We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but....”
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Westminster
Ranked #245 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Loved the location, very central. But, I have to say for the price we paid, our room was not much bigger than a closet. We we're put on the top floor which I can say was probably a converted attic. Front desk staff was great, very helpful. Loved the bar and bar service was superb, even if it was over priced. Probably would look for another hotel if we go back again....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindynsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your most recent stay at The Westminster Paris.

We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, especially with our service quality, the staff, location.

I would like to let you know that we are now working on our hotel enhancement project so you may rest assured that the problem concerning this point will be taken care of.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have been to this hotel for the last 6 months..This is a great location, great rooms, great front desk service and excellent price for the room. However, for the price can you at least ensure your internet works for people who would like to just do Skype or Facetime. I am not looking at downloading movies or play video games..Would just like to speak to family. Facetime does not work in video and not even in Audio. to up the service they need 7 Euro's per day which I think is just preposterous. I love the place and would have given 5 rating, but in today age not providing this basic service is bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seemesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your sharing, your concerns, and it’s our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The location is fantastic but I didn't think the staff was very helpful. Besides paying 7 euro for a saucer of coffee and 10 euro for water, the staff wasn't very eager to assist. The rooms were small and the furniture overpowers the room. They could have skipped the desk that was near the window and chair and I would have been able to open the window easily. Besides the overpriced drinks, I didn't think the luggage attendant was eager to assist. When we checked out, I had to help my friend with her luggage while hotel attendants watched. Someone should have been alert that we were leaving and had an eye out as to where are luggage was situated. Besides being near the opera house, would probably never stay here again. Also, the cleaning ladies waiting outside your door waiting for you to leave. That's kinda odd to me, go to the next room.

Room Tip: Don't order coffee or water unless you don't mind paying 7 or 10 euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your most recent stay at The Westminster Paris.

We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.

I wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with your room and the service but please rest assured we have shared your feedbacks with our team.

We appreciate your sharing, your concerns, and it’s our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Once again, I would like to apologize for all the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay, I hope that you will accept to give us another chance to change your perception of our property.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely location, reception full of old fashioned charm, sadly the room that we had was very shabby, wallpaper peeling and scuffed, bathroom very small with no extractor working, lift next to it very noisy. Room so small no where to put luggage, and desk rammed against bed so that it had to be shut up to get into bed!the next door rooms bathroom next to bed - it was like being in there with them! The staff however were very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't go for room 505!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your most recent stay at The Westminster Paris.

Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.


I would like to let you know that we are now working on our hotel enhancement project so you may rest assured that the problem concerning this point will be taken care of.

We appreciate your sharing, your concerns, and it’s our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our first trip to Paris and the service at this hotel was impeccable! Our room wasn't ready when we arrived because we were early but they held our bags and promised to have it ready before check-in which was at 3. They upgraded our room to a junior suite which was quite nice. We had a sitting room with a desk, loveseat, chair and TV. The bedroom was through an archway. The furniture pieces were antique and the bed was very comfortable. As promised, our room was ready when we came back at 1:30. The staff were all polite and the concierge was especially helpful and friendly in giving us directions and getting museum tickets for us.
The location was good and I would highly recommend this hotel. The room was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pacmom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are honoured that, for your stay, you have taken the time to leave your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, especially with our service quality, the staff, location and the comfort in the room. Our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Paris

Kind regards,


Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have been back here at least a half dozen times now. You cannot beat the price and location balance for this hotel. You are located in the heart of Paris about a block to the old Opera House and two blocks from Place Vendome. The hotel is old, but that adds to its charm. It is also about 70% of the cost of hotels in the area with a very classic Paris feel. Also, the bartender (Gerard) is excellent. He has remembered me on each of my visits back. Makes me feel at home.

Room Tip: Splurge for the higher priced rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKShier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Such a fantastic review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor!

Your kind words give us great joy. Our ambassadors take great pride in providing excellent service and I have shared your nice comment with all of them.

It would be wonderful for our ambassadors to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was my Fourth visit to the Westminster. The second time since last November. It is a classic hotel. It is located next to all the big brand stores. Cartier and Dunhill are on either side, Gallerie La Fayette, the Opera, etc all around the corner. My favourite shop for suites, DLM, is around the corner from Dunhill.
The entrance, the reception, the bar, the restaurant are all what you would expect of an elegant classic hotel in the heart of the city. The staff are delightful and helpful whether cleaning staff, concierge, reception and management. It is clearly a very service minded hotel which are not always plentiful in Paris. It has a fantastic atmosphere. The restaurant, Celadon, is star rated and deserves it. The bar in front of the restaurant is in the old-fashioned British club style.
I also enjoyed the fitness room, hamam and spa on the 5th floor, which is another excellent reason to chose this hotel. Congratulations for a very well run hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Such a fantastic review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor!

Our ambassadors are truly passionate about their profession, they bring the hotel to life, a ray of sunshine to everyday life and place their considerable talents at the service of our guests.
On behalf of all ambassadors we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#108 of 1,809 in Paris
1,115 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mansart - Esprit de France
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#227 of 1,809 in Paris
1,025 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Daunou Opera
Hotel Daunou Opera
#521 of 1,809 in Paris
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Address: 13 rue de la Paix, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#159 Business Hotel in Paris
#170 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#222 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $217 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An utterly sophisticated choice that is without equal among the luxury hotels of Paris; the Hôtel Westminster is considered by many to be the Crown Jewel of authentic, historical Paris hotels. Named after the Duke of Westminster, who resided in this sumptuous property in the 19th Century, the Hotel Westminster is a luxury hotel offering magnificent rooms and suites. The Hotel Westminster also boasts elegant meeting venues and one star Michelin dining, which have proven popular with major figures from the world of the arts, business and fashion, who have been guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing