We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice and pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris
Ranked #896 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice and pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I just returned from our swiss-paris trip yesterday. It was difficult to choose which hotel to book in Paris because Paris has numerous choices of hotel. Because we had 10 month baby with us, Kichenett, connectivity and Airport shuttle was my priority when looking for hotels. This hotel served my purpose very nicely. It is an extremely good choice on budget. Not very cheap and not over priced . just the rightly priced and it does provide everything that it promises on its or booking.com websites.

We arrived to Gare de lyon station from Geneva and this hotel is very close from this main train station. Just 7 to 10 min walk. Also the Reuilly metro station is just 2 min from the hotel. The hotel is in city yet nicely located at a calm location so you can relax if you want to hide from city chaos. You can travel most of the Paris attractions by metro so having M1 metro station near was very convenient.

These are Apartment hotels and they have well maintained and clean apartments. We had booked 1 studio and 1 apartment with 1 bedroom. Both were extremely good. There Kitchen has dishwasher, fridge and plenty of pots, pans and dinner sets.

There are many restaurents and supermarkets nearby withing 2 to 5 minutes distance, McDonalds on 5 min walk which was a thumbs-up for us :-)

They do have washing machine and dryer that you can use for some charge. However, there is a big coin operated washing machine center just beside the hotel building.

The Lobby and reception area is very nice with a iMAC in english ( and not french like most of hotels) and printer was working fine( we had a very bad experience in Swiss about this). The reception staff was very helpful and also helped us suggesting the trips and guiding to the various travel plans and offering agencies. They all were good in english so it was not so difficult understanding them.

They were also very honest and returned us 256 euros while checking out informing us that there was a mistake in rate we booked via bookings.com. we did not even know that and we really liked their honesty.

They dont have their ownairport shuttle but they ave tie-up with a shuttle provider company, you pay 18Euro per person and can book this shuttle. It came 10 minutes before time ensuring that no-one gets delayed.

I will surely return to this hotel and also recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: If you have special needs, its better to call them and inform personally. We had put our special nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AviCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    164
    66
    18
    8
See reviews for
132
99
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just returned from 5 day stay at this place. The location is excellent - 5 to 10 minutes straight walk from Gare de Lyon or a 2 minute walk from the Metro. The yellow metro line 1 runs directly to all of the major tourist attractions and our one day pass enabled us to hop on hop off when we wanted to. The area of the hotel is very safe to walk around and we were able to walk down to the Bastille comfortably. We also one evening walked back from Notre Dame as the evening was so pleasant.

Opposite the hotel is a mini-market which stocked everything we needed for our stay, there are a couple of excellent boulangeries - one at the end of the street as you turn left, and one as you turn right at Rue Diderot. There are plenty of restaurants on the Rue Diderot and also around the Bastille area all within walking distance.

Our studio on the first floor at the front of the hotel was too hot for us (even at the end of December) and we asked to be moved to the top floor at the back of the building where we could sleep with the windows wide open. This was not a problem for the staff and they were more than helpful.

Having toyed with the idea of an apartment - I was glad that we opted for the studio at a far less cost and this was more than adequate. Our bedroom was a large room with tv and table and chairs and an en-suite bathroom, the kitchen area, toilet and wardrobes were seperate as you entered the studio with a door to close the bedroom off.

The kitchen was well equipped with microwave toaster cooking utensils fridge dishwasher and all utensils including kettle. The bed was so comfy we have returned to the UK and are looking for a similar one - very very firm, lovely duvet, sheets and pillows.

All in all the hotel was exactly what we wanted - we could get up at our leisure and make breakfast in our room without having to rush around and try and get to breakfast within a certain time. There were no maids knocking our doors in the morning and nobody running up and down the corridors backwards and forwards to their rooms which we always tend to find in hotels.

The staff spoke excellent english and were very courteous, the safe in our room - which was free and an added bonus - locked out one day and the staff couldnt do enough to ensure that they got it open for us.

I wouldnt hesitate in stopping here again - next time we will drive and I understand we can park in the garage for 20 euros a day.

We flew Air France and picked up the bus outside CDG which dropped us outside the Gare de Lyon, the bus leaves every 15mins and 45mins to the hour. 17 euros each - one way -worked out a lot cheaper than a taxi.

We had a final meal at the Train Bleu in the Gare De Lyon - blew 200 euros but well worth it for the experience - decent wine a dozen oysters fresh grilled fish and hand made macaroons. Im sure there are better restaurants offering exquisite dishes less expensively however this was walking distance, a great ambience, and pure indulgence!

Our only fall into the tourist trap was to visit the Sacre Cour which was breathtaking at night and to be talked into having our portraits drawn by the artists in the square. We said we didnt want our pictures drawn and the artists ignored us - started chatting away in English and before we knew it the pictures we drawn. We were then charged 60 euros each (!) we said we didnt have enough cash and the artists asked the manager of the restuarant where we were eating to take our credit card payment and give them the cash. What the heck it was Christmas Eve - but be warned !!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have road noise if you want to sleep with the windows open. We opted for a top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyblueConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was almost like a comedy show - except that it wasn't and we had a 2.5 month year old with us. First, our suite had been painted the day we arrived. They didn't have another room. (They claimed they were fully booked). We were really concerned about the fumes because they were so strong so we ended up leaving the door to the garden open to air it out all day and then had to leave it open overnight.

The room had a mini-kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave - which was great. The only problem was that running the microwave blew a fuse. The hotel informed us that there were no replacement fuses until the morning - except that the fuse ran the lights and all the plugs in the room in addition to the microwave and refrigerator (where we storing breast milk). My husband figured out how to swap out the other fuse in the fuse box in the room (there were only two) so we had some lights and could sterilize bottles and I could run my breast pump. The trick to this was that the other fuse was for the heat ... and with the door opened due to the fumes the temperature in the room got cold very quickly - the temperature outside dipped down into the forties overnight.

The end of the comedy show was that the hotel maintenance man got very upset at my husband (who is French and understood everything the gentleman had to say) for swapping out the fuses.

It's too bad, everything else about this hotel was very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julesk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have found this place very convenient for our stay in Paris. It is right beside a metro station and shops and restaurants are very close by. You have the choice to cook for yourself or go out for meals and they have breakfast available if you wish. Staff are very helpful, including with helping us book tours by phone. It is not elaborate or fussy but we don't want that! There are plenty of cupboards for our belongings but there is no room for a lounge to watch tv. I would happily stay here again. A major advantage is that it is so quiet without traffic noise - at least in our room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAnnWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were a little desperate to find a hotel at short notice as many seemed booked out. The hotel is a little further out from the usual Paris attractions, but of course convenient for the Gare de Lyon.
The area is just a bit run down. The hotel is certainly aware of this as security is obvious with card access required for entry to the hotel.
The rooms were clean and reasonable sized, but again, just a little dated. Unfortunately we were woken up one night by a rowdy lot going to their rooms at 3.00 am.
All in all though, not bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good location, within walking distance of not only Gare de Lyon for European TGV connections but also right next door to Metro Line 1 station (2 minute walk). There are plenty of little restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood along with secveral small inner-city supermarkets for the necessary essentials.

The reception staff are freindly and helpful and although the rooms are basic, they are warm, clean and perfectly acceptable for the price you are paying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_scot1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent 5 days here in February - I had asked for a self contained apartment. Our first impression even from the hallway was this was 3 star and basic - it was not a welcoming clean feeling. Our room - queen bed was 2 singles pushed together, the bathroom you couldnt swing a cat, and self contained - it wasnt even a real kitchen - everything about the place was very average. Luckily on complaining we were upgraded to a room which was what I expect of a self contained apartment. I wouldnt recommend it to anyone. Close to a train station and that is about it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Bastille Marais Paris
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Republique Paris
Citadines Republique Paris
#916 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Citadines Didot Montparnasse
#708 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Citadines Place d'Italie Paris
Citadines Austerlitz Paris
#1,099 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Venise Hotel
Venise Hotel
#436 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris

Property: Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris
Address: 14 rue Chaligny | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #896 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apart'hotel Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris plunges you into the very heart of the French capital's 12th district. Explore the many artisanal boutiques in the narrow streets off the main boulevards, or enjoy an extravagant night at the Bastille Opéra. Your serviced apartments hotel is ideally situated between Place de la Bastille and Place de la Nation, adjacent to the famous Saint Antoine university hospital. The spacious and practical serviced apartments are located in a building in a residential street, next to Reuilly-Diderot metro station and 10 minutes from the Gare de Lyon train station. Disneyland Paris is also directly accessible via public transport using the RER A rail line from Place de la Nation. Our reception is open 24/7, and our serviced apartments hotel also has a private car park (charges apply)., Whether you are staying in Paris for just one night or for several weeks, you are sure to find these serviced apartments ideal. The Bastille-Gare-de-Lyon district offers something to suit every taste. Start your day with a stroll around the Cour St-Émilion where shops and bars now fill Paris's former wine-merchants' quarters. Particularly loved by the regulars, Aligre Market is the place to go to discover a simultaneously colourful, exotic and traditional Paris. Enjoy a breath of fresh air strolling along the paths of Parc de Bercy public park, or along the Coulée Verte, a former railway that's been reborn as a green promenade. For an evening out, you have the choice of enjoying classical melodies at the Paris Opera, or a rather more rock'n'roll atmosphere at a concert at Bercy Arena. In the Apart'hotel Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris you'll find fully equipped serviced apartments decorated in a warm and welcoming style. From studios for one or two people to apartments for up to six occupants, all our serviced apartments also come complete with complementary WiFi. Weekly housekeeping is provided free of charge and guests can choose from a range of à la carte services that include meal delivery, babysitting and car rentals. And whether you are on holiday or a business trip, take advantage of the private garden for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Paris Bastille Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing