We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Ranked #431 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed on this hotel during Easter. We were four. Me and my wife and two kids, 10 and 14. We got a family-room, the room was fine, clean and we had enough space there.
Breakfast was good. We had dinner the evening we came to the hotel. The dinner was fine and service good.
The downside of the hotel for us, was that it took a bit of time to get to the usual landmarks, Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, etc. But the hotel is situated at the Gare de Lyon train-station so that was not so bad, but it could take a couple of trains in the subway to get to where we wanted to go to.
I could recommend this hotel. But the next time I go to Paris, I would though try to be at a hotel, a bit closer to the city "center".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    1,323
    355
    89
    78
See reviews for
1,329
546
162
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon for 4 nights with our two young sons. We wanted somewhere convenient to base a visit to Paris, including a visit to Disneyland. For that, the location of the hotel is perfect. Two minutes walk from the Gare de Lyon station, which gives access to metro line 1 (to get across the city) and the A line (to get direct to Disneyland), it is extremely convenient.

As for the accommodation itself, it is perfectly functional. We had a family room for the four of us, which was not large, but sufficient given we we out most of the day. The room itself was nothing special, but had all you might expect. There are a couple of bonuses in the hotel - free wifi, and a reasonably sized indoor pool, both of which were very handy.

Breakfast was included in our price, so we ate there each day. Do not be late. As it gets later in the morning, there can be a queue out the door, and a 10-15 minute wait could be possible for a table of 4. The food was like the rooms - everything you might expect, but nothing special. We also ate in the restaurant one night for dinner - our meal was good and there was a good children's menu.

All in all, this was a good base for a short family holiday. We wanted a convenient place to base ourselves, and this hotel fulfilled that purpose. We had no real complaints, and the staff were very helpful, but equally there is little beyond the convenience of the location that makes it really stand out. Nevertheless, if we were coming to Paris again, we'd happily consider staying here once more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Our family of four stays here 4 nights. One twin size bed and 2 sofa beds.
Location is close to trains and metro station so it is very convenient. Se good restaurants around but not much to so around the hotel. It is some place you go back to sleep.
Free wifi very good but you cannot use it for Skype or any voice call because they blocked it for free one. Overall, I like the stay. Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicenza
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

tis is my first time in Novotel. every month i0m around europe in always i book 4 stars hotel. this is not ! ok, there is a swimming pool and small small gym, but the room are so old, the bathroom are the same bathroom that you find in roulotte!!!platic material everywhere!!! if you go to the bar the waiter is watching tv, and also not one talk in english!!!!!4 stars?!?!?!?!?!
for sure this is a good hotel position because by walk you can catch the paris center shop and also you have the train station just around the corner!
pay attention when you go outside, is like to be in ratatouille film!!!! family mouse around the building

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alelove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Novotel in Gare de lyon and had a decent stay. It's a handy metro ride from Gare Du Nord. We were arriving late at night and didn't want to have to change metro lines (with suitcases, pickpockets etc).

Positives:

- 2 min walk from Gare de lyon station but see negative point below
- Staff are friendly and they even gave us a free upgrade when checking in
- buffet breakfast had a great spread, although the room was a bit small
- free wifi throughout the hotel, which was great
- large, clean rooms

Negatives:

- very dodgy surroundings; you don't want to be walking by yourself, or even with your Partner at night! There are hookers that are right outside the hotel, and some very shady looking people.
- Past 11PM, the station (at least our exit) is completely deserted which makes it worse, so we ended up cabbing it back home most nights. So, any savings made because of the cost, are quickly lost of factors such as these.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Well located (by a train and underground station) , very nice staff, swimming pool, play room, free coffe and minibar, free wifi, wonderful bed : unbeatable for a family!
We did not try the restaurant, but was not too overpriced. There are many places to eat in the station or nearby streets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank withchildren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very clean room with adequate space. The bar fridge and kettle were great to have. The playpen for my daughter was the best playpen I've ever seen. It doesn't have the bar at the bottom so it was comfortable for her. The restaurant was ok. We really liked the restaurant coq au pain that was close by. There is a great bakery and grocery store close by. The bed was also comfy! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 67891234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#545 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#479 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
#498 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon

Property: Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Address: 2 rue Hector Malot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#253 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#273 Family Hotel in Paris
#346 Business Hotel in Paris
#496 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon is located in the center of Paris, opposite Gare de Lyon train station (metro 1 & 14, RER A & D). The hotel is ideal for your business trips, meetings, romantic getaways or family weekends in Paris and is close to Bastille, Bercy, Gare du Nord train station, Disneyland (direct via RER A), the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre and Opéra. The hotel has 253 renovated rooms, a bar, restaurant, indoor swimming pool and a fitness center for your well-being. Free Wi-Fi and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Gare De Lyon
Paris Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing