We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People make or break the experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #240 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

After staying at Hotel Scribe last year, I had a fabulous stay. I called to confirm my room request and was assured that it was reserved. Upon arrival, this request was not fullfilled and my room was not ready. We arrived at the hotel at 2pm (we are A Club Gold Sofitel members which includes early check-in.) We were finally able to check-in at around 5pm. We paid for a club sofitel room which allows you soft drinks, newspaper and baked goodies daily. When we did not receive the latter of the three and when we informed the front desk of this we were were told you only get a welcome gift and champagne. I had to proceed to explain that this was not the case and our amenities included this. I expected the same helpfullness I received at my last stay at Hotel Scribe. I wonder how many people pay for this service and never get it. If it were my first stay at Scribe I wouldn't have known. Once, again our wonderful concierge Mairie shines through. I also spoke to her before my arrival (she remembered me from a year before, wow.) and asked her to make several lunch and dinner reservations and was perfectly accommodated. She will be the reason we come back. Audrey, the guest relations manager, is also a star. She handeled a very difficult situation dealing with theft on the Paris tranportation system. She handeled it with utmost grace and professionalism. The pastries are not made on the premises and be careful which one you choose, because their looks may deceive you. Nothing is perfect but I wish my experience was the same as last year. Last year I was wowed, this year, it was just another hotel experience with the usual mistakes. The beds are still fantastic though and the hotel is extremely clean and maintained.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floors because the windows are bigger and make the room feel more spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SnailP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy08
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I don't often write a review and have really been prompted to do so by people threatening to write bad reviews if they do not get a discount on checkout.

This Hotel was the perfect place for a 4 day getaway while working in the south of France. We had the most amazing time and all the staff at the hotel were great.

The only disappointing thing about the hotel was the fact that we could snot take the bed with us there and then.....We did have to order it and have it delivered.

Fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I will not got too much into details about the hotel Scribe's specifics, because all the prior reviews took care of that and most of them seem accurate.

But what I can tell you is that 5 star hotels are what they are for a reason. They give you what you expect: a 5 star service in a 5 star environment.

But what separates l'hotel Scribe from the rest is that they make you feel like you are their only and favorite customer at all times. We were there for a romantic week-end getaway in Paris and they went out of their way (or maybe that's what they always do) to make sure all our needs were not only met but exceeded.

Getting a room upgrade is not rare in the hotel industry. But I don't know many hotels that upgrade you and doesn't tell you about it, that's just a whole other level.

If you're looking for a great Parisian hotel in a great Parisian "quartier", don't look any further, I know we won't!


Thank you l'Hotel Scribe

Room Tip: If you are landing in CDG airport, there is a RATP "Roissybus - Opera" that drops you 100...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delevanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Hotel Scribe has a warm inviting ambience and [unlike some of the larger 5 star establishments] feels quintessentially French. As an Australian in Paris... I wanted that. The room was compact but beautifully appointed with a balcony overlooking the central courtyard below. The bathroom was surprisingly large by Parisian standards and well stocked with gorgeous toiletriles and fluffy white towels. Bed was pure heaven to sink into at the end of the day with crisp white linen and luxurious down pillows. The location is perfect for the Opera Printemps and Galleries la Fayette and the Louvre. I loved the small gestures such as complimentary bottled water and extra towels. A beautiful hotel I would not hesitate to stay in again. I can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JElizabethB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a grand Parisian hotel literally next door to L'Opera. It was recently the subject of major refurb. The public areas are stylish and classically French. The basic rooms as with most French hotels are on the small side but they are extremely well equipped. The beds are amazingly comfortable and it's a struggle to get up in the morning.

It's not cheap and nor is breakfast but you generally get what you're paying for.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrLivingstone100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Spent a weekend at the hotel Scribe in august. Lovely room, nice bathroom with loveley toiletries from Hèrmes, and a little "surprise" from the hotel with turndown service. Nice and accomodating staff. The location is unbeatable, the hotel is within walking distance from l'Opéra, the Louvre, Place Vendôme and Galeries Lafayette.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#219 of 1,805 in Paris
761 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#259 of 1,805 in Paris
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#264 of 1,805 in Paris
397 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#241 of 1,805 in Paris
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Paris
#61 Family Hotel in Paris
#112 Business Hotel in Paris
#168 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#181 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $290 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing