We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for its price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plug-Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plug-Inn Hostel
Ranked #899 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value for its price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2008

This hotel is close to subway and is cheap. It has friendly staff. I enjoyed staying there and would consider going back.

Location can be a little scary at night due to the red light district which is close by. But, I wouldn't worry unless you are a single woman.

The breakfast was delicious for such a small hotel.

The rooms are small. The elevator is even smaller! But that's the way it is in Paris ;)

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kwanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    204
    107
    27
    13
See reviews for
29
73
129
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

Having read the reviews here we thought that this would be the perfect place to stay. And it seemed that way when we got there - the hotel has an excellent location in a quiet street, is right near a metro stop, small but clean bedroom and helpful staff.

BUT when it came to night time (and we didn't go to bed early at all), it was a nightmare. We were in room 11 which was next to the stairs on the first floor. Between these stairs and reception there is no door at all, and so we heard every person ringing the bell, opening and closing the doors with a bang which was necessary to shut properly, and one night the receptionist had a metronome going (constant beeping) and then proceeded to play his guitar for a few hours. The stairs were so old that you could hear people coming from three floors away (I'm not kidding) and literally everybody in the hotel passed by our room.

The walls were so thin that we could hear everything in the next door room, from the shower curtain to when clothes were being hung up. These thin walls also don't mask any sound from the pipework and we knew when every person on our floor and the floor above was having a shower or using the dryer.

All of this may not bother some people, but only if 5 hours sleep over 3 nights appeals to you.

We did ask to move rooms but unfortunately we were told all the others were full. I have stayed in some shockers before, but none beats this place for noise. Perhaps we stayed in the worst room in the hotel, but we would definitely NOT stay there again.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — THE NOISE
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maisie_muck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

I've spent 3 nights at Utrillo hotel in late May 08. The location is excellent, less than 10 minutes walking to Monmartre, few minutes walk to two metro stations.

Staff are very friendly and helpful...There is free internet at the reception...

Lifts are very small. I had known that before going and made sure I got a first floor room which we accessed by the stairs and didnt have to use the lift at all...

Rooms are pretty small, but they do the job. They are clean and tidy.

Breakfast was poor I must say, but again for a budget hotel it does the job.

Overall its a good hotel and I would probably go again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank afmansour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed here for one night as our apartment was not available. Small room (it is Paris), but it is clean and the bed is comfortable. The location is excellent for Sacre Coeur, Opera House and the department stores. The staff speak good english and are wonderfully helpful. There is a free internet terminal and the breakfast is good value for 7€ compared to the cafes outside.

  • Liked — Friendly service of hotel staff
  • Disliked — Small size of room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irishkiwi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain,italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2008

hello, vinetina and vitolino have been there at the beginning of february. the hotel is very well located, just 5 min walk from the metro, from moulin rouge, 20 min from sacre coeur, and in the middle of montmartre, with all its cafes and restaurants. the room was quite clean. we were really happy about the hotel, for that price i think you cannot find anything better in paris, especially if you are looking for something central. ciao

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vitolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

Set in a quiet street in Montmartre, this hotel offers everything a budget conscious traveller requires.

For a capital city hotel, our room was more than adequate in size, offering ensuite facilities in an admittedly small but functional bathroom.

The other staggering thing was how quiet the whole area was - no night time noise or rowdiness at all.

Reception staff were always helpful and welcoming, even the night staff.

Although parts of Montmartre/Pigalle are on the seedy side - well, the Moulin Rouge is the centre of the sex industry in Paris, this didnt impinge on the area around the hotel, and theres little sign of some of the worst excesses until late night time.

We were only there for a 3 day break, but from the hotel, we managed to see most of the rest of Paris, much of it on foot.

All in all, an excellent place to stay.

One point - there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but the neighbouring cafe Bruant does an excellent cappuccino and the food there is so good, we didnt eat anywhere else.

  • Liked — Overall ambience
  • Disliked — Small lift
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redndead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2007

Spent the night at Utirillo on a 24hour get away to Paris!

Location was great as its right in the centre of things with lots of restaurants and easy access to transportation.

The lift is incredibly tiny though, and a claustrophobics worst nightmare...but i just about managed gettting into it with my big belly (37 weeks pregnant), no stairs for me!

The rooms are small but quite pleasantly furnished. All in all great bargain if on a budget!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the lift!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaysune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,266 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#905 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#918 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,596 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Hotel de L'Union
#703 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plug-Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plug-Inn Hostel

Property: Plug-Inn Hostel
Address: 7 rue Aristide Bruant, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Utrillo)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Plug-Inn Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Plug-Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utrillo Hotel Paris
Utrillo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing