We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cheap prices, all you need in Paris!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Hotel Saint Lazare
Ranked #1,480 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel was very easy to find. It has a metro stop literally right outside the hotel. It was very resonably priced. Like anywhere in Paris is a bit tired but it adds character. The rooms are tiny and so are the bathrooms but its clean enough and the beds are comfy. They have lovely little window balconies that make you feel very parisian! You could not hang about in the room as it's too small but it encourages you to go explore which is what you want. Staff are great too. Bottom line, stay here- all hotels in Paris are a bit run down, spend your money on wine and bagettes!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeBruntooonnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directionnhopstl, Director at New Hotel Saint Lazare, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Sir, We thank you to take time for this comment which confirm that we do our best to satisfy our guest. We hope you spend a pleasant time in Paris and wait to welcome you again for a next trip. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 388 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

ahh paris, the sity of love, and millionaires!

we stayed here for 3 nights, and had a great time, we did al the usual tourist things, visited the louvre, the notre damn cathedral, went on a river cruise, ate out in a thousand cafes and restaurants. the hotel is clean, and we got a great friendly rappour built up over our stay. my wife was 7 months pregnant at the time and they really helped anyway they could. unfortunately there isnt any air con which was a shame, we popped down the road and bought an electric fan for 26 euros, it was a god send as it was 39 degrees during our time there! wouldnt have survived without it. but apart from the lack of breexe, the room was very nice, small yes, but big enough for a real comfy sleep, a place to relax, watch some french tv (god knows what they were saying) the bathroom was again small, but clean and very adequate. one specific lady, named millicent, really made a difference in our stay with her friendly greetings and interest in my wifes bump! she made it feel very homely and certainly deserves the credit for it, so thank you. there is i nice garden terrace to sit out on. the breakfast was very nice, a mixture of things, breads, cereals, cheeses, ham, hot and cold drinks, mini pastries , my particular favourite :)
overall we had a fantastic time finding our way around the city, and for the price, at £180 for the whole 3 nights including breakfast, considering how close the central it was, was an absoute bargain !

dont go to this hotel expecting 4-5 star accomodation, it is what it is. a fantastic 2-3 star. a cosy, friendly place to stay.

and of course we shall be returning, when? i dont know but we will at those prices, more money for all the unbelievably expensive shopping :)

bravo new hotel saint lazare

Room Tip: rooms on the lower floors get a better air flow with the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandals86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directionnhopstl, Director at New Hotel Saint Lazare, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Sir, We thank you for this comment and are pleased to let you spend a pleasant stay in Paris. Our staff usually take care about our guests moreover in special situation as your wife, to let them secure. We hope to welcome you again in one of our hotel Newhotel. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Location was ok and beds very comfortable. Rooms are very small and very noisy. Bathroom looks old and dirty (even if it is not dirty). Breakfast is very poor, plus once things are gone (bread, ham) you are just being informed that "it's finished" (we are talking 10am when breakfast is supposed to be open till 12). Croissants were definitely not fresh; they seemed to be left overs from the day before.
Tip: If you travel by car, you can easily find parking places on the streets around the hotel. Paid parking Monday-Friday, free during the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located as far as possible from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mihand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directionnhopstl, Director at New Hotel Saint Lazare, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Sir , First of all we apologise for the inconvenience occured during you stay. We insure you that we usually do our best to satisfy our guest. We will do the necessary to modify the matter signified. We hope to wellcome you again to let us be better hosts. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was probably one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. I didn't mind the size of the rooms (very small), I didn't mind the lack of fruit for breakfast (I could go and buy at the market), I didn't even mind, although it was frustrating at times, the inability to access wi-fi, however the customer service from the first clerk all the way to manager was atrocious. I took a group of students and the rooms were prepaid a month in advance and they waited till we arrived to tell us we had to pay an additional 15 euros per person (17 of us) since it was a group just in case anyone broke something in the room. Mind you, although some of the people in our group walked into bathrooms where tiles were loose and broken. They also told us that there was a 10 o'clock noise curfew and that should our group break that curfew we would be charged the 15 euros, nevermind that our own room was above the little courtyard and people (not our group) congregated there to talk loudly and laugh etc. Then the last day the mgr. discovered having invoiced us incorrectly a month prior and locked us (the group leaders) from our room to force us to come and take care of their mistake. It was a 420 euro mistake and they wanted to make sure we paid it. Customer service was definitely lacking, not kind, not helpful, I was not happy. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at all. Yes it's in a central place, but, who wants to deal with all the unpleasantness?

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Myrna929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Madam, We thank you for your comment, but during your stay, we discuss many time with you and we do all necessary to let your group spend a pleasant stay in Paris. The procedure for a group was explained, and as we don't have any problem, despite an incindent with one of the girl from your group, the deposit was totaly refunded.. Our staff do his best to satisfy all our guests and to let them spend a good stay in Paris. We hope you could enjoy it also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I had arranged a long weekend break to Paris and was looking for a good value hotel, close to the centre that wasn’t going to break the bank. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I decided to book.

The rate for the hotel was very reasonable for its location. The rooms themselves were pretty bijou, but that I have been told, is quite common within main cities in Europe.

The hotel was pretty basic; the room was clean and tidy. The only drawback was that there was no shower curtain in the bathroom, so if you weren’t careful the water went everywhere.

There is a small lift which was full when there were two people in it.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

For the price paid, I have no complaints. If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel that you are only using as a place to get your head down for the night then I would recommend it.

There is a Metro Station and bus stop which is literally across the road.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJA_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel´s name is misleading to customers in general, as it is not new!

The bedrooms are small and furnished with an old and cigarette smelly carpet!
The elevator is small, it hardly fits 2 persons!

The service desk at night, seems to be sleeping every time we arrived at night 10p.m., he took forever to answer and open the door!
The WI-FI did not work in the bedroom. We had to go to the front desk to use the WI-FI and then the recepction desk at night, would not let, arguing it was to late to use it.
Finally, when we checked out, the lift did not work!!!!! I had to carry through the stairs, by myself, my suitcases all the way down from the 4th floor!
To be honest, it was not a very satisfying experience for me and my wife, who were in a honeymoon celebration.
I have no desire of coming back to this hotel!

Just to be fair, the morning-afternoon reception clerk was very helpful, and the ladies that worked preparing the breakfast were kind.

Room Tip: Families should avoid it! No infra-structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Evaldo_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Not a sparkly posh hotel, but it was clean and in a good area. We had a courtyard room so it was pretty quiet. Staff english speaking and very friendly and helpful. We paid £215 for 3 nights for 2 of us and in Paris thats cheap. If you want a flash hotel you need to spend more than double that and why would you want to stay in a hotel room in all day in Paris, get out and about surely thats why you're in Paris!.

A kettle in the room would have been a bonus, if you like a cuppa first thing take a travel kettle.

It would also have been nice to have had a hotel bar but there are plenty of nice pubs near by, one especially nice one had just opened called the coq and bulldog on Rue De Vintmille, run by an anglo/french owner Sasha, very welcoming and friendly a real pub feel in cafe bar Paris.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are queiter, the ones that face the road would be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saratonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Grand Hotel Du Calvados
#1,630 of 1,804 in Paris
74 reviews
New Hotel Opera
#1,295 of 1,804 in Paris
325 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel De Paris Saint Georges
Hotel De Paris Saint Georges
#1,487 of 1,804 in Paris
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Charing Cross
#1,411 of 1,804 in Paris
145 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#91 of 1,804 in Paris
691 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#240 of 1,804 in Paris
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Saint Lazare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Saint Lazare

Address: 53 rue d Amsterdam | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,480 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $76 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Saint Lazare 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Parisian-style building located near Gare Saint Lazare, Opera and major department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Hotel Saint Lazare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardins De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing