We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Hotel Saint Lazare
Ranked #1,441 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Value for Money”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I had arranged a long weekend break to Paris and was looking for a good value hotel, close to the centre that wasn’t going to break the bank. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I decided to book.

The rate for the hotel was very reasonable for its location. The rooms themselves were pretty bijou, but that I have been told, is quite common within main cities in Europe.

The hotel was pretty basic; the room was clean and tidy. The only drawback was that there was no shower curtain in the bathroom, so if you weren’t careful the water went everywhere.

There is a small lift which was full when there were two people in it.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

For the price paid, I have no complaints. If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel that you are only using as a place to get your head down for the night then I would recommend it.

There is a Metro Station and bus stop which is literally across the road.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJA_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    118
    126
    58
    39
See reviews for
39
158
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel´s name is misleading to customers in general, as it is not new!

The bedrooms are small and furnished with an old and cigarette smelly carpet!
The elevator is small, it hardly fits 2 persons!

The service desk at night, seems to be sleeping every time we arrived at night 10p.m., he took forever to answer and open the door!
The WI-FI did not work in the bedroom. We had to go to the front desk to use the WI-FI and then the recepction desk at night, would not let, arguing it was to late to use it.
Finally, when we checked out, the lift did not work!!!!! I had to carry through the stairs, by myself, my suitcases all the way down from the 4th floor!
To be honest, it was not a very satisfying experience for me and my wife, who were in a honeymoon celebration.
I have no desire of coming back to this hotel!

Just to be fair, the morning-afternoon reception clerk was very helpful, and the ladies that worked preparing the breakfast were kind.

Room Tip: Families should avoid it! No infra-structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Evaldo_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Not a sparkly posh hotel, but it was clean and in a good area. We had a courtyard room so it was pretty quiet. Staff english speaking and very friendly and helpful. We paid £215 for 3 nights for 2 of us and in Paris thats cheap. If you want a flash hotel you need to spend more than double that and why would you want to stay in a hotel room in all day in Paris, get out and about surely thats why you're in Paris!.

A kettle in the room would have been a bonus, if you like a cuppa first thing take a travel kettle.

It would also have been nice to have had a hotel bar but there are plenty of nice pubs near by, one especially nice one had just opened called the coq and bulldog on Rue De Vintmille, run by an anglo/french owner Sasha, very welcoming and friendly a real pub feel in cafe bar Paris.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are queiter, the ones that face the road would be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saratonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hotel is as it says a 2 star but it is 4 star for location, price and for desk staff. Rooms are small but if you go to Paris to stay in your room then stay home. We had wifi in our room, but no hairdryer or bathroom plugin. TV had 2 English channels and mostly business/CNN We were 10 minute walk up from Gare Saint Lazare train/metro station, a 3 minute walk from Liege metro station, 10 minutes from restaurants and the Moulon Rouge, and travelling the other way 10 minutes from Lafayette Gallery shopping. Good 30 minute walk with proper directions to Sacre Coeur and the Monmartre artist area(highly recommended) but be prepared for stairs. The Parisennes are masters of the underground trains, very easy to maneuver, and the bus is 30 seconds from the front entrance. With all this location it was still VERY quiet and we slept well. Lots of walking in Paris so wear comfy shoes. Wear what you are comfortable in, there are lots of jeans, leggings/tunic tops and EVERYONE wears some kind of scarf which ties every outfit together. Everyone tries to speak English if you try some French. Never a dull moment especially if you can get to the Eiffel Tower for 9 and 10 pm for the amazing light show.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I went here on a business trip as I was having a meeting in the building next door and the department assitant thougth it could be a good option as it was a "new" hotel. It tourned out that new is just the name of the hotel chain! Old hotel, with small, simple, charmless room. Worse points: strange smell in the room & tiny bathroom so small that it was hard to take a shower or sit on the WC. Low quality breakfast with a very limited choice.

Service was also bad. We arrived early and they asked to come back in an hour, but when we were back at the agreeded time they had again give away the available cleam rooms! Big problem as the lugage room is not locked or surveilled.

Location close to gare st Nazare and the shopping district is the only strong point of this hotel but you can find better options in Paris at a similar price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuu_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The dirtiest ,most disgusting place i have ever been. You wont find such a place in the poorest country.Holes in the carpet dirty walls hair in the sink. I was expecting to find bugs in my bed.For over 100 euros per night this place is a rip off. The service is absent and there is nobody to care.you will like it if you are a fan of horror movies

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sepii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Lobby has nothing to do with rooms and breakfast room. Rooms are durty, ridiculous and bathrooms too small. Taking a shower was an adventure

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardomingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
New Hotel Opera
#1,277 of 1,802 in Paris
305 reviews
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,052 of 1,802 in Paris
317 reviews
Alexandrine Opera
#1,146 of 1,802 in Paris
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
#946 of 1,802 in Paris
236 reviews
Hotel de Geneve
#1,140 of 1,802 in Paris
243 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Calvados
#1,570 of 1,802 in Paris
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Saint Lazare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Saint Lazare

Property: New Hotel Saint Lazare
Address: 53 rue d Amsterdam | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,441 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Saint Lazare 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Parisian-style building located near Gare Saint Lazare, Opera and major department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Saint Lazare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardins De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing