We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Ranked #957 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner, our son, and I stayed in the Hotel Lyon Bastille for 4 nights in September 2013, staying in a triple room where our 18yo son had a single bed in a room off the main room. Both rooms were of good size with comfortable beds and french doors that opened to look out onto Rue Parrot. The main room also had a desk and small refridgerator. I was a little disappointed at no tea/coffee making facilities. Free wi-fi worked well. We used the air con each evening because we found the room a little warm and that helped for comfortable sleeping. We found the small digital tv fixed to the corner above the main door to be in an awkward spot and we could only find french channels, although it was supposed to have english channels too. We didn't bother much with it.
I was impressed with the large bathroom, with shower over the bath.
The hotel does cater a continental breakfast but we found it a little expensive and so frequented a local patisserie just down the block. There is also a great little general shop on the corner across the road that sells almost anything you could need from drinks, snacks, toothpaste, batteries - you name it.
The Gare de Lyon is a main train station accessing both underground and overground lines which is helpful for getting around Paris to see the sights, and it's only 5 mins walk down the block from the hotel. Overall I would definitely recommend the Hotel Lyon Bastille - it was clean, comfortable and in a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RodandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhautier, Propriétaire at Hotel Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Bonjour,
We thank you very much for your message. We appreciate a lot and we assure you that we always do our maximum to offer our guests up to date confort.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lyon Bastille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 225 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed there last weekend (Sep 2013) for two nights. Less than 5 min walk to Gare de Lyon which has great train connections. 10 min walk to Bastille stop. Felt safe in the area when arrived in the evening and got welcomed by a very straight forward recepcionist who gave us the keys to our rooms but didn't provide any information about breakfast or check out time. Room was very small but not a problem for me. Very clean and cozy. The only down point in my opinion was the shower attached to the wall above the bath, knee high... if you wanted to wash your hair you'd be in there for at least 20 minutes trying to hold it while washing yourself.
Maybe it was only in our room, not sure. They had a lift which fit 2 people with a squeeze. I'd recommend it to friends who want to stay a weekend and don't want to spend a lot of money in Paris and still get a decent hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alinne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Hotel Lyon Bastille for 1 week in July. We returned after we had enjoyed 10 days there in 2011.

The staff are wonderful, the room is clean & well appointed for 3 star, and breakfast is available onsite if want it. The facilities work well . . AC, fridge, free wireless etc.

The hotel is close to the Gare de Lyon . . Metro / RER / Train station. The neighbourhood has several attractions and is close to The Bastille & The Seine. With the fantastic public transport in Paris, any other location is just a ride or two away. There are neighbourhood facilities . . cafes, boulangeries, corner shops, supermarket, ATMs. The wonderful restaurant . . A la Biche au Bois is just around the corner, and well worth booking.

We hope to return to Paris in the future, and the Hotel Lyon Bastille will be where we will happily stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteeeeeeeeeeeeeVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent location. We often stay in this area due to the proximity to the Gare de Lyon at another hotel but decided to take advantage of a special offer at Lyon Bastille and am very glad we did. The reception staff were very helpful and efficient, the room was very clean with a good-sized bathroom. The decor of our room was very restful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and the waitress quick to clear tables and offer tea or large jugs of coffee

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhautier, Propriétaire at Hotel Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Bonjour from Paris,
We thank very much for your message. It is so nice from you to have taken time to write it.
We are very glad and we appreciate a lot. Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A wonderful place to stay - we hopped off the TVG train and had a short walk to the hotel - which was located in a fantastic street - close to some great restauraunts / metro etc...staff were extremeley helpful - assisting with directions / booking cabs on our departure - room was clean / cosy and very Parisian! Would definitely stay at Hotel Lyon Bastille again - thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhautier, Responsable réception at Hotel Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Bonjour from Paris,
We thank you very much for your message. It would be a pleasure to receive to you, be sure that your message is an help and a reward for us
We hope to see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night on three separate occasions on a recent trip to France. The staff are friendly. I left a bag in the luggage room, once for two weeks and once for one week. The bed and room were small for American standards, but good for France. The bathroom was the best I came across anywhere in France. It is really close to the Gare de Lyon. If you take the Diderot exit from the station, it is even closer. There are lots of bars and restaurants close by. Book well in advance for the best price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhautier, Propriétaire at Hotel Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Nous vous remercions chaleureusement pour votre message, il nous encourage et nous fortifie afin de poursuivre nos efforts et nos améliorations.
Merci pour votre aide et au plaisir de vous revoir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for only one night. Booked online direct with the hotel for a double room and the cost was 135 Euro. Very friendly lady on reception who helped out with maps and suggestions for dinner.

The room was quite a good size compared to many other Paris hotels which are usually tiny and we had large doors which opened to a pretend balcony, overlooking the street.. The room décor is a bit tired, but not bad. There was a TV ( but nothing worth watching) and a good size bathroom.

The thing which really got o us was the "breakfast". We cleared the rubbish off the table from the people before us ourselves as there was no staff around - and then saw that there was bread rolls and a cup of tea-bag tea on offer. We had that and then on check-out we were amazed to get hit with a 24 Euro bill !!! The hotel is very close to bakeries, cafes and of course, the Gare de Lyon. My advice is DO NOT get caught paying 12 euro a head for a bread roll and cup of tea - go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhautier, Propriétaire at Hotel Lyon Bastille, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam
Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor
We are surprised by your comment on our breakfast. You may not have seen or understood as tea and coffee are served at will, our buffet is rich and full: breads, croissants, pains au chocolate and grapes, cake, cheese, cream cheese, ham, fruit salad, three type of cereals, two types of juices, butter, jams, honey.
The price of our breakfast is identical to what is practiced in Paris.
We do not understand this misunderstood. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#471 of 1,804 in Paris
979 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,079 of 1,804 in Paris
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#603 of 1,804 in Paris
341 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Aurore
Best Western Aurore
#1,261 of 1,804 in Paris
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyon Bastille

Address: 3 rue Parrot, 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#531 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $104 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lyon Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lyon Bastille is a 3-star hotel located in the heart of Paris, 150 m from the Gare de Lyon, near the new Opera Bastille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lyon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyon Bastille Hotel
Lyon Bastille Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing