We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Madeleine
Ranked #780 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed her for one night whilst on business. The room was tiny and I mean like a box room for E170 and breakfast was not included. The rooms and bathroom were clean.
The reception staff were friendly but when I asked for an iron and iron board (none in the rooms) they couldn't find one !
I'm glad I only stayed for one night. Would not return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jez W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Google Translation
Chère Madame,

Ce petit mot pour vous remercier de vos commentaires. Vous avez apprécié la sympathie de notre équipe, la propreté de nos chambres et nous en sommes ravis. Nous avons aussi fait le nécessaire et avons augmenté le nombre de fer à repasser pour les prêter à nos clients. Concernant la superficie de nos chambres, nous vous invitons à tester nos Chambres Privilèges de taille supérieure. Bien à vous. Barbara Naud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    322
    199
    66
    29
See reviews for
105
320
80
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed here for my first trip in Paris for the Half Marathon, needless to say I was given top advice from the receptionist who was more than happy to explain where to go and when to avoid queues and get the best of my weekend in le pari! I had a top floor room with a roof terrace which was fantastic. Unfortunately the room had a smokey air to it, even though I asked for a non smoking room, but it wasn't too much of an issue. The lift to the top floor could be bigger, same goes for the room, but Paris is renown for its smaller rooms unless you're willing to pay top dollar. The service was absolutely outstanding and I highly recommend staying here to anyone who hasn't visited paris before, or is like myself and travelling alone. It is located near metro stations at Concorde which will take you almost anywhere in Paris. The location is also quiet so not too much traffic noise during the evenings but close enough to major roads not to feel distant. To top off the stay if you're anything like me and eat constantly whilst travelling then there is a bakery across the road where I highly recommend grabbing un baguette or un croissant for your short walk to the metro and beyond. Explore Opera on a Saturday to see its true hustle and bustle or if you enjoy quieter times of the day then go there on a Sunday or weekday. You won't be disappointed at the Mercure. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willistay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having taken time by writing your very positive comments on our establishment. I transmit them of course to all my team. Know that your appreciation encourages us and motivates us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was a special trip, we were going back to Paris to celebrate our 15 wedding anniversary. A couple of years ago we stayed at the Mercure Tour Eiffel and loved it. This time we wanted to be an a different area so we chose another Mercure near Place de la Madeleine but to our disappointment this property was not what we expected. The room was so tiny that you could not open the closet door completely since the bed was les than 2 feet from it. The bathroom was equally small, shower stall was 2'x2' so washing your hair was les than a nightmare. They only changed our sheets 1 during a 5 night stay. Buffet was 18€ and only had scramble eggs, bacon, sausage and old looking pastry, awful compared to the delicious and abundant breakfast served at Tour Eifell even before the renovation. Front desk staff was unfriendly and not always there. They have to buzz you in an on a couple of occasions we had to wait almost 10 minutes before someone let us in. Do not stay there! There are about 3 or 4 hotels on the same block that were a lot better.

I would note however that right across there is a small cafe, I think the name was Chez Josefine that serves a delicious breakfast for a few euros.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audreyppf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dears Guests,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
Your comments are essential to us because your satisfaction during your stay is our principal reason.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Concerning the size of the rooms we suggest you to taste ours Privilege rooms, they are bigger and more comfortable.

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Naud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was close to a metro station. each day we had to go a meeting which we could reach with metro easely without changing lanes. The hotel was very clean, friendly staff, but very expensive related to the very small room we had. (above 200 euro a night). Breakfast we had to pay extra for 18 euro. A nice and intiem bar, but on sunday and monday closed. Next time we shall look for another hotel, bigger room for a smaller price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AddeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dears Customers,
We thank you for your comments and are delighted by your appreciation of the hotel and by the staff. Concerning the rates, we suggest you to reserve the offers prepaid because they are more attractive.
We hope we can welcome you again in our hotel soon.
Yours,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel and service were fabulous. We arrived hours before we could check in but the man at reception found us a room which NEVER happens. He was probably the nicest and most friendly concierge I have ever met. He helped us with everything. Service is definitely an A+. The room itself was very spacious as well as the bathroom which us hard to come by in the center if paris. Mini fridge was complimentary and there were a ton of free toiletries. The only down side is that room was a little bit outdated, but everything else was fantastic!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear customers,
You appreciated your stay in our establishment and we thank you for communicating this opinion. I'll translete your compliments to our staff and believe me your comments will motivate them to make every effort to keep your trust.
Thank you again.
Barbara Naud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#408 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Opera
Hotel Royal Opera
#1,355 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
#312 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Concortel
Hotel Concortel
#412 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Mathurin Hotel & Spa Paris
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordelia
Hotel Cordelia
#713 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Madeleine

Property: Hotel Royal Madeleine
Address: 29 rue de l Arcade, 75008 Paris, France (Formerly Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#388 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Royal Madeleine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing