We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely welcoming and professional staff, great location, newly redone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Ranked #437 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Boyne City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extremely welcoming and professional staff, great location, newly redone”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I, along with my sister and brother in law, met for several days in Paris. This was their second stay at this hotel (all of us having stayed in Paris several times). From the moment we arrived, the staff was very helpful, efficient and gracious. They all adapted immediately to English as needed. The rooms were clean and recently redone. The breakfasts were excellent. We had a great time in their bar as well, also with excellent service. Location is perfect as there are so many walkable sites from there or an easy taxi ride. We will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for return visit to our charming hotel and for taking time to leave us such a generous review.

We are more than delighted that our accomodations and our facilities have still been able to meet your expectations, and that you appreciated our rooms's renovation.

We proudly shared your warmest compliments with all our staff, that made you feel specials.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again, your loyalty is our greatest reward.

With our best regards

Clarisse THIRY
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    353
    103
    32
    29
See reviews for
158
237
35
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We enjoyed a two night return visit to the California and found it largely unchanged after 15 years. The hotel is well located - on the rue de Berri - between the N end of the Champs Elysées and the Faubourg St Honoré and is thus an excellent location for those focussed on the city's hi-end restaurants and stores.

The hotel is elegant in a traditional manner and has an interesting art collection of variable quality. Room size varies and many are quite small. Our ‘premium de luxe’ room was in fact a two-room suite (we may have been upgraded) which was small and somewhat awkwardly designed, with a shower-only bathroom. Clothes storage was poor. But overall the accommodation was ok for a short stay.

Slow WiFi is free throughout the hotel but wasn’t working during our stay. As a result, we were offered the hi-speed service for free. However, it was unstable in our room and would have been somewhat frustrating for someone on a business trip.

Breakfast was an adequate buffet with good staff support.

All the staff we met were professional and generally friendly.

We thought our pre-paid room rate of c. $375 per night including breakfast was quite good value by local standards, especially taking the location into account.

Overall, while our experience wasn't especially memorable, the California is a good choice for those who want to stay in its expensive area but don’t wish to pay the dizzy prices charged by the top-end luxury properties.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest

Let us first thank you for your return visit to the Hotel California, and for taking time to leave a kind review.

We are more than delighted that, even after 15 years, our accomodations and our facilities have still been able to meet your expectations, except our wifi service, that was not working properly and prevent you to work.

Some malfunctions appeared recently, that may be due to interferences between the low and high speed.
We assure you that our technicians , in close collaboration with our internet provider, are continually working to resolve those flaws, and to improve the quality of our connection.

We are glad that our professional and friendly contributed to the success of your stay and thank you for your kind compliments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in a nearest future.

Best regards

Clarisse THIRY
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had occasion to stay at the Hotel for two nights recently. I thought the value was excellent, the room was clean, and the staff was great. The staff really was terrific. The front desk staff greeted me by name everytime I entered or left the hotel. Indeed, when I was coming back from the fitness center, they greeted me. They also found me two excellent places for dinner, which is important when traveling alone on business to feel welcome as a lone single diner. Also, the front desk clerks helpted me plan my walking / shopping pilgrimage. I would definitely stay at the hotel again. The location is pretty good, right near the Champs-Elysees, so what could be bad!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Helane

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel California for your recent visit in Paris, and for taking time to share your four stars experience on Tripadvisor.

We are more than delighted that our accomodations and our services have been up to your expectations, especially our pretty good location and terrific staff, that we are fortunate to have.

Our daily mission is to provide the warmest hospitality and all necessary support to our guests.
We are thrilled to have succeeded in our mission to make you feel special, and your loyalty would be our greatest reward.

Thank you for your generous review !

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

With our best regards

Clarisse THIRY
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a great one night stay, great value (we stayed in february) room was clean, the staff was very nice. We had a rental car, we found it difficult to drop it off with the doorman/desk manager late on saturday night because people going to a club nearby had parked illegally on the space reserved for the hotel and nothing could apparently be done by the hotel staff to make the illegally parked vehicle leave. We double parked instead until a staff member retrieved our car and parked it for us.... Unfortunately we had to have a car for this trip...everything else was great.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest

You recently stayed at the Hotel California, and we thank you for taking time to leave us such a generous review.

We are more than delighted that our accomodations and our services have been up to your expectations, and we would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards

Clarisse THIRY
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel for one week in March 2014.. We had a wonderful time. The hotel is within walking distance of most everything we did. The staff was very helpful and nice, The ONLY thing that was not 100% was the bathroom lighting. Other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Pamela

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel California for your recent visit in Paris, and for taking time to leave such a generous review.

We are more than delighted that your daughter and yourself had a wonderful time with us, and that our staff made your stay a successful experience.

We would sincerely welcome the opportunity to serve your needs again, and we remain at your entire disposal for your next visit in Paris.

With our best regards

Clarisse THIRY
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife, me and our 5 month baby spent four nights in the California Champs Elysees hotel, just 2 days ago.
I must say that this hotel is just perfect for a stay in paris.
The room size was fine considering the fact that we needed a baby cot.
The room is new, clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The service is no less then perfect, they did just everything to make our staying the best and we're helpful about every request or question.
Location is one of the benefits of this hotel, right on the beginning of a street who crosses the Champs Elysees )in the middle of it).
Didn't try brakefast because we liked to try every patisserie we could ;)
Metro station is something like 200 meters from the hotel, on the champs élysées.

We will come back, for sure !

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel California for your recent stay in Paris, and for taking time to leave your kind review.

We are more than delighted that our accomodations and our services have been up to your expectations, and we thank you for such a generous review that we gladly shared with our helpful staff.

We are thrilled that your little family had a lovely stay with us, and we would sincerely approve the opportunity to welcome you back in our charming hotel.

With our best regards

Clarisse THIRY
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Location is Good,,,Staff is good,,resturant is good... Some staff speaks arabic..

I asked for king bed, they gave me twin attached...Low speed internet and connection is low...elevator too old and not working probably...THEY Did not clean my towels for 5 nights !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for having chosen our charming hotel for your last visit in Paris.

We are delighted that you had a good experience with us, overall, and we truly would approve the opportunity to welcoming you back, in a very nice room that will correspond exactly to your needs (with a large bed).

Concerning our internet connection, some malfunctions appeared, due to interferences between the low and high speed. We assure you that our technicians , in close collaboration with our internet provider, are continually working to resolve those flaws, and to improve our connection.

Concerning our elevator, both elevators have been refreshed, and work properly.

We sincerely regret the bad experience that you had with our Housekeeping service. Nevertheless in order to help all of us protecting our environment, we only change the towels that lay on the floor. A sign is placed in every bathroom to inform our guests.

In such a situation, please feel free to contact our great staff, that will be glad to help you and to make your stay more comfortable.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

With our best regards

Clarisse THIRY
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Warwick Paris
Warwick Paris
#411 of 1,801 in Paris
759 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#788 of 1,801 in Paris
369 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#206 of 1,801 in Paris
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Beauchamps
Hotel Beauchamps
#423 of 1,801 in Paris
175 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Rochester Champs-Elysees Hotel
Champs-Elysees
Le Marianne Hotel
Le Marianne Hotel
#201 of 1,801 in Paris
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees

Property: Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Address: 16 rue de Berri | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#274 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#337 Business Hotel in Paris
#349 Family Hotel in Paris
#417 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, this Haussmanian style building has been the favourite luxury hotel of the American press and Hollywood Stars. More than just a hotel, this is an authentic art gallery for all art lovers with its private collection of over 3000 oils and lithographs. With its fine sense of luxury, this 4 star hotel has been turned into a fine family mansion just a step away from the Champs Elysees and belongs to Les Hotels du Roy group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing