We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"great hotel" with a "disapointing resaurant experiance"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #225 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I would have rated the hotel as Excelent except for our experiance at the restaurant.
we were excited to finaly reserve seats for dinner but after waiting for ine hour and forty five minutes to be served our meal we got digusted and left.
the rest of the staff were just wonderfull and in particular the concierge desk was helpfull and followed up to make our trip very enjoyable.
we will be coming back to stay at the Scrib when we will be next in Paris.
thank you all

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treibatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We are a family with 2 teenagers and a 7 year old. We booked the family special (50% discount for second room) for 3 nights in late Nov.

Pros :
1. Excellent location. You can take the Roissy bus from CDH airport. The metro and RER stations are both nearby. Can walk to Printemps, Galeries and other major shops. For people interested in Disney or Vallee outlet shopping, the red RER line is within walking distance.

2. Room looks new and well furnished.Beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, large bath room and good temperate control.

3. Connecting rooms available, good for families.

Cons :
1. Hotel restaurant is pricey.
2. Rooms are not very large.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The most positive aspect of our stay at Hotel Scribe was that we managed to get a three nights for the price of two deal in what was described as a "luxury Club Sofitel" room. Our experience of club rooms in Sofitel hotels in the UK has been very positive and we've particularly enjoyed the perks of a separate club lounge and complementary pre-dinner drinks and canapes. At the Hotel Scribe is really hard to see anything that justified the description of 'club'. True, one could check out late if one wanted to, and there were also free soft drinks in the mini bar, but it was all a bit mean given the considerable expense of staying in the hotel. The room was also small, the bedroom itself measuring about 10 foot by 10 foot, with a small area for hanging clothes, a small toilet and a small bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean, but the shower attachment above the bath dripped whenever water was run into the bath. A Bose clock radio is provided in the room but this was ten foot away from the bed. The double lined curtains do a good job of blocking out light but it was impossible to check the time without either getting out of bed to look at the clock or switching the bedside light on to check a watch. But the meanest aspect of staying at Hotel Scribe is the exorbitant cost of breakfast at 35 euro per head for a standard continental breakfast. Fortunately, there are a number of cafes nearby who serve a petit dejeuner Parisien for a third of that price. The hotel has a gym with four quite modern pieces of equipment but the room is very small and its too hidden away and claustrophobic to be somewhere you'd want to go back to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Staying with family for christmas shopping. It could not have been better location RIGHT in the center of Paris surrended by all Grands Magasins and attractive stores. Must mention also that all transportations are available right down the hotel. The team is extremely friendly and always ready to help and assist. The concierge team is made only by experimented female which is rare enough to be mentionned.
Request room facing the street. The soundproofing is totally efficient and you will not get bored by the animation of the grand boulevards.....

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking boulevard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chchanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had booked a luxury club room (early checkin/late checkout among other privileges) but upon arrival we were told that the hotel was almost fully booked, so we were asked to leave our luggage and check in at 2 p.m. We returned at 4 p.m. but even then the room was not ready, so we had to wait another 30 minutes to go to the room. We then had to wait another 40 minutes for our luggage to be brought by the concierge. During this time we called reception 2-3 times, but they only apologised and said they would do their best. Finally we asked to speak with the manager, who indeed showed great interest in our discomfort and tried to make it up by offering us complimentary breakfast. In general the service is not very quick (except for housekeeping) - we daily asked for some mail print outs, and almost every day (except the last one) they were sent to our room 2-3 hours later, with missing pages etc.

The location of the hotel is perfect, next to the opera, the rooms are very big (don't forget we are in Paris), very clean and the beds are excellent, very comfortable with soft duvets and pillows. Spacious bathroom with bathtub and shower cabin.

I would definately recommend this hotel for a stay in Paris and I would choose it again, however I think that service could be more efficient for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paraskevi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed December 4-11,2012. Was highly impressed initially until the weekend came in (Fri-Mon). Hotel appeared to have become really busy with employees really scarce. Nobody to greet visitors at the door or help you get a cab. Housekeeping was a hit or miss during the weekend. Cleaned our room but will forget to replace certain things (bathrobes, water, etc.). When we're on vacation, for this quality of hotel, we felt like we shouldn't have to call housekeeping to follow-up or ask for things. Breakfast was also chaotic during the weekend with long wait times, took quite a while for somebody to come and ask you if you want coffee or tea.

We had a tour scheduled on December 8 with a pick up time of 7 AM. We've had laundry done daily since checking in on December 4. Called laundry before 7 AM but nobody answered. Figured it was too early so we called the front desk and explained our situation (we had to have the laundry returned on the same day). Was instructed by front desk to leave the laundry on the bed and they will let laundry know about it. Came back from the tour past 5 PM with laundry not picked when we needed it back the same day. Called laundry and the front desk to explain the situation, there was no apology provided for the mistake. The solution was laundry will be picked up then and can be returned to us on Sunday by 8 PM which was not acceptable as we needed it back Sat (that day or by 8 AM Sunday which I told them would be fine too). I ended up hand washing our thermal under layers the rest of the stay because I was just too annoyed to even trust laundry and the front desk to get it done on time. I did not want to waste my precious time on vacation hand washing clothes but I was left with no other option.

Loved the hotel and the location but service went downhill when the hotel became busy. It seemed like nobody else noticed us when it was a busy time. Only the concierge lady was always helpful. We appeared to be invisible to everyone else Fri-Mon. We will probably not stay at this hotel again and are inclined not to recommend it to family, friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Has a potential to be a great hotel if they can work on their service issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerezOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was a great in Paris, my plane had landed and now i was going to a hotel. My family and I usually go to the hotel first. We sometimes get bad outcomes but sometimes good. We had booked Scribe through the embassy. Now when i reached, a surprising entrance! My hopes were up, and when we went at the reception the staff said that the manager will take you to your room which gives the conclusion that the STAFF WAS AMAZING! FROM OUTSIDE AND THE INSIDE THE DECOR WAS AMAZING TOO!!!!! Now i was excited about the room, so it was the room we were seeing in the proffesional photos which looked good. We had booked one simple room which was huge for my mom, my dad and me! We had 4 luggage bags because we had to go to London in a week. We got MAcrons and stuff after getting the room cleaned. OVERALL EXCELENTO! Now the location...........Near Chanel and Laffyete Gallery! A great view of the Eiffel Tower from our BALCONY OF THE ROOM! IT JUST ISNT A HOTEL ITS SCRIBE IN PARADISE!

Room Tip: Get like the third floor for the balcony and an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#214 of 1,804 in Paris
742 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#236 of 1,804 in Paris
1,059 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#251 of 1,804 in Paris
1,183 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Paris
#61 Family Hotel in Paris
#112 Business Hotel in Paris
#157 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#181 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $277 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing