We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in Paris!”
Review of Hotel Aladin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aladin
Ranked #1,533 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in Paris!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel it's so bad! Don't ever come here! As an Italian I'm very shock! They even cancelled my booking even when already paid. They don't care about anything ! I ask for directions and they say sorry I don't speak English very well!! Omg so pissed. :(

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Matc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    55
    17
    29
See reviews for
14
52
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were given room 15 at Hotel Aladin. There were small but noticeable red stains on the sheets. The room smelt terribly of cigarette smoke. I do not mean the subtle smell one often finds in hotel rooms everywhere. I mean an extremely strong pungent smell like being inside a smoker’s room making it difficult to breathe. I went to reception to ask them if there is something that can be done. The receptionist came upstairs with an anti-tobacco spray. It sprayed very little as the bottle was almost empty. We tried opening the windows but this did not air the smell. The next morning I told the receptionist that the room smelt very bad of cigarette smoke. The receptionist on this shift said that the cleaners would try remove the smell on our return. We returned home that day our room and found that neither had our beds been made nor had anything been done about the smell—it was as strong as the previous night. I went to reception again and we were given another room, room 19. This room was much better and did not smell of cigarette smoke. However, that night, my partner noticed that what she had thought to be mosquito bites were bed bug bites, consistent with the red stains found on the sheets of room 15, as mentioned above. It took 4 weeks for my partner’s bites to disappear and made the rest trip uncomfortable as she was bitten on her face as well. I agree with the other comments that the staff were helpful: they did try to rectify the problem when I advised them. I also agree that the location is good being close to shops and transport. Had we been given room 19 from the start, I would have given this hotel a good rating. However, in room 15, where the pungent smell of cigarette smoke was intense, feeling as though we were suffocating, and the bed bugs bites my partner received, means I would strongly advise anyone to either: choose another hotel or, if staying at this hotel, ensure that there are no red stains on the sheets or stay in a room other than room 15.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jordan1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Heidelberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I cannot share the extremely negative comments written about Aladin Hotel. Maybe outdated? Having spent 4 nights in the Hotel, we found it clean and comfortable. Our room was quiet and clean - small, but comfortable enough to spend the nights. Also the bathroom was clean and comfortable (renovated?). Really friendly and helpful staff. To leave the baggage at the Hotel in order to spend the last few hours before departure without, was no problem at all.
Positive also the neighbourhood with cafes, restaurants, even supermarket around the corner. And only appr. 10 minutes footwalk to the next Metro station. And, safe enough at night to get back to the Hotel on foot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ute K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Reviews on this site led me to be a bit worried about booking here. My experience greatly exceeded expectations. Yes, the room was small and a bit threadbare. There were places where the wall paper needed repair. At the same time it was clean and serviceable. The staff was friendly, but they spoke only minimal English. Be prepared to use your French or to point and mime.

The location is on a quiet residential street with good access to the metro. The neighborhood seems safe, even after 11:00 PM.

For the price I paid, this was as much as I wanted. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank M_Risjord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The hotel was managed by a very grouchy and cross gentelman, who refused to help us with any information regarding our pre booking.

The rooms were dingy and smelly with almost no lighting. The only good thing was close proximity to the metro station, about 500 ms walk. The "free wi-fi" did not work during our 3 day stay.

Use the hotel only if you are on a shoe string budget!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank musafir11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My prepaid voucher was canselled the day before arrivel, without giving me a message. No apologise from the unfriendly staff when I arrived at midnight. Stay away from this poor, dirty an unfriendly cheaters"

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreKorsaksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

for travelers on tight budget. close to a train station, 1 train ride to the airport.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank wgdequincey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Villa Romantic
Villa Romantic
#1,523 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Tolbiac
Hotel Tolbiac
#1,408 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Gobelins
Hotel de la Place des Alpes
Hotel de la Place des Alpes
#1,173 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Media
Media
#1,447 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Gobelins
Hotel Le Vert Galant
Hotel Le Vert Galant
#779 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Gobelins
Neptune Italie
Neptune Italie
#1,379 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aladin

Property: Hotel Aladin
Address: 14 rue des Cordelieres | 13 Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,533 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aladin 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 stars property, 29 rooms, located left bank, historic latin quarter near typical Marche Mouffetard, close to Montparnasse, and Paris-Lyon railway stations, near Pantheon, Luxembourg garden 1.6kms, Jardin des Plantes 1.4kms, . The Aladin hotel offers peaceful rooms overlooking a quiet street, you will find a friendly atmosphere, ensuring you feel at home during your visit to Paris. We emphasise comfort above everything: satellite TV, individual safety box... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Aladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aladin Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing