We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lift breaks constantly and is so small you cannot get 2 people and a bag in - not for the claustrophobic!”
Review of Plug-Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plug-Inn Hostel
Ranked #1,003 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed on the 6th floor and the lift breaks constantly - this information came from staff and seemed to be acceptable and normal - I queried this, and was met by a long sigh complete with raised eyebrows by a woman who claimed to be The Manager "that day"! The toilet had to be sat on side saddle (and we are not overweight) as it is pushed up against a sloping wall. The shower had no curtain so the floor was constantly flooded, even using all the towels did not mop it up. The water drained through the cracks in the floor tiles so we do not expect whatever lay below to be there soon! We had breakfast the first day and didn't bother after that - the coffee was undrinkable. We had a look at other rooms and were shocked to find ours was one of the better one's. The walls are paper thin and you can hear EVERYTHING! We still have very sore neck ache weeks later as you only have one pillow and the bed appeared to lean backwards (not good for the digestion!). I did manage to find another blanket, but that was taken away the next day. The area itself is very good with a multitude of cafe's and restaurants, and had a lovely atmosphere. The tube is near and runs to perfection.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CitybreakerBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 465 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2008

We decided to try Utrillo as its in an area of Montmartre we know very well. Its well placed for Abbesses and Blanche Metros and close to Sacre Coeur and `Amelie` locations. Theres some great cafes and restaurants very nearby and the whole area is bustling and friendly. The hotel itself looks good from the outside and the entrance hall appears to be renovated. The staff at the desk were always friendly. Our room was on the 3rd floor at the front, not too small but a little tricky to walk around the bed to the window (the bed was not quite a double but that didn`t bother us) It smelt very smoky and the tv perched high on a cupboard han`t been dusted for a while! The shower room was the tiniest we`d ever seen and was stuck in the 70`s, no plug in the sink, scruffy shower curtain, broken shower head. Neighbours could be heard and the door on the tiny lift was regularly slammed. The breakfast room in the cellar also needed an update and more space. On arrival we were given a roll and croissant each. Cereals, yogurts and fruit juice were available too. I don`t think we`d stay here again but if you`re looking for something cheap, you`re not fussy and being part of Montmartre is priority then I`d say its fine.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carlotticento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Stayed here for two nights last weekend.For 50 euros it was good value.The room wasn't too small but then again I only slept there and was out all day and most of the night.It is in a very good location ,near many restaurants and bars and handy for two metro stations.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bazzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights all up.The rooms are very small,but are clean.The staff are helpful and friendly but arrogant at times as well.The lift is very tiny as well.The location is not bad (near moulin rouge).You can catch a train to the champs ellysee in 10 minutes.Had a taxi booked for the airport 1 morning and the guy at reception was very helpful when it turned up late.Overall you get what you pay for in paris which is not much.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank davo064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

This hotel is close to subway and is cheap. It has friendly staff. I enjoyed staying there and would consider going back.

Location can be a little scary at night due to the red light district which is close by. But, I wouldn't worry unless you are a single woman.

The breakfast was delicious for such a small hotel.

The rooms are small. The elevator is even smaller! But that's the way it is in Paris ;)

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kwanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Having read the reviews here we thought that this would be the perfect place to stay. And it seemed that way when we got there - the hotel has an excellent location in a quiet street, is right near a metro stop, small but clean bedroom and helpful staff.

BUT when it came to night time (and we didn't go to bed early at all), it was a nightmare. We were in room 11 which was next to the stairs on the first floor. Between these stairs and reception there is no door at all, and so we heard every person ringing the bell, opening and closing the doors with a bang which was necessary to shut properly, and one night the receptionist had a metronome going (constant beeping) and then proceeded to play his guitar for a few hours. The stairs were so old that you could hear people coming from three floors away (I'm not kidding) and literally everybody in the hotel passed by our room.

The walls were so thin that we could hear everything in the next door room, from the shower curtain to when clothes were being hung up. These thin walls also don't mask any sound from the pipework and we knew when every person on our floor and the floor above was having a shower or using the dryer.

All of this may not bother some people, but only if 5 hours sleep over 3 nights appeals to you.

We did ask to move rooms but unfortunately we were told all the others were full. I have stayed in some shockers before, but none beats this place for noise. Perhaps we stayed in the worst room in the hotel, but we would definitely NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maisie_muck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

I've spent 3 nights at Utrillo hotel in late May 08. The location is excellent, less than 10 minutes walking to Monmartre, few minutes walk to two metro stations.

Staff are very friendly and helpful...There is free internet at the reception...

Lifts are very small. I had known that before going and made sure I got a first floor room which we accessed by the stairs and didnt have to use the lift at all...

Rooms are pretty small, but they do the job. They are clean and tidy.

Breakfast was poor I must say, but again for a budget hotel it does the job.

Overall its a good hotel and I would probably go again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank afmansour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#844 of 1,809 in Paris
153 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,265 of 1,809 in Paris
387 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#1,047 of 1,809 in Paris
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,263 of 1,809 in Paris
716 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,445 of 1,809 in Paris
188 reviews
Hotel de L'Union
#771 of 1,809 in Paris
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plug-Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plug-Inn Hostel

Address: 7 rue Aristide Bruant, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Utrillo)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $39 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Plug-Inn Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plug-Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utrillo Hotel Paris
Utrillo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing