We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Ranked #437 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel California is located just off the Champs Elysees, so is fairly central to most things you want to see in Paris. The rooms are small, as with any big-city hotel, but very clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful, most spoke good English, and the breakfast buffet was very good.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Paris for a few days!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    353
    103
    32
    29
See reviews for
158
237
35
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I met my husband in Paris for a long weekend in between business trips. We stayed at the Hotel California because he had previously stayed there on business and was impressed with the service. Since his stay the rooms have been refurbished and are brighter and prettier. The best thing about this hotel is the location right on the Champs Elysees. We were able to walk to the yellow Metro line in about 5 minutes and could reach many of the places we wanted to see within 10-15 minutes. Breakfast was buffet style in a small room off the lobby...nothing much to speak of, but it filled us up for the day. It is tough to find a good breakfast buffet that serves properly cooked American style scrambled eggs and bacon. The cheeses and baguettes were the best part of breakfast, and the cafe au lait was terrific. The room was good sized with a separate tub and shower in the bathroom and a king sized bed. Good storage for clothes also. Overall, a great stay with no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear customer

Thank you for taking time to leave such a warm review about your recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées.
We are delighted that we entirely have been able to meet your expectations.
We are certainly fortunate to have a terrific location, with the majority of rooms being completely refurbished.
Our friendly staff appreciated the opportunity to welcome you and would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve your needs again in a near future.


Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had a short experience of this very nice hotel just off the Champs Elysees. Definitely one for a romantic weekend in Paris. Perfect location - expensive but 1st class. Food was wonderful and the rooms immaculate. Staff a bit uppity but its Paris. Had a business meeting there and was very well organised. Good open room and excellent canopies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dumbledrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear customer

Thank you for your generous review posted recently on Tripadvisor, concerning your stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées.
We are thrilled that you had a lovely stay with us, and would be glad to welcome you back again at our charming hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Everything about this hotel is great - location, service, room, it was a pleasure. It is ideally located close to great shops, bars and cafes. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will return ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Linda

Thank you for taking time to post such a generous review about your recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées.
Thank you for your compliments and support, I would be proud to share with all our hotel staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is located within the tourist location and a minutes’ walk away from champ Elysees and a metro center within easy reach.

The rooms (or at least the one I got) are really tiny and you almost step out of your bed into the wardrobe. Rooms were fairly clean with a tea/coffee facility provided. The concierge, Mr. Joseph was very helpful and willing to direct visitors. Front desk staff too was friendly and useful.

Given the proximity to Major destinations this is a place I would consider staying in again, hopefully in a bigger room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear customer

Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience at the Hotel california Paris Champs-Elysées on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that our professionnal staff, especially Joseph, and our facilities have been able to make your stay most enjoyable.
Nevertheless we regret that the room size did not correspond to your expectations.
We can not identify the type of room you stayed in, a Deluxe room should however be more appropriate to your needs.

Looking forward to welcome you back again in a near future.


Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

this hotel i consider it one of the best hotels at paris , this hotel located at Champs Elysees , the staf s kind respectable and helpful , i spend avery good days at this hotel , the hotel is completly near the Champs Elysees street , breakfast is very good , internet is acceptable, and the ambiance is wonderful, the next time at paris i will stay on it , my respect to all staff and management.

mohamed taher.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mohtah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Mohamed Taher,

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées for your recent stay in Paris, and for your very kind and generous review.
All our staff is delighted to have been able to make your experience a real success, and look forward to welcome you back again. Your loyalty would be our greatest reward.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, but beware--not all the rooms are updated. We were unfortunately in a room that had not been touched since the 1980's--old carpet, chipped and dated furniture and overall shabby decor. Given the price per night, we expected much more. We stayed at a few different hotels throughout Paris on our trip and the service and decor at the other hotels far outweighed this hotel at a lesser price. We brought our concerns to the attention of the desk manager who offered us a free water or house wine at the bar--told the bartender our two glasses of champagne could not be comped. Certainly did not improve our impression. One positive--very nice bedding. Save your money and stay elsewhere.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JPoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear customer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on your recent stay at the Hotel California.
We deeply regret that our accommodations were not able to meet your expectations.
Let us reassure you that most of our rooms have been refurbished in a contemporary style, you probably stayed in one of our last rooms being refurbished.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and reverse your impressions.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Warwick Paris
Warwick Paris
#411 of 1,801 in Paris
759 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#788 of 1,801 in Paris
369 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#206 of 1,801 in Paris
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Rochester Champs-Elysees Hotel
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Beauchamps
Hotel Beauchamps
#423 of 1,801 in Paris
175 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Le Marianne Hotel
Le Marianne Hotel
#201 of 1,801 in Paris
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees

Property: Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Address: 16 rue de Berri | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#274 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#337 Business Hotel in Paris
#349 Family Hotel in Paris
#417 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, this Haussmanian style building has been the favourite luxury hotel of the American press and Hollywood Stars. More than just a hotel, this is an authentic art gallery for all art lovers with its private collection of over 3000 oils and lithographs. With its fine sense of luxury, this 4 star hotel has been turned into a fine family mansion just a step away from the Champs Elysees and belongs to Les Hotels du Roy group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing