We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”
Review of Hotel Francois 1er

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Francois 1er
Ranked #202 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great location if you wanna be in that area. Cozy feeling. The breakfast was nice and relaxed. On check in it was a mix up with the room, no twin beeds, so instead we were - without any fuzz -given two rooms instead of one. All in all: great relaxed service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus-sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    173
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
70
341
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is located just 2mins walk from Champ Elysees and has nice décor.

Unfortunately, it ends there. We paid extra for the bigger room as we read that their rooms are small. Despite the upgrade, the bathroom was exceptionally tiny even for my 5 years old child. Shower was bad as the water temperature fluctuate from super hot to freezing cold. When we asked the staff to check, we were told to consider timing our shower during times where other guests are not using the toilet.

Dust and cobweb were found at every corner of the room. The beddings were looked clean but were old and torn. I had some rash after sleeping the first night. While we spent 6 nights there, one night the air-condition broke down while another night, we heard a loud bang from the ceiling only to discover the opening on the ceiling fell opened.

Honestly, at EUR450 per night, I felt I was being ripped off. I will not stay at this hotel again. I didn't make it terrible as I feel it deserves something for its location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ef0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KepplerManager, Directeur général at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Paris. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you faced during your visit with us.
Believe me, if it was like this with all the clients we wouldn't have many of them. Your situation really was exceptional. The water problem is being solved since we just need to open all the tabs and change one piece Inside them. Also we start to do total renovation of the rooms where you stayed as well. Our decorator Mr. Pierre Yves ROCHON is doing the new look of the rooms and we'll be ready at the end of this year.
Again we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and should you like to visit us during your next trip, we'd be happy to make this up to.

We all wish you nice spring time!
kind regards

Alain Lagarrigue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed here for one night in November 2013. The hotel is just off the Champs Elysees and the metro George V so plenty of things to do around there and plenty of shops and restaurants and bars and cafes. However, the hotel is on a quiet and peaceful street so there was no noise.

The room was nice and comfortable albeit a bit on the small side. The bed was extremely comfortable. It's a shame I didn't get to sleep there for longer.

They have a Bose sound deck which was a nice surprise. They also have a minibar. A kettle would have been nice.
You can open the windows which is good.

The shower was really good and they had complimentary toiletries.

The breakfast room was downstairs in a cellar-like environment with no windows which can be a bit claustrophobic for some people.

The staff were friendly.

All in all, a nice, comfortable, quiet, relaxing and discreet place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovefoodlovetravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent our 6 nights New Year vacation in this hotel and these are my pros and cons:
Pros: Perfect location - 2 min. walk from Champs Elysees and metro station George V.
Nice boutique hotel, fairly clean rooms, good decor and ambience.
Breakfast was very good (caviar, salmon, surimi, good choices of cheese and meat...)
Nicolas at the front desk was very friendly and professional. He was very helpful
suggesting the right restaurants and made sure we got everything we needed. Thanks!
Cons: Small rooms, even smaller bathrooms, every morning i was woken up by the kids in the
next room (poor sound insulation). Most of the staff did not speak English neither
French?!? The bartender was a very absent kid with no service skills at all.
The coffee they served was always terrible! :)
Overall it was a very good experience, Paris is always gorgeous and if you want to spare some money for shopping instead of paying extra for the 5 stars, the Francois 1er is definitely a very good choice!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KepplerManager, Directeur général at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guests,

Happy New Year and thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay.
We apologize for the barman who was absent from the bar.
He was replacing our own bartender Thomas, who was on vacation. We sincerely thank you for the comments because next time we can ask for a different replacement for the bar instead of the person that you had.
We are sorry if there was difficulties in understanding our receptionts in English. They all speak very well as we have about 80% English speaking customers in the hotel. We will start soon renovating the hotel and we will check also the soundproofing again. Thank you for letting us know.

We all wish you nice spring time and hopefully we'll see you next time.

kind regards
Alain Lagarrigue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel in February last year and had an absolutely wonderful stay at this hotel. The decor is stunning; the lifts are made to look like an old library! We enjoyed having a few glasses of wine on the first night in the bar, where you actually feeling more like you're in the Parisian nobility's drawing room!

The staff are all very polite and were extremely helpful when we discovered the restaurant we wanted to eat in was fully booked!

The room was immaculate and every time we returned to the room, chocolate truffles were left on the pillow for us.

This hotel really does deserve 5 stars- it is a hidden gem, full of character in a great location. I really would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophevans311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our flight arrived early hours in the morning, taxi arrived at hotel door at 07:30 .. we expected to just leave our luggage and come back later... But the floor manager was kind enough to give us our room...
The room.." superior," 28m2...is relatively small, bed very comfortable, classic decor., clean room
location: fantastic.. short walk to Champs-Elysee... subway. etc.
Breakfast is basic...but okay..
Cost?? well, this is Paris , nothing is cheap.. book on the internet, u get a better rate..
we are very happy with our stay & Paris visit...will visit again...

Room Tip: Book on internet better rate, ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JYAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel's location is great. Right in the golden triangle at the 8th arrondissement. You can walk everywhere from Champs Elysees to Avenue Montaigne and Georges 5.

Expect to find classic decor and well appointed but small rooms, so its ok.

Excellent breakfast.

On the negative side, rather indifferent reception staff.

Prices 200 euros up, but its Paris and everything is overrated. so, overall good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#53 of 1,801 in Paris
422 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
#417 of 1,801 in Paris
455 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#29 of 1,801 in Paris
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
#196 of 1,801 in Paris
674 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#194 of 1,801 in Paris
364 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Galileo
Hotel Galileo
#126 of 1,801 in Paris
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francois 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francois 1er

Property: Hotel Francois 1er
Address: 7 rue Magellan | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#157 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#192 Business Hotel in Paris
#297 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Francois 1er 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel with beautiful appointments set in restored townhouse dating from 1900 - 3 blocks to Arc de Triomphe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Francois 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francois 1er Hotel
Francois 1er Paris
Hotel Francois Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing