We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Suede St. Germain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Ranked #745 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
St Aignan Sur Roe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

In a very quiet street with parking. Chose delux room for extra space which is a good idea if you're going to spend any time in the room. Lovely beds. Nice bathroom.
Shame about the peeling paintwork but opening windows, facing the park at the rear were a bonus. Reasonable serve yourself breakfast but not many places available when busy.
No tea/coffee making in room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTPStAignanSurRoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    182
    65
    19
    11
See reviews for
94
133
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craon, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The quietest little hotel we have ever stayed in, very little noise from any other guests in adjacent rooms, which can be a problem in France.
We had a triple room (Delux number 65) on top 6th floor ( there is a small lift) , overlooking a green park so very peaceful and quiet. Beds excellent, bathroom with large window excellent.
Paintwork in the room needed updating. Two huge east facing opening windows with shutters. Aircon unit.
Use of the safe costs extra. Continental eat as much as you want breakfast was ok or use nearby small cafés for a simple basic juice,croissant and coffee for much less cost.
No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.

Nearest Metro is St Francis Xavier ( 8 mins level walk)
Mini supermarket almost next door. But try the great deli at Bon Marché only a few mins walk away, wonderful for super picnic purchases ( and anything else!)
Well located for the monuments, museums, restaurants etc at the Eiffel Tower end of Paris less than 30 mins easy walk.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Went there this last weekend for three nights, and was pleasantly surprised. In a quiet street yet no more than a few minutes walk from the metro. Staff were most welcoming and friendly. Would definately stay here again. Theres a fantastic fish restaurant just around the corner too which warrants another visit next time we stsy there.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toriajaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We took a weekend getaway to Paris and stayed at this hotel and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Location is fantastic with both the Varenne and Invalides metro stops within walking distance. Extremely close to the Musee Rodin and Napoleon's Tomb.

Check in was quick and easy. We booked through expedia so everything was already paid for except for the city fees (1 euro per person per night), and also extra amenities such as breakfast or phone service. The front desk people were very helpful and spoke very good English, which is also something that we discovered throughout most of the city. The lobby was clean and comfortable, and there was a little garden outside the back door. The elevator was a little small, but very fast.

We stayed in Room 56 with a view of the air conditioning unit right below and then some trees and a nice garden in the distance. The room was just the right size for us, but it could be seen as a little small to some people. If you are very tall then you would probably find the bathroom to be cramped. The room was very clean, and the bed was extremely comfy. We could tell that the bathroom had recently been remodeled so everything was beautiful. The shower was very nice and like I already mentioned, really really clean.

Room service came in every day and cleaned. They replaced EVERYTHING when they cleaned, not just the open things.

Overall great value and fantastic location. Really close walking distance to many attractions, and just about everything is within a reasonable distance as long as the weather is nice. If you're not much for walking the metro is very close by to take you wherever you need to go! I will definitely be staying here the next time I come to Paris.

Tip: Take a pass on the breakfast provided. It's 30 euros per person, and while there is a lot of variety, there are many bakeries and cafes nearby that can provide a delicious and authentic Parisian breakfast at a fraction of the cost!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alundgren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We went there with our 6-years old son. Location is very good: near Metro, Invalides, Museum Rodin, Open Tour bus station... Really good location if you want to discover Paris by foot.
BUT... the hotel is the worst one we stayed at! (And we have been to Paris 5 times!) The room was very boring, a lot of things were broken... Doors, windows...The safety box was a box with a key! (no code). Water was dropping from a spotlight in our bathroom! No compensation though we complained.
We could hear what our neighbours said and done, and air condition was broken.
It got very cold in the room at night but there were no extra covers/sheets to use, only thin fleece! I had to sleep in a t-shirt.
Stuff was friendly but they wanted to charge us for the breakfast that we had prepayed.

The breakfast: not so much choice at all. You have to get up early for getting a table (we had to sit in a sofa, there were no tables available). It takes a lot of time for stuff to get more food when anything finished. Most of the guests were irritated at that.

I cant´recommend the hotel to anybody. It gets two points only because of the location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Mixed. I've stayed In capital cities all over Europe - this is the most money we've spent and this hotel was nothing compared to cheaper hotels in Rome, Madrid etc. Room was cleaned regularly, nice bathroom, but curtains hung in such a way to conceal holes in Walls!
Staff not helpful. Asked to book a taxi & they looked at me as if i'd asked the earth. Lots of frowns & " it's nor usual for hotels to book taxis for guests."
Of course if they'd been bothered they could have told me a bus takes you direct to Gare du Norte at the bottom of the street!
Don't use an Italian restaurant within 100 yards of hotel. They added 20 euro to our bill without good reason - dispicable.
Hotel itself has lovely lounge. Breakfasts great. A nice little courtyard to relax in. Location superb. Central Paris - lots if things walkable.
This hotel bills itself as being family friendly. It's not. Lights not working on landings / corridors unlit. The fire alarm went off one night & we had to wake our toddler and carry him terrified outside. It was a false alarm of course. Guy on front desk:"sometimes it goes off for no reason".
We booked this thru lastminute.com which included breakfast. This didn't stop the hotel trying to add breakfast to our bill!!! We refused to pay this of course.
All in all v v mixed experience. It costs a bomb and what u get is not good value. But then again Paris is expensive beyond words. No la la

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dickiemozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The hotel is located in the 7th district, the neighborhood is safe & quiet, close to the Eiffel Tower. Nice and clean hotel, junior suites are fine and spacious . Two metro stations are within an relaxed walk, but weather permitting you can get to any place in central Paris by foot.

Cons: paid internet access, Meteor networks wi-fi. Skype Access works too.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
#985 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
#1,232 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#770 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Empereur
Hotel de l'Empereur
#241 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Latour Maubourg
Hotel de Latour Maubourg
#582 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#799 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Suede St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Suede St. Germain

Property: Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Address: 31 rue Vaneau, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#548 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Suede St. Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Suede St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suede St Germain Paris
Hotel Suede St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing