We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel which we will use again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysees Opera
Ranked #1,110 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel which we will use again”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful. A small problem with a room was sorted out very quickly and efficiently. There is 24 hour service. The rooms are comfortable and whilst not huge were more than adequate for a Paris stay. The airconditioning worked well (it was 30C during our stay) and, importantly for me, it was not too noisy. The street is quiet and the curtains cut out light. Shower room and the toilet, which was separate, were modern and clean.
The hotel is in a good position with metro and bus access just 5 minutes walk away. Shops, Opera, Concord and Monmartre were all within easy walking distance.

Breakfast is self service and there was a variety of choices including a choice of breads and buns and a toaster, which for me is always a positive and not always available in France. Although there is no table service there was always a member of staff around ensuing tables were clean and filling up gaps in the buffet and the lady who was working during our time there was delightful. Coffee is from a machine and therefore always freshly ground with a good choice of options. Only crticism is lack of fresh fruit. We thought the option to make a sandwich or roll for lunch from the breakfast buffet for a nominal 2E was a really good idea.

We were a group of 8 friends and all thought we would use the hotel again when in Paris.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot1794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    153
    35
    11
    16
See reviews for
30
179
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This was a very good hotel for the money - very clean and comfortable but a little ont he noisy side. Well located with access to several Metro stations and walkable distance to Montmartre. Price also included breakfast. However only downside is it did not have tea and coffee making facilities - that would have been good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAL99186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We booked this hotel as part of a 4-day Eurostar package via the Sunday Times. It is very clean and the staff are very friendly and approachable. Try to speak a little French, even if it is only "bonjour". It will be appreciated. We had a standard room, which is big enough for two people,especially by Paris standards. The location is good. It's in the 8th arrondissement and within easy walking distance of two metro stations, Place de Clichy and Liege, which are on different lines,so that opens your options when travelling further afield.
You can easily get to the Moulin Rouge and Montmartre on foot and there is a good atmosphere at night if you want to round your day off locally. However, the hotel is not on a noisy street. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, from brasseries to restaurants to fast food, something for everyone. The hotel has a room service menu, but we didn't use it. A useful thing to note is that you can leave your luggage on the day of departure and collect it when you are ready to travel. If I want to be picky, which I don't, because this is a good hotel, I would say that it lets itself down by not having tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and the toilet was in a separate room to the sink and shower at the opposite side of the room. Breakfast is standard continental. All in all a good hotel for the price, and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money, a standard room is perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coral1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

15 min walk from the information centre for L'Open tour (hop on hop off bus), close to moulin rouge, nice cafes/bars, very friendly staff. good hotel but the room was small, its good if you don't plan on staying in your room for long. no air-conditioning though, not fun on a 33 degree weekend.

Room Tip: we think all the rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lj241290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed in a small but very clean double room over a long weekend. Found the staff friendly and helpful yet unobtrusive. We had a problem with a pay-per-view film and the cost was refunded without question or hassle. One star lost for two reasons: the towels were pretty poor quality and very small, and the breakfast was not as advertised (no hot dishes). However, would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a package deal, don't go direct with hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We turned up to book in and our room wasnt ready, which was fine as we made ourselves busy. The first night we sweated in our room as the air con didnt work, when we asked the next day, we were told that it was uncharacteristically hot so we were not entitled to aircon, even though they say they have it in the room. When we checked in we were told there was breakfast included each day, to which we each had a basic croissant and coffee. When we went to check out we were charged 15 euro each for breakfast by the lady, when we explained that we had been told it was included and that we hadnt eaten each morning she turned rude and nasty and started yelling at us.
We felt so threatened that even though our train left that night, our things werent safe so we went and checked into another hotel for the day.

I have travelled for 4 years and never been spoken to so rudely like this lady from the hotel did. She was so rude. We had a poor shower and our breakfast was a rip off. We kept asking for internet and they said they had it but we couldnt connect.

There are so many better places to stay in Paris and not have to out up with someone yelling at you like this lady did.. I have never ever come across this. and I am always polite.

Room Tip: Dont stay hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chloe197777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. Its location was very good. From the hotel you can reach several metro stations and railway station by foot in a short period of time. Especially it is important to say that the staff of the hotel was very helpful and helped us a lot in planning our stay in Paris.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azerbaijan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Berne Opera
#330 of 1,801 in Paris
557 reviews
Champerret Elysees
#616 of 1,801 in Paris
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
#1,010 of 1,801 in Paris
421 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Edouard 6
Hotel Edouard 6
#666 of 1,801 in Paris
282 reviews
Alexandrine Opera
#1,153 of 1,801 in Paris
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysees Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysees Opera

Property: Hotel Elysees Opera
Address: 17 rue de Turin | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#455 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elysees Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elysees Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel America Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing