We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Hotel Saint Lazare
Ranked #1,491 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was probably one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. I didn't mind the size of the rooms (very small), I didn't mind the lack of fruit for breakfast (I could go and buy at the market), I didn't even mind, although it was frustrating at times, the inability to access wi-fi, however the customer service from the first clerk all the way to manager was atrocious. I took a group of students and the rooms were prepaid a month in advance and they waited till we arrived to tell us we had to pay an additional 15 euros per person (17 of us) since it was a group just in case anyone broke something in the room. Mind you, although some of the people in our group walked into bathrooms where tiles were loose and broken. They also told us that there was a 10 o'clock noise curfew and that should our group break that curfew we would be charged the 15 euros, nevermind that our own room was above the little courtyard and people (not our group) congregated there to talk loudly and laugh etc. Then the last day the mgr. discovered having invoiced us incorrectly a month prior and locked us (the group leaders) from our room to force us to come and take care of their mistake. It was a 420 euro mistake and they wanted to make sure we paid it. Customer service was definitely lacking, not kind, not helpful, I was not happy. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at all. Yes it's in a central place, but, who wants to deal with all the unpleasantness?

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Myrna929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Madam, We thank you for your comment, but during your stay, we discuss many time with you and we do all necessary to let your group spend a pleasant stay in Paris. The procedure for a group was explained, and as we don't have any problem, despite an incindent with one of the girl from your group, the deposit was totaly refunded.. Our staff do his best to satisfy all our guests and to let them spend a good stay in Paris. We hope you could enjoy it also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 384 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2011

I had arranged a long weekend break to Paris and was looking for a good value hotel, close to the centre that wasn’t going to break the bank. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I decided to book.

The rate for the hotel was very reasonable for its location. The rooms themselves were pretty bijou, but that I have been told, is quite common within main cities in Europe.

The hotel was pretty basic; the room was clean and tidy. The only drawback was that there was no shower curtain in the bathroom, so if you weren’t careful the water went everywhere.

There is a small lift which was full when there were two people in it.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

For the price paid, I have no complaints. If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel that you are only using as a place to get your head down for the night then I would recommend it.

There is a Metro Station and bus stop which is literally across the road.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJA_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel´s name is misleading to customers in general, as it is not new!

The bedrooms are small and furnished with an old and cigarette smelly carpet!
The elevator is small, it hardly fits 2 persons!

The service desk at night, seems to be sleeping every time we arrived at night 10p.m., he took forever to answer and open the door!
The WI-FI did not work in the bedroom. We had to go to the front desk to use the WI-FI and then the recepction desk at night, would not let, arguing it was to late to use it.
Finally, when we checked out, the lift did not work!!!!! I had to carry through the stairs, by myself, my suitcases all the way down from the 4th floor!
To be honest, it was not a very satisfying experience for me and my wife, who were in a honeymoon celebration.
I have no desire of coming back to this hotel!

Just to be fair, the morning-afternoon reception clerk was very helpful, and the ladies that worked preparing the breakfast were kind.

Room Tip: Families should avoid it! No infra-structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Evaldo_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Not a sparkly posh hotel, but it was clean and in a good area. We had a courtyard room so it was pretty quiet. Staff english speaking and very friendly and helpful. We paid £215 for 3 nights for 2 of us and in Paris thats cheap. If you want a flash hotel you need to spend more than double that and why would you want to stay in a hotel room in all day in Paris, get out and about surely thats why you're in Paris!.

A kettle in the room would have been a bonus, if you like a cuppa first thing take a travel kettle.

It would also have been nice to have had a hotel bar but there are plenty of nice pubs near by, one especially nice one had just opened called the coq and bulldog on Rue De Vintmille, run by an anglo/french owner Sasha, very welcoming and friendly a real pub feel in cafe bar Paris.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are queiter, the ones that face the road would be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saratonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hotel is as it says a 2 star but it is 4 star for location, price and for desk staff. Rooms are small but if you go to Paris to stay in your room then stay home. We had wifi in our room, but no hairdryer or bathroom plugin. TV had 2 English channels and mostly business/CNN We were 10 minute walk up from Gare Saint Lazare train/metro station, a 3 minute walk from Liege metro station, 10 minutes from restaurants and the Moulon Rouge, and travelling the other way 10 minutes from Lafayette Gallery shopping. Good 30 minute walk with proper directions to Sacre Coeur and the Monmartre artist area(highly recommended) but be prepared for stairs. The Parisennes are masters of the underground trains, very easy to maneuver, and the bus is 30 seconds from the front entrance. With all this location it was still VERY quiet and we slept well. Lots of walking in Paris so wear comfy shoes. Wear what you are comfortable in, there are lots of jeans, leggings/tunic tops and EVERYONE wears some kind of scarf which ties every outfit together. Everyone tries to speak English if you try some French. Never a dull moment especially if you can get to the Eiffel Tower for 9 and 10 pm for the amazing light show.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I went here on a business trip as I was having a meeting in the building next door and the department assitant thougth it could be a good option as it was a "new" hotel. It tourned out that new is just the name of the hotel chain! Old hotel, with small, simple, charmless room. Worse points: strange smell in the room & tiny bathroom so small that it was hard to take a shower or sit on the WC. Low quality breakfast with a very limited choice.

Service was also bad. We arrived early and they asked to come back in an hour, but when we were back at the agreeded time they had again give away the available cleam rooms! Big problem as the lugage room is not locked or surveilled.

Location close to gare st Nazare and the shopping district is the only strong point of this hotel but you can find better options in Paris at a similar price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuu_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The dirtiest ,most disgusting place i have ever been. You wont find such a place in the poorest country.Holes in the carpet dirty walls hair in the sink. I was expecting to find bugs in my bed.For over 100 euros per night this place is a rip off. The service is absent and there is nobody to care.you will like it if you are a fan of horror movies

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sepii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Grand Hotel Du Calvados
#1,631 of 1,802 in Paris
73 reviews
New Hotel Opera
#1,274 of 1,802 in Paris
323 reviews
Hotel Charing Cross
#1,401 of 1,802 in Paris
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera Deauville Hotel
#1,262 of 1,802 in Paris
352 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Grand Hotel de Turin
Grand Hotel de Turin
#1,255 of 1,802 in Paris
603 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#85 of 1,802 in Paris
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Saint Lazare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Saint Lazare

Address: 53 rue d Amsterdam | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,491 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $73 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Saint Lazare 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Parisian-style building located near Gare Saint Lazare, Opera and major department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Hotel Saint Lazare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardins De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing