We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Westminster
Ranked #220 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“lovely”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was delighted with my stay at Hotel Westminster. Room 338 was lovely and spacious. Breakfast was excellent and this hotel's location is highly convenient and desirable. Friendly and helpful staff . I'm so looking forward to my next visit in Paris and staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to read that you experienced the hotel and the location to be superb and our ambassadors as friendly, helpful and professional.

Our ambassadors wish to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    247
    99
    57
    25
See reviews for
160
411
55
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I'm giving the hotel a 4 star despite the title of my review for the below reasons.

I stayed at the westminster for a week with husband and toddler. As mentioned in other reviews, the location is great, nice for shopping for expensive jewelry and walking distance to les champs elysees (if you are in shape), galeries lafayette and printemps.

I experienced great service from the staff and when i asked to change room because of a musty smell in my room, a nice young man worked some magic with a smile and a great attitude. Yes the hotel is obviously dated but it was clean and i can certainly recommend it and will consider going back. I have stayed in much fancier hotels but this place made me feel comfortable with a nice easy feel.

In addition to the above, upon departure I forgot my child's coat in the closet. I called and requested that they send it to me, they found it and agreed but after a while they couldn't locate it and so they offered to replace it. I was a bit annoyed but as mentioned above the level of service was spot on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GammelMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Such a fantastic review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor!

We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.

Your kind words give us great joy. Our ambassadors take great pride in providing excellent service and I have shared your nice comment with all of them.

It would be wonderful for our ambassadors to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Great position but the rest didn't live up to expectations.
It's expensive (with a massive single room supplement) and I have stayed in many cheaper but much nicer hotels with better facilities.
The room I had was very tired and dated in decor and it was very small- just enough room to walk around the bed! The bathroom although clean was again tiny and very dated in its fixtures and fittings- no luxury here unfortunately.
The room was also VERY noisy- you could hear the ancient lift working, people walking around overhead and talking and banging from the room next door.
Check in was very slow and disorganised- we waited for ages at an empty reception desk before someone came to assist us and then the receptionist didn't seem to know what she was doing and rudely kept ignoring us to answer phone calls- not what you expect in a top rate hotel!
Sadly very disappointed- not worth the expensive price tag

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Honri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the hotel Westminster and for taking time to provide us your feedback regarding your stay.

I wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with your room and the service but please rest assured we have shared your feedbacks with our team.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

I would like to let you know that we are now working on our hotel enhancement project so you may rest assured that the problem concerning this point will be taken care of.

Once again, I would like to apologize for all the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay, I hope that you will accept to give us another chance to change your perception of our property.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Took my wife here for our first wedding anniversary.

They allowed us to check-in early at no extra charge. All staff we encountered were friendly and spoke excellent English (allowing me to be able to keep my questionable GCSE French to myself)

The room we had was on the small side, however I am not so naive to think that you would get a suite in the centre of Paris for the price paid (£180 per night I seem to remember). The room was very clean, comfortable bed, and English TV for when we wanted to flop down at the end of a day. The only reason this place does not get an excellent rating is due to the extortionate price for drinks. A can of Fanta was 10 Euros and a bottle of Corona was 13 Euros - it made us feel a bit cheap when we had to scuttle through reception hiding bottled water and some wine from the supermarket!

Having said that, perhaps we need to be a bit better off before staying at a hotel like this, because it does not pretend to be cheap and cheerful - a beautiful building, great staff and on the whole a wonderful stay - thanks Hotel Westminster!

Room Tip: Do ask staff for help on restaurant recommendations and taxis - they were very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HereAndThere1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your most recent stay at The Westminster Paris.

Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very chic, totally in classical "Belle Époque" style, confortable. We had a very special treatment from the employees that made us feel important in a city so crowded that you usually feel like just one more in the crowd.
Breakfast is not included in the price for the night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Such a fantastic review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor!

Your kind words give us great joy. Our ambassadors take great pride in providing excellent service and I have shared your nice comment with all of them.

It would be wonderful for our ambassadors to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this beautoful property during our Paris trip.
First of all, you have to know that this hotel offer best location for every type of trip within Paris - close to the shopping malls, cafes, restaurants, historical sites.
Negatives: as someone wrote before me, slow check-in, not ready room - it is true. I have to say, staff is the weakness of this hotel. Front Office - work without system, under pressure, no smile, sometimes you feel very uncomfortable. Restaurant staff - we ordered breakfast only, very avarege and limited choice for 30 EUR/person and day, but the biggest problem - staff: no smile, remoteness.
Positives: location, location, location. Room quality, hotel cosmetics and cleanliness very good.
I can truly reccomend this property to all travellers, try to check for special packages, to pay more than 200 EUR/night is waste of Money (we payed more than 800 for 3 nights).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Directeur général at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed conveniently located for all our guests. Luxurious shopping areas, beautiful museums are all within walking distance.

Your constructive feedback regarding your experiences is much appreciated. As your feedback is considered as a valuable tool to ensure consistency in our usually high level service, we have shared your feedback with our ambassadors.

I would like to express my true disappointment for the experiences you had with the service. This is not according to our usual high standard of service we offer to our guests. On behalf of all Westminster Ambassadors, I would like to apologize for these discomforts.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in Paris.

Kind regards,


Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent Christmas at the hotel after a flight from Chicago. Surprisingly, our room was ready at 10:00 am! The staff was most helpful, especially House Manager Belen. She was cheerful and delighted to see us. It was most heartwarming, especially since we were dog-tired.
Hint, hint....try out your French..."Bonjour", "Ca va", and "Merci beaucoup" are the best way to introduce yourself. Remember, you are not in Kansas anymore.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zosia-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Such a fantastic review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor!

Our ambassadors are truly passionate about their profession, they bring the hotel to life, a ray of sunshine to everyday life and place their considerable talents at the service of our guests.
On behalf of all ambassadors we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#130 of 1,798 in Paris
911 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#153 of 1,798 in Paris
333 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mansart - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Stendhal Place Vendome Paris - MGallery Collection
Opera / Bourse
Golden Tulip Opera De Noailles
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Property: Hotel Westminster
Address: 13 rue de la Paix, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Paris
#148 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#160 Business Hotel in Paris
#224 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#233 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An utterly sophisticated choice that is without equal among the luxury hotels of Paris; the Hôtel Westminster is considered by many to be the Crown Jewel of authentic, historical Paris hotels. Named after the Duke of Westminster, who resided in this sumptuous property in the 19th Century, the Hotel Westminster is a luxury hotel offering magnificent rooms and suites. The Hotel Westminster also boasts elegant meeting venues and one star Michelin dining, which have proven popular with major figures from the world of the arts, business and fashion, who have been guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing