel 30 years ago to come back and leave satisfied.
We are very pleased your second experience was as wonderful as the first one. You have been a great witness of the full refurbishment the hotel has gone through and most probably have had the time to really re-discover our establishment.
We are extremely happy you loved the time spent at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Best Regards,

Nadjet B.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as the first part of our honeymoon after getting a great deal on priceline. We arrived in the early morning and the staff was nice enough to let us use the spa to shower and get ready for the day after a long trip from Chicago. When we checked into the room, the room was big (for Paris standards), spotless, modern, and just generally really, really nice based on any standards. It was easy for us to get to via train, bus, and taxi from anywhere in the city. We did not eat, but it was nice that the Grand was right across the street for after dinner drinks. The hotel also sent up a bottle of champagne to congratulate us on our wedding. All in all, I consider this to be a spectacular hotel, great location, excellent and courteous staff. I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The rooms are smaller than what we are used to in the U.S., but much bigger than anything else I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACJPChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience.

Moreover, we would like to thank you for choosing l’hôtel Scribe, Paris to spend your honeymoon at.

The hotel was fully refurbished back in 2007 and we made it our aim to offer more comfortable and spacious rooms, with great designs to make you feel like home away from home.

It was our pleasure to offer you champagne to wish you a life-long beautiful marriage.
We look forward to having you with us on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Nadjet B.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Being a French/English couple and living in London, we love jumping onto the Eurostar and having a short break in Paris. Finding a good place to stay is not always easy since Paris hotels can be quite inconsistent despite being pricey. In the case of Hotel Scribe we actually thought that the value for money was excellent for Paris. The hotel is brilliantly located in the centre of Paris, near the stunning Opera Garnier. The staff is very warm and friendly, and the service impeccable. They put everything in place to make sure that you will want to come back. And it works !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comment and for considering the Hotel Scribe, Paris. It is a pleasure for us to know that our location and your experience have fulfilled your expectations.
Please be kindly advised that your opinion will be shared with all teams.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Scribe Hotel, Paris.
Warm Regards
Louis S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#212 of 1,802 in Paris
729 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#260 of 1,802 in Paris
1,176 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#253 of 1,802 in Paris
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Paris
#112 Business Hotel in Paris
#119 Family Hotel in Paris
#160 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#181 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $279 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing