We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Dependable Hotel in a great area of Paris”
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Westminster
Ranked #245 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My employer has a discounted rate here, so I always chose this first for price but secondly for great service. Rooms are tastefully decorated and have typical european beds. That translates to "don't expect full American sized Queens or King beds", but they are comfortable. This hotel has many different suites on the 6th floor. The elevator is a little quirky but efficient. The service in the Dukes Bar is welcoming and the staff remembers you. The front desk staff is extremely helpful. In fact I had a booking issue where my last night in Paris was not booked and I was due to attend dinner with colleagues at the same time they wanted us out of the room. We could have been stranded our last night in Paris without a place to sleep but the very kind and helpful front desk manager (I forget her name) helped us secure a room at another hotel in very short order.

Will always return to the Westminster when in Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite on the 6th floor inner courtyard. They are quiet with no noise of the streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are honoured that, for your stay, you have taken the time to leave your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.
Our Staff ambassadors make great efforts to ensure that all our guests can enjoy a pleasant stay. Please rest assured I have shared your magnificent words with them.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Paris

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Westminster for three nights in late July. The hotel is conveniently located next to Opera and pl. Vandome, and 10 minute walk to Louvre and Tuileries. The staff is very friendly. Especial kudos to concierge who got us reservations to Jules Verne (atop of Eiffel) and planned an entire two day trip to Marseille. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imodlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to make your observations regarding your most recent stay at The Westminster Paris.

We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It goes without saying that we really appreciate such positive feedbacks about our location, our staff, and our overall service.

We certainly hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you another time at The Westminster Paris .

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Westminster is home from home in Paris. It has a great atmosphere of quality, professionalism and friendliness.
The location cannot be bettered, and when you enter from the busy Paris streets, you are immediately cosseted by the friendly and efficient staff. The hotel has a traditional and chic style which is lovely. But the outstanding feature is the quality of the staff team, who do everything to make guests feel personally special. This comes right from the top, with the General Manager, Emmanuel Traore leading by example in his individual attention to guests. The cosy and welcoming Duke's bar, headed by the superb Gerard, is great for relaxing with a cocktail after a busy day, while listening to live piano music. And Alain makes dinner in the top class Le Celadon restaurant a special treat. The relatively new reception manager Belen, has made her mark with energy and friendliness; and guests could not hope for a better concierge service than Jean-Charles and Nicolas. You get the message - it is the team that make this hotel the special place it is.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your marvellous words about The TEAM of The Hotel Westminster Paris.

We highly appreciate our loyal guests and it delights me that our ambassadors took great care of you during your Stay.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel Westminster has great location. Walking distance to Metro station, department stores ( Printemps and Galeries Lafayette) and Saint-Honore. There are also lots of nice restaurants near by.
Their staffs also very helpful and friendly. My favorite is their concierge. They are so knowledgeable, helpful, professional and friendly. As a business traveler, I go to Paris twice a year. They helped me discover Paris and neighborhood in Opera area. I went to so many different restaurants, and fun places, all thanks to their suggestions.
Hotel manager also very nice, there is one time, I had some negative experience, he made sure everything was fixed.
I've been staying in this hotel for about 4-5 years now, I really enjoy it. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faithandhope20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at The Hotel Westminster Paris and for leaving your review here on TripAdvisor.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and it is a delight to read that you really enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our ambassadors take great pride in letting our guests leave impressed.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Paris in the future.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Westminster is a lovely boutique hotel in a wonderful location. The staff are very courteous and friendly and make you feel well taken care of and special. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was delicious and the intimate environment overall we very much enjoyed. Given the location of the larger hotels which were much more expensive the value is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurine H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Westminster Hotel during your recent stay in Paris and taking the time to share your comments with us.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for the very positive review of our hotel.
We will share your feedback with our management and teams. Our staff is working hard to make sure every guest feels special and it is always very encouraging when our guests compliment their involvement.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to the Westminster Hotel.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a very hot day and immediately on entering the beautifully furnished foyer we were greeted with a sense of elegance, calm and efficient air-conditioning. You can tell from the first moment you put your foot in a hotel whether it's efficiently run and the Westminster definitely is. The charming man on the desk gave us an upgrade to a suite and took us personally to the room, which was vast and with a properly separate sitting room.
The antique furnishings were old world plush and the beds divinely comfortable. The bathroom was large but a little old-fashioned but certainly adequate, and the Bulgari toiletries excellent. Breakfasts were nicely done and the service as charming as it was helpful. During one breakfast there was a power-cut and the staff rose to the occasion with good humour and the restaurant was quickly filled with candles and turned into a fairyland; we were rather disappointed when the power came back on!
All in all a top class and stylish hotel with friendly service, a fabulous location and with prices that are far more reasonable than other Parisian luxury hotels. We can't wait to return, even if we couldn't normally afford to book a suite.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your grand words about our hotel and ambassadors.

Please rest assured I will share your kind words with all our ambassadors. It comes from their personal passion and spirit to ‘know when you might need something’ and it is because of them that we are able to make your stay unforgettable.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at The hotel Westminster Paris.

Kind regards,
Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked this hotel because it offered family sized rooms. The room was large enough for a Paris hotel. In fact the hotel is very nice. It is lacking however in service. Specifically, the concierge staff. We received bad information to virtually every inquiry. They sent us to the Eiffel Tower without knowing that there was a labor strike underway and as a result there was no access to the top. We mentioned that we were interested in a tour of the parc des princes stadium and were told that there were no tours. We went on the website and learned that tours were offered daily! Every time I asked for a restaurant recommendation in a particular area of the city I was told - "they are all good." We asked for a recommendation for a creperie near the hotel and were told that there are none. We found one on our own a few blocks from the hotel. I was told to "walk down any street and you will find many good restaurants." I have never been unable to get a restaurant recommendation from a concierge before. The hotel is nicely decorated and is in a pretty good location from which to explore the city but for those prices I would expect a more helpful concierge staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYtravelers172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, General Manager at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Hotel Westminster and for taking time to provide us your feedback regarding your recent experience with our property.

I wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with the conciergerie service and please rest assured we have shared your feedbacks with our team.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to improve our quality of service.

Once again, I would like to apologize for all the conveniences that you encountered during your stay, I hope that you will accept to give us another chance to change your perception of our property.

Yours sincerely,
Emmanuel Traoré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Edouard 7
Hotel Edouard 7
#108 of 1,809 in Paris
1,115 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mansart - Esprit de France
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#227 of 1,809 in Paris
1,025 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Daunou Opera
Hotel Daunou Opera
#521 of 1,809 in Paris
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Address: 13 rue de la Paix, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#159 Business Hotel in Paris
#170 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#222 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $217 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An utterly sophisticated choice that is without equal among the luxury hotels of Paris; the Hôtel Westminster is considered by many to be the Crown Jewel of authentic, historical Paris hotels. Named after the Duke of Westminster, who resided in this sumptuous property in the 19th Century, the Hotel Westminster is a luxury hotel offering magnificent rooms and suites. The Hotel Westminster also boasts elegant meeting venues and one star Michelin dining, which have proven popular with major figures from the world of the arts, business and fashion, who have been guests of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing