We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny rooms, huge price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Madeleine
Ranked #793 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms, huge price”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Tiny clean rooms to pricing of the double. They have a "stock market pricing policy", which makes the price fluctuate between 200 and 350 Euros over the week. If you pay 200 it might be worth a 3 star, but the claimed 4 star goes to 2 when you pay 350 and breakfast is not included. WiFi is included though, and there is a little bar with intermittent service. Didn't have breakfast, so I can't say anything about that. But McDonalds serves breakfast 1030-1130 around the corner for 2 Euros, and there are a bunch of small places around Gare Saint-Lazar where you can have coffee and a croisant for 5 Euros

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sredna3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    322
    199
    66
    29
See reviews for
105
320
80
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. I'm used to stay quite often in the accor chain but this one beats all in substandard service: unhelpfull personnel especially at check-in counter, rooms not cleaned until 4pm, no late check-out! Expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is very difficult to find a “value for money” hotel in central Paris, but this is the one!
The room we stayed was Privilege Room and it was very clean and spacious for Paris standard.
Amenity was good, towel + bath robe were new and clean.
Complimentary bottles of water + juice in the fridge. I am not sure about the paper cups for coffee/tea though. I personally prefer china cups for my tea.
We were surprised about the quality of Breakfast as well! There were some organic(bio) options as well!
Overall very pleasant stay and we will come back again 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have spent two nights in the hotel

The not so good
- Size of the room: it is not big, but well, it is Paris.... Room is the same size as similar hotel in Tokyo
- Shower was a bit small. I am not a big guy, just tal with long arms. Lots of bang in the plastic cover.
- Desk is tiny

The good:
- location is perfect
- very good wine bar close to the hotel
- clean room
- OK bed
- view from the room (stayed in the room with the roof view)
- free wireless internet

To my opinion the room is expensive was what you get. It is only about the location.
For the next stay, I have booked the Pullman hotel in Bercy. A bit further away, but much better (well, without a nice view)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Definitely a budget hotel, like an IBIS. However location is really good, being only 10 minutes from the Gare Du Nord and 8 minutes from the Champs Elysee. Service was shocking however, as according to the terms of the arrangement, the check in time was 12pm. I arrived at 2pm and the rooms were not ready. I had a meeting down town at 3pm and wanted to change and have a shower in the room before heading out. This is a direct breach of the terms of the accommodation agreement.

The front desk staff was not at all apologetic and adopted a "what can I do attitude". It was extremely frustrating. He asked me to go for lunch and come back later, but time was running out as I had to go for my meeting and I had nowhere to freshen up.

Room was modern but completely bare. No fridge. Lighting was minimal. Extremely budget. I have always supported the Accor group but this is the worst experience I have had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

very near Madeline, Gallery laffayte department store, concorde.. and very easy to go anywhere'

Great location and the pretty good good cleanliness.

But there's no refrigerator in standard room, even though it's a 4 star hotel.
And the staffs are not so kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyoungsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#420 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Opera
Hotel Royal Opera
#1,360 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
#311 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Concortel
Hotel Concortel
#414 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Mathurin Hotel & Spa Paris
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordelia
Hotel Cordelia
#707 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Madeleine

Property: Hotel Royal Madeleine
Address: 29 rue de l Arcade, 75008 Paris, France (Formerly Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#393 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Royal Madeleine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing