We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel California Champs Elysees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Ranked #430 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    334
    98
    30
    28
See reviews for
149
231
35
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jupiter
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Fabulous location, you can walk everywhere in a safe neighbourhood, Rooms are quiet , a BIG plus , the staff was friendly and helpful, Breakfast was a feast . place looks and feels upscale .
We recommend and would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Cocobay
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write such a great comment about the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to read that you deeply enjoyed your stay at our charming hotel and will be glad to welcome you back again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was obliged to stay here as it was booked by my Firm and this has to be one of the most overrated hotels in the western hemisphere.

The room, booked to be non-smoking, had been used by marathon smokers such that after a 3 day sentence, all my clothes were infused with the smell of stale smoke. The bed had clearly been rescued from a skip as was lumpy and worn. Pillows were small and foam filled. The wardrobe had been salvaged from a doll's house and with that awful system of non-detachable hangers. Interesting to offer paper cups if you wanted to make a cup of coffee in the room, which you probably would as the restaurant coffee is clearly made with a meat substitute - undrinkable.

What else was wrong? Lighting poor and bed side switch didn't work, so you had to stumble in the dark after switching it off at the door oh and the rythmic plumbing sounds at night were an added feature not mentoned on their website. And the laundry service, hah. I would have been better served taking it to the River Seine and leaving it there for a couple of hours before laying it out in the street for traffic to simulate ironing.

Fortunately I only attempted breakfast once (coffee referred to above) and that was on a par with a service station in North Korea. Staff clearly suffering from narcolepsy as barely visible and needing the walls for support to prevent them falling I suppose.

If they had paid me to stay here, I would still be critical but for Euro 350 a night, the owners should be ashamed of their pretence and attempts to call this a hotel. It isn't.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nowvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées and we do sincerely regret that you had such a bad experience.
As we value your comments, we would be most grateful if you could give us a little bit of your time and accept to contact our Guest Relations Manager at the following e-mail address : guestrelations@hroy.com.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in a nearest future so that we may make amends for your last stay.
With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in a family room with a king sized bed and a real single bed (not a fold out sofa), with the room being very spacious for a hotel in Paris.
On the Hotel's website there was a special for a 1 euro breakfast - no matter which combination or codes I used I could not work out how to obtain it thro the online process - I left it a few days & unfortyunately when I came nack to it there were no Family Rooms available thro the Hotel's website. I found a Family Room through an online booking agency.
The service was excellent; & although it is a costly stay, I would consider staying there again because of the service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbertoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Timbertoby
We would like to thank you so much for having posted this enthusiastic review on TripAdvisor.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées in terms of accommodation and service.
Looking forward to welcome you back again soon
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is very central, a few steps from Champs Elysees, the staff was very helpful and helped us to guide us to reach what we wanted to see in Paris.
our room had view to the garden. To be in the middle of Paris, we could sleep all night without hearing a noise.Some part of the hotel could need a little upgrade
Nice breakfast and restaurant , but a little expensive breakfast 25 E
We visited Maches Pu

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarF829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel California Paris, Champs Elysees for our first visit to Paris, and what a great decision it was! We loved our room overlooking a charming street (rue de Berri) and found it charming and just the right size. The staff, all of them from room service, to front desk were polite and helpful and always went above and beyond. We will return and want the same room (#103) and highly recommend this lovely representative of the best of Paris! The location was perfect to everything, a short walk to the Champs Elysees shopping and cafe. The little cafe
across the street from hotel was so charming. The hotel dining is equally superb!

We will return and without question will be staying here!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are lovely, but we loved our room facing the busy little street, rue de Ber...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregor190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear customer
Thank you for your very kind and generous comments. We are deeply proud to have fully met yours expectations and will be glad to welcome you back again,
With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just visited Paris and must confess that the hotel is in an excellent location boasting well trained staff who communicate effectively in several languages, are extremely helpful and always wear a smile. Commenting on other reviews we agree that the reception might need an upgrade and that we could have had some water in the room. But none effected our stay. A particular host at the reception went out of his way to make us even more comfortable and hence made our stay even nicer. Excellent value for money. Our next stay in Paris will surely be at the Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Silvio
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your kind impressions about your recent stay at the Hotel California Paris Champs.
We are proud to know that your experience at our charming hotel was just perfect and we sincerely will appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Warwick Paris
Warwick Paris
#324 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#722 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#193 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#149 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Le Marianne Hotel
Le Marianne Hotel
#114 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees

Property: Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Address: 16 rue de Berri | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#257 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#337 Business Hotel in Paris
#350 Family Hotel in Paris
#418 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, this Haussmanian style building has been the favourite luxury hotel of the American press and Hollywood Stars. More than just a hotel, this is an authentic art gallery for all art lovers with its private collection of over 3000 oils and lithographs. With its fine sense of luxury, this 4 star hotel has been turned into a fine family mansion just a step away from the Champs Elysees and belongs to Les Hotels du Roy group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing