We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location; nice (small) room; delicious breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Francois 1er

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Francois 1er
Ranked #181 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient location; nice (small) room; delicious breakfast!”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Very convenient location for tourists. Close to Champes Elysee as well as many public transportation stops. An easy walk to the Louvre and other attractions along the river.

Room was small but nicely decorated and felt very "French." The breakfast was SPECTACULAR - delicious and with a huge variety of foods.

A good value if you get a deal; we booked through a promotion where we bought three discounted nights and got an additional night free on top of that. Also, we were on our honeymoon and told them so ahead of time and at our check-in, but received no special upgrades or anything.

The only downside were the concierges - both of the men we spoke with didn't seem eager to help or give information.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psiloveya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    171
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
69
337
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Just back from Paris for a special trip to celebrate my wife's 40th. Hotel is beautifully decorated and staff are very friendly and helpful. I would have given 5 stars but for the room. I had paid extra for an executive room which was supposed to come with a King's sized bed. However, it was two singles pushed together!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConCan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My wife and I spent six nights at the Francois 1er in September 2009. We enjoyed our stay however we will probably consider other hotels on future visits to Paris.

First the positive aspects of our stay -

1. Location: The hotel's location cannot be beat. It is only a few steps from the Champs-Elysees and the George V metro stop which made getting around in the city very easy. There are plenty of dinining options within waling distance of the hotel. In additon, the Arc de Triomphe is a short 5-10 minute walk away.

2. Service: The hotel's staff (particularly the dining room staff) is great and went out of their way to be of service. Whether it was providing directions to area sites or answering general questions about Paris the hotel staff was a pleasure to deal with and always helpful.

3. Breakfast: The hotel had a terrific breakfast each morning. The selection and quality was outstanding and was a great way to start the day.

Now for the down side to our stay:

1. We stayed in room 502. While the room was nicely decorated and furnished we experienced several problems. First, the water in the shower routinely alternated between very hot and very cold each day. At first we thought this may have been a fluke with many people using the showers in the hotel at the same time. After it happened every day and at varying times during the day we realized it was a problem. While it was not a huge deal it was very inconvenient and should not have been an issue in a hotel such as the Francois 1er.

2. The walls in the hotel room are very thin - so much so that we were awakened four out of six nights by noise coming from the guests in the adjacent rooms. While I understand you cannot eliminate all noises we were able to hear every word of conversations (and one heated argument) happening next door. For this reason it was difficult to get a good night sleep on most nights during our stay. After doing a tremendous amount of sight seeing (and walking) we truly valued a good night of sleep. Unfortunately, we were not able to get much during our stay.

For these reasons we will probably consider staying at another hotel the next time we are in Paris. If, however, the hotel could remedy the hot/cold water issue and provide some better sound insullation between the rooms we would be thrilled to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GSPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa florida USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

While some don't attach much importance to a hotel past a place to sleep a few hours each night, others consider the hotel part of the vacation experience and they enjoy having an attractive room, a good staff, a good location, a good buffet breakfast and other amenities which make their stay memorable. My wife and I are members of the latter group. Yes, these hotels cost a little more, but you get what you pay for.

We spent 6 nights at the Francois 1er the last week in August, 2009, and agree with the huge majority of guests who rated the hotel excellent or very good. We booked an executive room which was comparable in size to a standard room in a typical hotel in the USA owned by a big hotel chain. (But large by usual Paris measurements)


The hotel is located in a safe, clean, and quiet area. It is just steps to Avenue George V which intersects the Champs des Elysees around 200 or so meters away. It is about 100 meters away to the nearest Bus stop on Avenue Marceau. We found the Bus a good way to get around while viewing beautiful scenery along way, which is not seen on the RER or the Metro. You can buy single ride tickets from the bus driver for about 1.3 Euros each. The nearest Metro stop is The George V located on the Champ des Elysees at the corner of Bassano. Cash machines are in all directions from the hotel a short walk away.

Housekeeping at the hotel is immaculate. The restrooms next to the little public bar are spotless and have a fresh soft terry cloth hand towel for each comer. Sure beats the tiny paper towels seen elsewhere. When we returned to our room in the afternoon the maids always had everything straightened up, and the marble bath was shining like a diamond. They cheerfully
brought more towels when requested.

Breakfast at the cozy little dining room was one of the daily high points of our stay. The buffet which was included with the room when we booked at GTAhotels.com was delightful. Beautifully displayed were many types of delicious cheeses, meats such as ham, Canadian bacon, and smoked sausages, a dozen or so types of bread, rolls and pastries, fresh fruit salad, fresh apples, oranges, cereals like corn flakes and others, fresh squeezed fruit juices, boiled and scrambled eggs, and more offerings that I don’t remember offhand. And it was all delicious.

Now the staff. They were always smiling, polite, and helpful. One example is when we arrived in the early morning from a long overnight flight from the USA like most do. Normal check in time is after 1:00 PM, and they would have been well within their rights to politely tell us to come back several hours later. But they didn’t. Our room wasn’t ready so they offered to move us into an alternate room which was ready, and they would move us the next day to our designated room. Since we needed a nap and a little cleaning up we accepted their offer willingly. We felt like we had been delivered. Other examples were when they made phone calls to locate a couple of places we wanted to go.

This is a first class hotel just a step down from the half a dozen or so luxurious palace level hotels in Paris such as the Crillon, Four Seasons, Athenee, Ritz, Meurice, Bristol and one or two more, priced at twice as much or more than the Francois 1er.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tampaboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, RU
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Just spent 3 nights at this lovely property as a 'rehearsal' before the anniversary trip to Paris in September with my husband. I was in Paris in early August just by chance with my friend and was happy to get a great deal for Francois 1er.
So now I am sure - that is the perfect place for romantic trip stay in Paris!! I enjoyed absolutely EVERYTHING though I travel much and being a very picky traveller.
Location is great - you are in the center of everything and you can sleep peacefully in the night as the hotel is in the quiet street.
Our standart (classic) room was small but furnished with an exclusive and elegant taste and high level of comfort. The minibar is rather rich and reasonable. The bathroom and toiletteries were lovely as well.
I can double all good reviews about the breakfast.
The atmosphere in the hotel is very cosy and warm, I felt like a dear guest.
All the staff are so friendly and helpful.....and here I really felt the genuine hospitality which is not easily found nowdays in such a touristic city as Paris.

I am looking forward to returning to Francois 1er soon! Compliments to all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mger, Guest relations manager at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Dear Magdina,

Thank you very much for your review and your loyalty to our hotel!!! My team and I will be very happy to welcome you back with your husband this time!
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you might need any assistance.

Best regards,

Soufiane Ghezouti
Guest relation Mg
sghezouti@hotel-francois1er.fr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ash Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Having worked an played in Paris over the years I have stayed n asome good and some bad hotels in my time. This is by far the best and well deserves its 4 star rating.
If ytou want ahotel close to the lively Champs and yest quiet, this is it. We had room 407, set at the back, but let that not be the story, as te street this hotel resides in is quiet and it is literally a two minute stroll ti the Lois Vitton store and the heart of the wonderful Elysees.
The room and hotel is very clean, rooms beautifully cared for, and teh staff a delight.
In hotel costs, drinks etc, are on a par with Paris generally - expensive! But that is the same all over now. the decor is....wild, but I loved its quirkyness especially as it was all so clean, everywhere - and a great breakfast buffet to boot!
I would certainly recommend a meal in the Renault store - really, it will delight you in exceeding your expectations. The L'Alsace a little near by is a treat, especially if you like fish.
If you are new to Paris - do the bus trip and the Batobus boat tour, both are hop on hop off, the busses using a colour code that you will get the hang off changing routes where they intersect (like the metro).
Do the Louvre after lunch, mid week (not Tuesdays) or if you are pushed for time, forget it and go the the Musee d'Orsay - wow!
But having said ll that - stay here, the hotel will add to the enjoymement of your stay!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanforddjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Hotel Francois prides itself on good service. The staff is very friendly and spoke excellent English. They were helpful with resturant recommendations, tours of the city, directions on how to use the Metro system and directtions to anywhere in Paris. This is particularly helpful when it is your first visit to Paris.
Our room was on the top (6th) floor and overlooked a small green garden below. It was quite comfortable with lovely bed linens and deluxe pillows and a beautiflly appointed bathroom. It was not a disappointment to our expectations after viewing their website. We particularly enjoyed the small bar and sitting room where you could enjoy a glass of wine or cold beer after a long day of sightseeing. The breakfast room was a delight and the continental breakfast delicious. Ahhhh...the French know how to make a good cup of coffee. If you enjoy staying at small, charming hotels then this is for you. It is located on a quiet side street in an excellent area of Paris. It is several blocks to the Champs Eleysee and some great shopping. The Louvre is also within walking distance as are many other areas that are fun to explore. We also found wonderful resturants within walking distance. There is a Metro stop close by and also a stop for the double-decker tour bus which is a good idea for the first visit to Paris.
We enjoyed everything about this hotel and would be happy to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethG46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Mger, Soufiane Ghezouti - Guest Relation Mg at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, August 10, 2009
Dear ElizabethG46,

On behalf of my colleagues and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel.

We are grateful that you have shared with us positives impressions from that time spent with us.

Thank you for recognizing our quality of service and for our food which we improve every day.

Hope that you will choose our hotel for your next stay in Paris.

Best regards,

Soufiane Ghezouti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#42 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#208 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
#380 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
#224 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#54 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Champs-Elysees
West-End Hotel
West-End Hotel
#47 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francois 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francois 1er

Property: Hotel Francois 1er
Address: 7 rue Magellan | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#157 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#192 Business Hotel in Paris
#297 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Francois 1er 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel with beautiful appointments set in restored townhouse dating from 1900 - 3 blocks to Arc de Triomphe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Francois 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francois 1er Hotel
Francois 1er Paris
Hotel Francois Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing