We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Ranked #464 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is located within the tourist location and a minutes’ walk away from champ Elysees and a metro center within easy reach.

The rooms (or at least the one I got) are really tiny and you almost step out of your bed into the wardrobe. Rooms were fairly clean with a tea/coffee facility provided. The concierge, Mr. Joseph was very helpful and willing to direct visitors. Front desk staff too was friendly and useful.

Given the proximity to Major destinations this is a place I would consider staying in again, hopefully in a bigger room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear customer

Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience at the Hotel california Paris Champs-Elysées on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that our professionnal staff, especially Joseph, and our facilities have been able to make your stay most enjoyable.
Nevertheless we regret that the room size did not correspond to your expectations.
We can not identify the type of room you stayed in, a Deluxe room should however be more appropriate to your needs.

Looking forward to welcome you back again in a near future.


Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 817 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

this hotel i consider it one of the best hotels at paris , this hotel located at Champs Elysees , the staf s kind respectable and helpful , i spend avery good days at this hotel , the hotel is completly near the Champs Elysees street , breakfast is very good , internet is acceptable, and the ambiance is wonderful, the next time at paris i will stay on it , my respect to all staff and management.

mohamed taher.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mohtah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Mohamed Taher,

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées for your recent stay in Paris, and for your very kind and generous review.
All our staff is delighted to have been able to make your experience a real success, and look forward to welcome you back again. Your loyalty would be our greatest reward.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, but beware--not all the rooms are updated. We were unfortunately in a room that had not been touched since the 1980's--old carpet, chipped and dated furniture and overall shabby decor. Given the price per night, we expected much more. We stayed at a few different hotels throughout Paris on our trip and the service and decor at the other hotels far outweighed this hotel at a lesser price. We brought our concerns to the attention of the desk manager who offered us a free water or house wine at the bar--told the bartender our two glasses of champagne could not be comped. Certainly did not improve our impression. One positive--very nice bedding. Save your money and stay elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank JPoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear customer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on your recent stay at the Hotel California.
We deeply regret that our accommodations were not able to meet your expectations.
Let us reassure you that most of our rooms have been refurbished in a contemporary style, you probably stayed in one of our last rooms being refurbished.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and reverse your impressions.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located and I would stay here again.
The rooms were clean and very nice and quite big for Paris!
The breakfast menue was local, but very tasty!
I was here on business and was charged a company rate, when I looked at the usual costs, I would nit have thought that the stay was value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iona-Luing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Iona-Luing

Thank you for taking time to leave a kind review about your recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées.
We are thrilled that your stay was a positive experience and will sincerely appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A very pleasant stay. It is worth the money, as you get a five star experience and service. Breakfast is rather expensive, but there is a lot of variety, and you can eat enough that you won't need lunch. We even took fruit from the fruit bowl to have during the day. The staff are incredibly helpful, and the bar is lovely-none of the other hotels we stayed in had bars that you would consider going to, but this one had a lovely atmosphere, with a pianist playing on some nights, and if you are exhausted from a day of sight seeing, its a very nice place to go for a glass of wine (and complementary top ups from the very lovely bartender) and a fillet steak dinner, which in comparison to the price of breakfast, is incredibly reasonable. The bath and shower in our room was very nice, and the beds very comfortable. It is a very quick walk to the George V metro station, and the arch du triumph end of the champs elysees. A tip for using the metro- the cheapest option is buying the book of 10 tickets at a time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicem42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear customer

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of last February on TripAdvisor and generous review.
We sincerely are thrilled that your experience was just fantastic and we actually look forward to welcome your back again in a near future.

With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip.
The location is fantastic. A quite street just off Champs Elysees.
Room size is spacious for a Paris hotel.
Decore and food were fine.
Even get free internet in the room (although limited bandwidth. hi bandwidth comes with a cost).
The gym is clean but a bit small with a small selection of equipment. On the other hand, you can jog in the streets of Paris which is a much more attractive option.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear customer

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées and your generous review.
We are delighted to have been able to make this experience as positive as possible and are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed for 5 days being on business trip. We choose the hotel because of its convenient location. Room on the 6th floor turned out to be quite spacious, bed - of good quality. The unpleasant surprises awaited us downstairs - we visited the lobby bar quite late for 2 nights in a row, and discovered that some time after 11 pm with almost no guests around - there appear mice - to which the bar staff do not pay any attention which makes you think it's quite a usual thing to happen.
We were also struck by the reception personnel being quite laid back, slow in reaction and not very efficient - not all of them of course, but somehow the effciency ratio is 1:3 with the higher number on the negative side.
Another unpleasant surprise - taxi called by means of radio phone (or whatever it's caled) - arrived with the some EUR 9 already on the meter to which we paid attention too late. The driver barely speaking English, advised us to discuss it with our hotel who basically confirmed the rule- to our question why no one had warned us about it in advance - was no explanation. So beware - and if you need a taxi, there's a taxi point not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear customer

Thank you for taking time to leave your kind feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées.
We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay overall, but we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with unexpected visitors you met at our bar and a taxi driver.
Concerning the unexpected visitors, please be reassured that we immediately proceeded to a preventive treatment, Concerning the taxi driver, when there is no taxi available at the taxi station, we used to contact a call center to meet the more effectively to the needs of our customers. We however should inform more clearly of an additional charge. This additional charge is depending on the taxi driver location.

We hope that these unfortunate experiences have not tarnished your trust and that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again

With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Warwick Paris
Warwick Paris
#431 of 1,804 in Paris
766 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#196 of 1,804 in Paris
374 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Rochester Champs-Elysees Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Le Marianne Hotel
Le Marianne Hotel
#162 of 1,804 in Paris
296 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Beauchamps
Hotel Beauchamps
#391 of 1,804 in Paris
189 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#819 of 1,804 in Paris
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees

Address: 16 rue de Berri | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#289 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#337 Business Hotel in Paris
#349 Family Hotel in Paris
#417 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $223 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, this Haussmanian style building has been the favourite luxury hotel of the American press and Hollywood Stars. More than just a hotel, this is an authentic art gallery for all art lovers with its private collection of over 3000 oils and lithographs. With its fine sense of luxury, this 4 star hotel has been turned into a fine family mansion just a step away from the Champs Elysees and belongs to Les Hotels du Roy group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing