We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's next to a cemetery, but it does not mean it's quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citadines Montmartre Paris
Ranked #673 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 11 nights (2011 September) on business.

LOCATION

The hotel is located at the bottom of Montmartre, very close to metro station Place de Clichy. Also, it is located at the end of a dead end street (quite literally dead end: at the end there is the entrance to the Montmartre cemetery). The building is in the same block as the Moulin Rouge, so this is really as central as you can get if you like this area of Paris.

There is an Irish bar around the corner (Corcoran's), just 20 meters away from the hotel entrance. There's a Starbucks at Place the Clichy (4 Place de Clichy, 75009 Paris, France) if you did not go for the breakfast in the hotel.

HOTEL

Classic, multi-storey buildling with some of the rooms overlooking avenue Rachel and some overlooking the garden / cemetery. You'd think that such setting would be a guarantee for undisturbed sleep, but the problem is the party people like to loiter downstairs, sitting on the benches in front of the hotel. Talking loudly, singing, breaking glasses. I had to call reception on several occasions to ask them to take care of the noise. They promised they will do the best they can, but this did not really help much. I am not saying of course that every night was difficult, but in the summer, when the weather is nicer and you'd be tempted to keep the windows open - well, there was always the risk of the party people waking you up.

On the plus side the hotel has a rooftop terrace which is open until 9pm. It has a really nice view on Montmartre.

ROOM

Clean, not shiny new but decent rooms with cable internet.

BREAKFAST

Our corporate rate included breakfast, and I was happy to oblige. You can cook the eggs the way you like it, they had Nutella, compote de pommes (apple puree), waffles and very nice and strong coffee, that you could also take away in a papercup. That was very thoughtful. It was not a deluxe breakfast with smoked salmon and freshly pressed OJ, but it was OK.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KatBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne D, Gérant at Citadines Montmartre Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us regarding the noise.

We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Duty Manager at the time when the issue arises. The purpose is to ensure that his/her concerns are addressed promptly with the objective of making his/her stay with us a pleasant one. In this instance, the management of the property was unaware of the incident and is very sorry to learn that you were left with an unpleasant experience.

As we have apartments in different layouts, we would have been glad to show you other apartments if your discomfort was made known to us during our stay. We truly want our residents to feel at home when they are staying with us.

I hope that you will reconsider staying with us or any of our other serviced residence, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 547 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Right next door to the famous cemetery of Mont Martre - means quiet neighbours - but there is a fly over main road directly above the cemetery and opposite the hotel, giving both dead and living noisy nights. Beware of a summer time booking at this hotel. No airconditioning. No cleaning service either unless you pay - so essentials like soap and loo paper are not restocked.
Very odd arrangement means the loo is adjacent to the front door of the room with no handwashing sink. You need to walk around past the kitchenette and bed into bathroom to do this. We requested interconnecting room with our children, or at the least a room next door. The front desk staff promised this until the day we left - for another hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to travel in summer or want to have your room serviced book elsewhere. If you wish to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne D, Gérant at Citadines Montmartre Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that this unpleasant experience left you with a negative impression.

The size of our bedrooms varies between apartments. Walking space in certain apartments may be compromised to provide our residents with a comfortable and larger double-sized bed. We truly want our residents to feel at home when staying with us and would have been glad to show you other apartments. In this instance, the management of the property was unaware of the incident and is very sorry to learn that you were left with your discomfort during your stay.

Following your feedback, we have reminded our reception staff to be more alert and careful.

We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at Citadines Montmartre for four nights. The room (studio) was tiny with a couch that opened out to a bed. When the bed was out there was hardly any space to walk either side of the bed. The couch itself was old and crummy looking.
There were no English speaking channels on the TV.
The location was bad. It is down the corner from an Irish Pub so there was constant noise in the evening. It is also located next door to apartments where the young unsavoury clientelle hang out in the area at the front.
I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne D, Gérant at Citadines Montmartre Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with Citadines Montmartre Paris and that we could not make your stay more comfortable. As we are keen to make improvements to enhance our residents’ overall stay at our properties, we have shared your feedback with the team of the property.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome observations such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve. As we have apartments in different layouts, we would have been glad to show you other apartments if your discomfort was made known to us during our stay

Once again, we apologize if we had failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you again and have another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I made a huge balls up by booking the Citidines Bastille for the 3rd of June (and arriving on the 3rd of July) with my wife and three children. The staff in the Citidines Bastille were incredibly helpful (despite thinking I was an idiot probably) and booked us into the Citidines Montmartre and ordered a taxi to take us there. Once we got over the shock of possibly having nowhere to sleep and settled in, we though the location was fantastic. The space was a bit tight for 5 of us, especially as we had to have an extra bed, but we used it as a base for exploring. In this respect it was perfect as the Rue de Abbesses is just around the corner, as are metro stations at Blanche and Place de Clichy. The neighbouring Cemetery is fantastic to explore in the shade away from the heat. The roof terrace was great with lovely views across this part of the city. Overall, we had a great time in paris and the hotel provided us with a comfortable base for the few days we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne D, Gérant at Citadines Montmartre Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. I will share your compliments with my colleagues. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Not a positive experience by any measure. Extremely slow service and seemed t be no back for reception staff when problems arose at the hotel. Double rooms are only provided win two towels to last seven days - unbelievable given the price we paid. If you wanted more towels you needed to pay for a light service. No wireless available in rooms leaving the lobby and dining area to look like the waiting room of a doctors surgery - not a good look. Check in times were excessive leaving a continual line up. On arrival our room was not provided with any pillow slips or towels - because of the lack of staff on duty we had to wait four hours for towels and even then it appeared to be a great deal of trouble Even though we understood the rooms to be studio - fold up beds were not mentioned anywhere - a real con in our view. Our nightly rate was not that cheap and it our view was our worst stay in the three weeks we had in Europe. A very disappointing time given we had looked so much to our time in Paris. Our tip - you can find a better option - maybe a back packers hostel !

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne D, Gérant at Citadines Montmartre Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret that this the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us left you with a negative impression.

While we constantly strive to maintain the highest standards of customer satisfaction, regrettably, on this occasion, we have fallen short of our key objective. We therefore wish to extend to you our sincere apologies.

Unfortunately, there is no way of recreating the past or reversing the unpleasant incidents you experienced. However, we can assure you that we value your feedback and your feedback has been utilized to improve our service and communication.

I hope that you will reconsider staying with us or any of our other serviced residence, giving us another opportunity to serve you better. Please contact me at etienne.david@citadines.com so that I can help you with your stay arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Upon (attempting to) check in, we were notified that the hotel was overbooked, and shipped down the road to their sister hotel in a much less-desirable neighborhood. Booked this hotel at this price point because I wanted air-conditioning and in-room WiFi, and ended up with neither. Would not recommend this company, and their online listings/descriptions of the rooms are misleading/untrue. Also, couples/families be aware that your "double bed" involves two single pull out couch beds, and I've slept on better mattresses when I was deployed on an aircraft carrier. Skip this place/company, and go cheaper instead.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NavyNole85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne D, Gérant at Citadines Montmartre Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your check-in and the fact that you were sent out to another property.

As a serviced residence, we always consider the comfort of our residents of utmost importance. The design and layout of our refurbished apartments were largely due to the result of the feedback we previously received from our residents. We also inform you that a WIFI connexion will be available from November 2012 in all the property.

Once again, we apologize that we were unable to make you feel more at home and comfortable. We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our group of 5 adults and two children booked three apartments for our stay here. The apartment is about 10 mins via taxi from Gare de Nord (long queue for taxis and a few beggars hanging around, though they were quickly shooed away by the police).
From memory the taxi fare was 15 euro.

Each room had a kitchenette - dishwasher, fridge, microwave, two hot plates which is sufficient to put together a few meals. The double bed was a pull out couch. The apartments are not overly big, but much more spacious than a hotel and with a view of the cemetry next door!

There is no laundry facilities in your room. You have to pay at reception to use the communal laundry - 9 euro for washing machine and dryer.

The highlight of our stay here was the gorgeous food all within walking distance of the apartment. Bakeries, cafes, restaurants, takeway outlets. You won't be stuck for something to eat, the hardest part is deciding what to have.
Moulin Rouge is just a few minutes walk and the Sacre Coeur nearby up the hill.

We found you had to be fairly independent with travelling as there was no tourist brochures or info around reception. Reception staff were helpful though. There are two metro stations very close to the apartment and the metro was clean and safe. We caught the metro to Disneyland which took about an hour - easy enough with one change of train at Nation station.

Overall this apartment met our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne D, Gérant at Citadines Montmartre Paris, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Citadines Montmartre Paris. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and peasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Citadines Place d'Italie Paris
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Holiday Inn Paris Montmartre
Holiday Inn Paris Montmartre
#645 of 1,804 in Paris
403 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#503 of 1,804 in Paris
1,085 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Les Jardins de Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Montmartre Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Montmartre Paris

Address: 16 avenue Rachel, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#516 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $114 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Montmartre Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a residential street 2 steps away from place Clichy, Citadines Montmatre Paris sits at the foot of the Butte Montmartre, close to the Moulin Rouge and the Europe and Trinité business areas. Montmartre may be famous for its maze of narrow streets and staircases, its vineyard and authentic village atmosphere, where imposing Haussmann and 1930s style buildings rub shoulders with charming houses and tiny gardens; But it's also renowned for its night life- the multitude of cabarets, cafés with resident portraitists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Montmartre Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Montmartre Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing