We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #238 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We read hundreds of reviews of hotels before traveling to Paris for our Honeymoon. When we first arrived, the bell hop was there to grab our bags as soon as we stepped out of the Taxi. Our room was a decent size, especially for Paris standards, and very clean, which is more important than anything. (As a side note, I always wipe down the room and bathroom with lysol wipes when we arrive. I know this is weird, but the amount of dirt I see on the wipes after wiping the bathroom floor in a hotel always amazes me. The wipes were clean after wiping the floor here - spotless clean. That should tell you something about the quality of the hotel.) We stayed 7 nights in the luxury room and got free breakfast with our booking.

More details:

Pros:
1. The concierge is amazing - all of them!! They made dinner reservations/recommendations for us almost every night. They learned our names and treated us very personally. The great special touch was the note under our door after a reservation was made with a map to our location.
2. The rest of the staff is also very friendly.
3. Free Breakfast (if you book it this way). It's really great, too, because you can order breakfast in the room for only a few dollars more. Breakfast in bed is always a nice touch to any vacation.
4. Free Wifi
5. Cleans rooms
6. Great views
7. Good location. Away from the craziness of all the tourist stuff by the Louvre area. But still not too far of a walk to get there.
8. Speakers in the bathroom, so you can play music from the TV and listen while in the bathroom. A nice touch!
9. A bath and a separate shower.
10. If you put the "Please service my room sign" out at any time of day they will clean/straighten your room, even if they have already cleaned it before.
11. They bring cool little treats every night and leave them in your room - and they constantly provide bottled water.
12. The hotel felt very safe.

Cons/Suggestions to the hotel:
1. You have to re-login every 4 hours to use the wifi and the connection is limited to only 60kb/s--very annoying after 7 days of doing this over and over again.
2. Breakfast is the same thing everyday and gets old, so we didn't eat there everyday. However, you can mix it up by getting it delivered to your room.
3. TV volume is limited and be hard to hear sometimes, especially if you have the window open. I know this is a courtesy to other guest which is kind of nice. A little more volume would be nice.

Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel - for anyone. As a couple on our honeymoon, we felt very welcomed, comfortable and safe. The hotel was walking distance from all of the great tourist locations but far enough away so that you could get away from it all at night. There was great shopping right around the corner and a grocery store just down the street (which is great for grabbing sandwiches and having lunch in the room). Plus, the views of the opera house (especially at night) are just amazing.

I think we are pretty picky about the hotels we stay at. I also know that experiences can vary easily, but some of the bad reviews about this hotel made me very skeptical about staying here. I really don't agree with any of the complaints I read. Especially the complaints about the staff. The staff was extremely friendly, ALWAYS. I would definitely recommend staying here. If I ever travel back to Paris. I will stay here again. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DOT850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Customer,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Paris le Scribe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and detailed feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to improve the point mentionned.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Louis S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've been traveling back and forth to Paris for 3 years and despite my efforts to diversify, I've always stuck by the Scribe. It marries the quality of a Sofitel with the dream that we have of french finesse which is hard to come by these days.

Their SoBeds are amazing, their service is really exemplary and if you know how to look for the right prices they are actually not horrendous in comparison to it's neighbours the Interconti and the W.

As a business customer and occasional leisurer. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I usually prefer the courtyard rooms as opposed to the street rooms but even in a street facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stijn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comment and for considering the Hotel Scribe, Paris.

It is a pleasure for us to know that our staff and service have fulfilled your needs and expectations.
Please be kindly advised that your opinion will be shared with all teams.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Scribe Hotel, Paris.

With warm Regards

Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our last stop after austria and munich. The location is really good, walking distance to great shops, the louvre, metro, Eiffle tower, notre dame and quick taxi ride to Moulin Rouge. However, we had just come from the sofittel Bayerspost in Munich and this hotel is not in the same category. The rooms are noisy, we could hear people stomping around upstairs day and night and next door. We booked 2 rooms of same category for my husband, myself and our sons. Our sons room was not suitable as there was no shower door and they were moved to a much smaller room with a broken air con. We had to ask for another room and the night manageress was a nightmare to say the very least. She was argumentative and arrogant and insisted there were no other rooms. We asked for a reduction in the room rate and then the next morning our sons were moved again to a room of the same size and standard we had paid for. No compensation or apology was given. we were given treats every day but our sons never received any! All other staff were very helpful and friendly. Their spa is also lacking as it is very small and not luxurious as other Sofitel hotels. As there are so many other hotels in Paris we will not be returning to this one.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank jajasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for considering the Scribe Hotel, Paris.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenient caused and the lack of care regarding the room accommodation of your sons. We are astonished to hear that our night manager could not fulfill your expectations at that time; our night team is really dedicated to the comfort and wellbeing of our guests but because of our occupancy we could not manage to switch the room until the next morning.

Please be assured that we will undertake any necessary action to make your future stay with us memorable.

We are very looking forward to welcoming you again at the Scribe Hotel, Paris.

With kind Regards

Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Checked in on New Year's Day after a less than stellar hotel experience in London. They upgraded us to Luxury Club rooms which was a nice treat (they told us that it meant larger rooms) and gave us vouchers for complementary cocktails in the bar. The room was very clean, modern, very nicely sized and quite comfortable. All the staff were super-nice and helpful, though the doorman availability situation seemed a bit random; not there at our 6pm arrival but standing out front when we returned from dinner after 10:30pm. Maybe he was on a break. Buffet breakfast was great and the waitstaff were all tremendously kind and helpful. Concierges had flawlessly handled a number of dinner reservations for us in advance. We were with our two teen daughters (in a connecting room) and housekeeping did a fantastic job with all that cleaning and straightening teens' rooms entails. The location is primo, near Opera Metro and Place Vendome. The TV remote wasn't quite strong enough to change channels and volume when laying in bed without leaning closer, but that probably speaks more to the positive fact of room size. No real kids offerings on TV, but plenty of various language and news/business options. My wife and I had previously stayed down the street at the Park Hyatt, and though Hotel Scribe isn't quite as plush, there is none of the tragically hip attitude among all of the staff. All in all, a very nicely run property.

Room Tip: ALWAYS CARRY YOUR ROOM KEY! You can't go up the elevator without it. Join the Accor Club (free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment and for considering the Scribe Hotel, Paris. We are delighted to read that you’ve had a lovely experience in our historical mansion.

It is one of our priorities to deliver a very warm and distinguished service to our guests through all of our hotel departments.

Please be advised that your feedback is precious for us and will be spread to all hotel services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Scribe Hotel, Paris.

Kind Regards

Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our room as spacious ad worked well with a child.
The service was great. The staff was very kind, helpful and professional. Very convenient location close to amazing areas of Paris.
We liked the proximity with Opeara, Madeleine, Concorde and place Vendome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimihk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I flew down to Paris for a couple days to celebrate our anniversary - it was cold and rainy in Helsinki but colder in Paris - that said the warmth of the Hotel Scribe made this into one our most memorable anniversaries! We flew into CDG and my wife had found that there was a bus that took us from the terminal directly to the Paris Opera (about 40 mins - I think it was 10E each) and the hotel was only about 200 meters/ yards from where the bus let you our - I travel constantly and usually prefer a taxi - but this was excellent.
Once at the hotel there was nothing but superb excellence in service - truly wonderful. We were greeted by a manager and taken personally to our upgraded suite - there was so much pride in it showing us our rooms and ensuring that all our needs were met - I have not had this level of service for so long I was amazed. We had a beautiful view and the period furnishings were exceptional - the bed was luxury and a beautiful bath. Every day we were left a special treat of a box of special biscuits (cookies) and sweets. We used the concierge that was able to get us into a wonderful 5 star restaurant that usually is a challenge to get reservations to and she ensured that we had several other recommendations - that were perfect for our romantic stay. The tearoom in the lobby had superb pastries - they were art and tasted so wonderful - the overall ambience was so warm and accommodating with that perfect French/Parisian style how could you be in any other place - it was perfection. I recommend this wonderful hotel for whatever your reason to stay - as I cannot say enough - the Hotel Scribe is wonderful, wonderful, wonderful...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Scribe for three nights from Dec. 22nd - 25th. After more than 12 trips to Paris I find the location of the hotel perfect - walking distance to the main shopping areas as Boulevard Haussmann and also the Louvre, the Musée d'Orsay etc. is only a few minutes away.

The staff at the Hotel Scribe was absolutely friendly and helpful and this applies to all the people from the check in to the concierge service and the doormen and ….

We booked a „Luxury Club Room“. Compared to regular hotel rooms in Paris hotels this room was quite large. A private hallway leads to the main room. The bathroom and a separate toilet are accessible from this hallway which also houses the wardrobes. The entire room was nicely decorated and in a good and clean condition. Soft drinks from the minibar were included in the room price and always in stock. The bed was very comfortable and had a duvet and enough pillows. The room facilities besides the usual equipment as wi-fi access or a flat screen TV also included a Bose Wave Radio / CD, which completed the comfortable impression.
The bathroom also was neat and clean and high quality care products were available.

So far an absolutely recommendable hotel. But two things give a reason for criticism.

First thing is the fact that one day the room was not cleaned at 3.00 pm and we had to call Housekeeping and wait one hour before the room was done. Around this time, a room must be finished. Also the turn down service on that day has been forgotten.
Secondly the prices are much too high in the hotel bar. A glas of white wine costs there 15 EUR. This is huge, even for Paris standards. In good restaurants you pay less than 10 EUR and on the other side of the Rue Scribe at the bar of the Intercontinental „Le Grand Hotel“ we payed only 10 EUR (and there was live piano music playing as well).

All in all, the Scribe is an excellent hotel. But because of beeing a luxury Hotel and due to the very high room rates one can always expect a impeccable service. For that reason (this time) I rate the Scribe „four stars“.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralfcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#216 of 1,805 in Paris
761 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#257 of 1,805 in Paris
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#280 of 1,805 in Paris
397 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#240 of 1,805 in Paris
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Paris
#61 Family Hotel in Paris
#112 Business Hotel in Paris
#165 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#181 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $289 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing