We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Parisian experience”
Review of Hotel Francois 1er

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Francois 1er
Ranked #192 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“True Parisian experience”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This is an upscale boutique hotel with immaculate touches of French deco. Location is prime to many attractions as well as easy access to the metro. Upon check in they were overbooked and had to send me to a sister hotel that was very close but made up for it with an upgrade to an Executive room, free champagne, speedy laundry service as well as attending to my every need. All staff knew my name and were very knowledgeable and very friendly. The only negative I could say is there were some stains on the carpet in my room. Note that this is an expensive area for food and drink even compared to normal Paris standards. Great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jman4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KepplerManager, Directeur général at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen our hotel for you stay in Paris and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor.
We have started to redecorate the François 1er hotel and all the carpets with stains will be completely changed. You are completely right that this area is already very expensive one so the least we can do is to give the best service and impeccable rooms for our guests.

We all wish you a wonderful autumn.
Kind regards
Alain Lagarrigue & Rita Nouvel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    173
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
70
340
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Far Hills, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This boutique hotel was just what I was looking for. On a quiet street near the Champs E. , the Hotel Francois has charm, beautiful interior, and exceptional service. The rooms were generous, the bathrooms full of top notch toiletries, and the breakfast buffet filled with scrumptious offerings. I cannot compliment the staff enough. The front desk was helpful with taxi service, restaurant recommendations and even had a left-behind pair of eyeglasses shipped to me after I checked out. Housekeeping did a great job too. This will be my go-to hotel in Paris.
Thank you all at Hotel Francois! You are the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janisevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Hotel Francois 1ER 7, rue de Magellan, Paris, France

We have just returned from an 8 night stay in the beautiful Francois 1ER on Rue Magellan in Paris. We had an Executive Room with a king size bed on the 3rd floor. Breakfast was in the beautifully appointed bottom floor room with hot tea or coffee and pastries, fruit, cereal, etc.

We loved the location of this hotel right off the Champs Elysees and close to the George V Metro stop. What we loved most about this hotel was the small intimate atmosphere. The concierge always greeted us by name whenever we entered or exited the hotel, helped us with dinner reservations and suggestions for sightseeing & transportation. There is a small room with a computer and printer for guests use. Also there is a bar and 2 living areas for guests to use. The staff always made us feel welcome and taken care of. We would definitely stay here on future trips to Paris. Charming, friendly and beautiful small hotel in a lovely area of Paris.

Room Tip: Our room was # 304. A lovely, quiet room with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trip Advisor from Dallas, TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last year for a family birthday.

The rooms were rather average nothing very special or luxurious about them.

My mother was running a bath and the whole bathroom flooded due to a leak the hotel insisted the room would be fine if they could clean up the mess this was totally not acceptable. Thus after much deliberation from the hotel my parents waited for over an hour to get a different room!

The breakfast was poor and service throughout the hotel was not at all what you would expect from a 2* hotel let alone a 4* hotel.

My mothers shoes were taken from her room we do not know who took them, whether it was a cleaner or another member of staff from the hotel yet nothing was done about this.

We will not be staying in this hotel again and I would highly advise people to stay away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gossipgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KepplerManager, Directeur général at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Unfortunately we have no record of a stay with these incidents in the Francois 1er. Could you kindly check that you chose the correct hotel to write this view. We also contacted TripAdvisor to tell them that this doesn't concern us if you could post it to the right place. We thank you kindly.

Have a wonderful summer.
Alain Lagarrigue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights here for our 10th Anniversary. I would really recommend this small, slightly expensive but really convenient hotel. Being just 2 minutes walk from the metro makes this an ideal place from which to explore Paris.

The breakfast was very good and included in the price we paid. The staff weer very attentive, especially the barman, who always had time for a few welcoming words.

I would say that the room (403) that we stayed in could do with a little make over (just a few tatty marks etc), however the facilities were fine.

All in all, a good place to put down your weary head.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor you can, as there is some road noise early morning like most big cities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NobbyNov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KepplerManager, Directeur général at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for having stayed with us and shared your experience on TripAdvisor.
We have good news for you. All the rooms with a 3 like 403 will be extierely redecorated starting this summer. Our interior designer Pierre Yves ROCHON has created fantastic new style for those rooms. We'd be happy to welcome you next time!

Have a great summer!
Alain Lagarrigue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I would definitely stay here again even though the view is non-existent. The location is very good... Just off the Champs Elysees, and the service is very good; so is the breakfast. And the price is much better than the big-name hotels.

Provided you can do without a great view, but still in a great location, this is a very good choice. And the service is as good as you will find in any 5-star hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank herzoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in early May and it is a small gem of a hotel. You could not find a better location in a quiet(ish) street 3 minutes walk from the Champs-Élysées and George V metro. The rooms are lovely and decorated in deep reds with lots of flock and velvet and quite large by Paris standards.
I noticed that some other reviews found the breakfast experience difficult and the lady who runs it is very, very fierce (don't sit there...sit there). We found it funny but I could see why some find it upsetting. It is a little pricey but for Paris, the quality and the location, you would not be able to pay less. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#26 of 1,802 in Paris
1,065 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#50 of 1,802 in Paris
408 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
#197 of 1,802 in Paris
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
#396 of 1,802 in Paris
452 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#201 of 1,802 in Paris
635 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#202 of 1,802 in Paris
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francois 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francois 1er

Property: Hotel Francois 1er
Address: 7 rue Magellan | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#134 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#157 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#192 Business Hotel in Paris
#297 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Francois 1er 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel with beautiful appointments set in restored townhouse dating from 1900 - 3 blocks to Arc de Triomphe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Francois 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francois 1er Hotel
Francois 1er Paris
Hotel Francois Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing