We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a quiet street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Ranked #899 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

For what it is, this is a decent Paris hotel. Make sure you pay to get the rooms above their bottom of the barrel level; the very basic ones are too small. Front desk is typically Parisian. Some of the rooms have nice modern bathrooms.

I have read some comments that it is far from Metro. I easily made it on foot from CDG with all my luggage from the nearest stop, which is like four city blocks away.

It is a quiet neighborhood, which is nice, but e prepared to go elsewhere for a night out

Room Tip: If you want a more modern room, ask for one behind the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oakparker300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 393 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

My daughter and I went to Paris over Thanksgiving. This is in a quiet area, but if you are a walker, it is an easy distance to the Seine, Eiffle Tower, Notre Dame and Latin Quarter. Great breakfast, friendly staff, clean rooms. As anywhere is France, if you make an effort to speak French, they will usually respond kindly and be very helpful in English.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RMR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel.


Best regards
Carole ALLALI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Quiet location, nice and clean room. we had a room with a garden view, as we asked when booking. We only wished that we could also visit the garden, but it was closed:(. Pretty big bathroom. Loved breakfast.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AlinaMassier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

On quiet Vaneau Street, the Hotel de Suede, near St Germain de Pres is centrally located. I was surprised by the size of its rooms because in Paris, rooms in this hotel category are usually extra small. The hotel rooms here are big, the bathrooms comfortable. It is not luxurious but very clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Did not like the safety box location (in the closet's floor which made it uncomfortable), and the toiletries (shampoo, etc) are not very good quality, the tv is quite small. The bed was a bit soft in the middle since there are two matresses put together to make one king size bed. But all in all it is a very good choice at its price range.

Room Tip: We had room 6, quite big, very quiet and dark for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megustaviajar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hotel de Suede is a nice little hotel, fairly priced and with a wonderful continental breakfast. However, the staff at the registration desk could have been A LOT more helpful. Their indifference was remarkable. When we asked for the closest train station to get to Versailles they sent us to one that was closed for renovations! I guess I should have asked for the closest OPEN train station. Another employee gave us incomplete directions to a restaurant she recommended. We got lost, finally found the restaurant and upon arrival, the maitre d' looked at us like we were crazy to be there without a reservation. It would have been nice if she called for us to see if they could accommodate our party of 5. Something like this happened every day we stayed there. Again, the hotel itself is lovely and this is a fixable problem. The staff at the Hotel de Suede is the total opposite of "above and beyond." They need an "attitude adjustment."

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allali, Manager at Hotel de Suede St. Germain, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guests,

We have had some extra staff replacing our regular staff during holidays and we are very sorry if they gave you some wrong recommandations.

We are very attentive to guests and their requests, so please accept our apologizes,


Best regards
Carole ALLALI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had four nights here and were happy with the choice. On quiet street to begin with we had a room on the back side overlooking the French ministry gardens. The rooms are a typical size for Paris, renovated and clean. Our only problem was internet access, since we did not have mobile service and had to depend on wireless. Other than that this is a great choice for a three star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtinbreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Location, in a quiet street off a wonderful part of Paris is outstanding.
The top floor single room I stayed in was tiny but functional and had all the amenities one would expect from a Parisian three star hotel with plasma TV, hairdryer, aircopnditioning... The toilet was really squeezed in, but the shower was relatively spacious. Room was modern, and spotlessly clean.
Room rate at 126 Euros (internet rate) per night was unbeatable given the stars, the loaction, and the busy season.
Breakfast at 13 Euros was not cheap but offered quality products and a broad choice.
The reception was friendly and efficient.
Two drawbacks. WIFI is not complimentary and really expensive, and the complimentary morning papers they offer are exclusively in French.

Room Tip: If you book a single room, it is truly for ONLY one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Derby Eiffel Hotel
#795 of 1,805 in Paris
595 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
#1,236 of 1,805 in Paris
246 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain
Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain
#540 of 1,805 in Paris
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#878 of 1,805 in Paris
400 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
#732 of 1,805 in Paris
234 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#495 of 1,805 in Paris
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Suede St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Suede St. Germain

Address: 31 rue Vaneau, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#546 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $153 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Suede St. Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Suede St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suede St Germain Paris
Hotel Suede St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing