We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, beautifully located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Ranked #438 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, beautifully located”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Excellent hotel located 2 minutes from the Champs Elysees. Beautifully maintained rooms with large bathrooms. Large rooms as opposed to matchbox sized rooms one would expect in Paris. It was a delight. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girishgudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear girishgudi

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées for your recent stop in Paris and your warm feedback. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and will be glad to welcome you back again in a near future.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    343
    99
    31
    28
See reviews for
153
233
35
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hungary
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is by far my preferred Hotel in Paris. It's a little pricy but not so much given the location and how comfortable it is. My only negative comment is that some of the rooms can be a wee bit small. That said, they are cozy.

I've been at this hotel with the family and for business. They have a nice arrangement that join two rooms which was great for the family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcpeppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear customer

Thank you for taking time to share your review about our recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées. We are delighted that you had a great time overall with us, but we regret that our accomodation did not meet your expectations. We can not identify the room category you stayed in and recommend you a Deluxe room category for a best comfort.

With our warmest wishes for a wonderfull New Year 2013, and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is literally a stones throw from the Champs Élysées and is perfectly situated, central to all tourist attractions.

The hotel has a very nice reception area and very accommodating and helpful staff, especially Erwin Yoro, who helped in arranging a limousine transfer. All staff were pleasant and courteous during our stay.

The rooms are a typical city centre size, but fully stocked and adequately maintained. The mattresses are a little firm for some. Overall the standard of the room was very good.

From a price aspect we went through a tour operator who noticeably added to the cost (definitely will book independent next time). The hotel's bar charges were a little steep, however this may be indicative of central Paris costs, which is not an excuse (€12 for ons Baileys).

Overall a wonderful romantic stay in a perfectly located hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Nomadion
Thank you for taking time to share your kind review about your recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées. We are delighted to read that your experience was overall very positive, Thank you for your compliments we will be proud to share with all our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you back again in a near future.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Read this quickly before the hotel staff contest my review and have it removed!!!

I have stayed in this hotel multiple times and the glowing reviews irks me! It is well located, very expensive and extremely cramped!!!!

I wanted to treat my wife to a nice evening for Valentine's day. This is close to the Lido and the "usual" tourist attractions. We were in a room that COULD NOT FIT OUR LUGGAGE (see the picture). There was less that 40cm between the bed and walls on BOTH side of the bed. I asked them to remove the little table (30 cm diameter), and was informed that it is a requirement to make the room superieur!

It bared no resemblance to the rooms shown on the hotels website. Don't be fooled by the plush reception!
Showers do not work and if they do the water is cold.

The only saving grace to this hotel is the location.

Rooms were Euro 350 per night.

Staff in reception very friendly within their constraints. They appear to be mostly from Egypt waiting for French citizenship so that they may move to New York. (Smokers tend to meet the staff on the sidewalk).


Paris was always my wife's most favorite city - this hotel made Frankfurt (????) her most favorite city!! Imagine that?

Room Tip: Read this quickly before the hotel staff contest my review and have it removed!!! Do NOT accept a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank deon-keyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear customer

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées on Tripadvisor.
We sincerely regret to have not been able to reach your expectations. As we can not identify which room you stayed in, please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Manager, Catherine on guestrelations@hroy.com she would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to meet with you about this unfortunate experience.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place is not ON the Champs-Elysees so don't be fooled by the liberal use of the name of this famous street in the name of the hotel. The service was horrible from the moment we arrived until we left with one exception, Amadou at the front desk.
1. The room was not ready when we arrived.
2. When we finally got into the room, there were used cleaning rags left in the bathroom.
3. The reservation made clear we needed an extra bed in the room to accommodate our family of 4 but it was not there when we got into the room. We had to ask 4 times before, at 11 pm, I went to the front desk in my pajamas and insisted that they provide it to us IMMEDIATELY. That was when Amadou helped us. 20 minutes later, a roll-away bed was rolled in; clearly it had been kept in storage as it was covered in dust and the sheets were not fresh. This was not an appropriate place for my child to sleep (especially as she has some dust mite allergies) so I bit the bullet and slept in it.
4. There are many children running in the halls during the late evening hours; they appear to be in the care of nannies and their parents are out to dinner. About 2 a.m., I finally knocked on the door of the room next door, as the television was playing very loudly and children were playing and yelling. The woman who answered looked helpless in managing the situation, shrugged her shoulders, and closed the door.
The hotel management was not receptive to our complaints and concerns and only upon my return home did they email some kind of partial apology, which was really just an excuse to try to get us to return to their awful hotel. NON, MERCI!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2011Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear customer
Thank you for having chosen the Hotel California for your recent stay in Paris, and for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We deeply regret that your experience was disappointing, and we would sincerely welcome the opportunity to reverse this, if you would allow us.
If you should plane another trip to Paris, please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Relations Manager, Catherine, she will be honoured to meet with you.
With our sincere regards and apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've stayed in about 10 or so 4 star hotels within 750 metres of the California. I have to say it's the best one so far.
Price: Ok, not cheap, but book in advance and get better prices.
Location: Next to the Champs Elysees, reasonably quiet side st. No problems.
Room: Recently done up, last year or two. Spacious, good facilities, safe etc. Cleaner and more modern that the other local hotels I've used. Good aircon, but the bed a bit hard.
Bar: I like the bar (but the cheesy piano player can be a bit loud). Most of the other local hotels I've used "sort of" have a bar, but the California has a good sized bar with good selection, plus food.
Breakfast: Unusually decent by local standards, but the staff ahve a habit of running around with their heads down and you have to positively wave your hands to get a coffee.

Front desk staff are always smiling, helpful and polite - three most unparisian attributes!
This hotel also has proper lifts, not the jerky rolling cages common in the area.

Many Parisian hotels (especially near the champs-elysees) are a disappointment unless you have low expectations or are a big spender.

This is now my hotel of choice for business trips to Paris, but would happily go there for leisure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguin_Family_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your generous review about your recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées and your kind compliments.
We are thrilled that our staff and accomodations have reached your expectations and we will sincerely appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back again to our charming hotel.
With our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I go to Paris 5 or 6 times a year for business, and have stayed in all sorts of terrible and overpriced hotels in the desire to be in a good location. Finally I've found a hotel that is nice, clean, has friendly staff, and it even has a gym. I really couldn't complain about anything - my room was facing away from the street, so I didn't experience the problem that you often get in Paris, which is street noise. The room and bathroom were lovely, and every need was catered for. I'll be back...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Volsk

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such warm compliments about your recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs Elysées.

We are truly thrilled to read such a positive review and would be glad to welcome you back in a near future.

With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Warwick Paris
Warwick Paris
#389 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#735 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#182 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#181 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Le Marianne Hotel
Le Marianne Hotel
#156 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees

Property: Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Address: 16 rue de Berri | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#267 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#337 Business Hotel in Paris
#349 Family Hotel in Paris
#417 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, this Haussmanian style building has been the favourite luxury hotel of the American press and Hollywood Stars. More than just a hotel, this is an authentic art gallery for all art lovers with its private collection of over 3000 oils and lithographs. With its fine sense of luxury, this 4 star hotel has been turned into a fine family mansion just a step away from the Champs Elysees and belongs to Les Hotels du Roy group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing