We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture
Ranked #338 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Could have been better?”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location is not bad, 5 minutes from the Champs Elysee, which you would hope would keep the price down, but it was still expensive. We stayed here in 1996 and I think it was a 3-star in need of help, with no bar or lounge area of substance, but the price was fair. I was hoping that the change of owner and star upgrade in the last few years would have improved the ambiance, but there is still no bar, the breakfast room has no natural light and the free soft drink/snack option, what little there was, turned out to be a "once-every-three-nights" deal. They were, however, efficient and kind enough to not only cover our request for a high-Eiffel Tower-facing room but also, as a result, we also got an upgrade to a 7th-floor room with decking giving a super view over the rooftops.

It is just a shame that the overall offering, although clean, still seems 3-star, rather than 4, and it desperately needs a bar to provide a focal-point place to come back to after a long day, or night, out. At least the parking area, if you have a car, although capital-city-expensive, is secure and right next door.

Room Tip: Aim for a high front/Eiffel Tower-facing room to get a view above the rooftops rather than the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoesBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOUIEB, Directeur général at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued Customer,

First and foremost we wish to thank you for the time you took to write this comment.

We took good note of your comments and your suggestions which will help us in our daily efforts to improve and maintain our service.

Since 1996 this property has been subject to a massive investment to renovate all the rooms and common areas.

Our breakfast room, since beginning of 2013 has finally day light, and we regret that you did not noticed it.

Our daily efforts are in place to upgrade our product to meet and exceed our guests expectaions.

So, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our property in the very next future, hoping that you will find it up to your satisfaction.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Rooms division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    415
    117
    46
    29
See reviews for
182
473
61
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My 14yrs old son and I have just returned form a 3 day break in Paris and we stayed at this hotel (room 607). I was a bit worried as I had read some of the reviews and hoped that they were not all true.
1) The lift is small only designed for 3 persons max with a weight limit of 225kg so if you are on the large side there is going to be an issue.
2) the hotel room we had was a 'superior twin room', while it was spotless, the beds very comfortable,the bathroom also spotless with a wonderful selection of toiletries and a free non alcoholic complimentary mini bar, there were some issues. The main one being that the hotel is currently undergoing some renovation on the outside and so our view was spoilt by scaffolding directly outside our room. This in turn meant that we were unable to have the window open especially when our next door neighbour ignored the no smoking policy and stuck our room our with their tobacco fumes. The only mirror in the room is in the bathroom and ladies if you are using straighteners you will first have to play hunt a power socket as there was only two that I could find - one for the kettle/tv.
3) The breakfast provides a lovely selection of hot and cold foods, infact the scrambled eggs was the best I have ever tasted.
4) The reception staff were all very friendly and spoke good english.
All in all you have to make your own mind up - personally although I have highlighted a few issues, I would recommend this hotel for a short break as it is very comfortable and within easy reach of the sights ( the Eiffel Tower is a good 45 min walk from the hotel).
One last thing if you are wanting to go up the Eiffel Tower do jump the line tickets ( through Viator) it is the best thing you can do - we did this and booked for 9am we arrived at 830am to observe a que of approx 1/2 mile long of people waiting for the ticket office to open not good..

Room Tip: If you ask for a high floor you can get a good view of the local area and if you are really lucky a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thornfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOUIEB, Directeur général at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued Customer,

First and foremost we wish to thank you for the time you took to write this comment.

We took good note of your comments and your suggestions which will help us in our daily efforts to improve and maintain our service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our property in the very next future.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Rooms division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

On arrival, a very stony faced porter (Christophe) made us feel unwelcome (almost like entering into a military academy). The receptionist (Pascal) who had a rude attitude provided us with very little information about our stay. To add to our disappointment, the hotel had no room ready for us although we had booked well in advance. A senior manager (Raphael) on duties had to step in after we complained before we were put in a room. She apologised for the blunder caused by her staff on duty after putting things right. It was very disappointing experience for my wife and I where the very basic service seemed difficult to be carried out by the staff on duty. We will surely not be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: A very small hotel - website pictures can be deceiving
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOUIEB, Directeur général at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued Customer,

First and foremost we wish to thank you for the time you took to write this comment.

We took good note of your comments and of your suggestions which will help us in our daily efforts to improve and mantain our service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our property in the very next future to be able to show you that we worth your patronage.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Rooms division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We hade a ok stay in this hotel. Like a lot of hotels in Paris it is overpriced, but has a very central location. There are more friendly and cosy neighbourhoods in Paris to stay though.

Hotel ok in terms of rooms, cleanliness etc. I checked out and forgot my scarf in the hotel wardrobe. I send an email the next day and called the hotel. They told me that the did not talk to housekeeping yet had read my mail were working on it. I again send a mail three days later. Nobody bothered to contact me or mail me which I find very dissapoiting from a hotel of this price range. Why is it so difficult to respons to your paying costumer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOUIEB, Directeur général at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

we wish to thank you for sharing your comment with this community and would like to inform you that, as soon as we received your mail about the skarf you forgot to our hotel, once we have checked with our housekeeping we answered you to arrange for shipping it back to you.

I was personally informed about it and regret to learn that you felt that we had no follow up in our customers' relations.

We took good note about your comment and will make sure to optimize our procédures in order to be more reactive in such cases.

Thank you for your feedback which will help us to always improve our guest relations.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Rooms division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, BC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I find all the hotels in Paris to be fairly expensive and have fairly small rooms. Relative to other Paris hotels, this one had good value. It is a quality hotel with good service. Like all the other hotels I've used in France, it had a tiny elevator. Not a big deal though. It had a nice location being fairly close to the Champs Elysees. Very quite, clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepFrozenCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOUIEB, Directeur général at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

first and foremost we wish to thank you for the time you took for sharing this comment with us.

your feedback represents the most valuable source of motivation for our team which works on a daily basis to attend and exceed our customers' expectations.

We look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you to our property in the very next future.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Rooms division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Loved this little hotel in the middle of Paris, and was so romantic, we could see the Eiffel Tower from our room! The breakfast buffet was lovely.

Although it took us 3 times to ask about our free champagne to finally get it. Also the hotel wine is awful and it's like 13 euros for a half bottle, just ask at the place where you are going to eat in the evening and they will sell you a bottle to take back for half the price,

Staff are a touch rude upon arrival but I warmed to the, in the end there were very helpful when we wanted to book a restaurant. It is I've a 5 minute walk to the closes metro but it not too bad.

Room Tip: Fourth floor and above n u can see the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryM726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOUIEB, Directeur général at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

we wieh to thank you for having shared your comments with this community and wish to apologize for the inconvenience you had about our free glass of champagne which you finally got.

We took note about your comment concerning our wine and sorry to learn that you did not appreciate our price for it, but glad that you found what you were looking for.

We are glad and wish to thank you about your positive feedback concerning our hotel.

We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Rooms division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just had my first night of 3, great nights sleep, great dinner just 80m down the road. Some reviews complain about the lift and small afternoon tea service, I dare say they are large Americans. Free afternoon tea haven't had anything at any other hotels so can't complain and as for the lift, yes it's small but who cares your in it for 10 seconds. Will be coming back whenever in Paris

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budge86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOUIEB, Directeur général at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Cstomer,

first and foremost we wish to thank you for the time you took to share your experience.

Your comments are the most valuable source of motivation for our team and tell us that we are doing well.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to our property.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Rooms division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture
Royal Garden Champs Elysees
#879 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
#380 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
#229 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture
Address: 214 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#318 Family Hotel in Paris
#331 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#413 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore is located on Rue du Faubourg St Honore, near the Place de l'Etoile and the Arc de Triomphe, and just afex minutes away from the Champs Elysees. It is a hotel that combines elegance and modernity in a very Parisian style. Each of the 85 rooms including 9 Junior Suite displays a very strong attention to detail and features cutting-edge technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Etoile Saint Honore Hotel Paris
Best Western Etoile Saint Honore
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing