We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Pulitzer
Nearby Hotels
$334
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$226
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$174
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$351
$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$214
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$543
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Saint James Paris(Paris)
$511
$498
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,619
$1,138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$715
$679
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveler rating
213
258
59
24
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
258
59
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspainted blackgrand boulevardstandard roomstylish hotelair freshenerany assistancedouble windowsgaleries lafayettefresh fruitopera districtsubway stopwalking distancetop floorrestaurants and barsbooked a superior roomroom was a bit smallhop on hop
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 569 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We used to love that hotel when it belonged to the other hotel chain. It used to be clean, very well furnished, rooms were big and bright and everything was clean and bright and good quality. For many years when we visited Paris we were staying in that very hotel, so this is why this year we just booked the rooms without checking any pictures - we knew it was supposed to be good. Boy, was I shocked!!!!
It had been totally redecorated and now in the hall and in the breakfast area it looks like dark dangeon - all walls are black and furniture is of dirty and rusty looking iron. Have you ever tried to sit on an iron chair? Do not try - it is very uncomfortable and cold. Corridor walls are also painted black and the whole atmosphere is very suffocating and looks like a bordello (I have never been to one but saw in the movies). Inside the building was totally replanned, so now rooms are tiny - you can hardly walk between walls and a bed (standard room). The bathroom looks like a dirty underground bathroom which has never been cleaned. And I really wonder whether it actually has ever been - walls are painted with dirty looking paint, so if you do not wash the shower stall nobody would notice - it already looks dirty to begin with. Because there are so many doors in the corridor and they bang horribely the hotel is very noisy. Besides, as rooms are very small, people keep colliding with iron furniture and iron chairs so it also makes lots of noise from neighbor rooms during night.
The only good thing which remains in this hotel is a good breakfast - I think breakfast is up to the level of a 4 stars hotel - there were fruits, omelettes, eggs, sausages, several brands of cheese and ham and salami, cereal and juices. So breakfast was excellent. But the breakfast area is also dark - all walls are painted black - tables and chairs are from iron and when I say from iron it does not mean stainless steel, it means raw iron which looks rusted and dirty. On the ceiling there re some misterious tubes which are hanging above your head very low.
So overall the atmosphere of that hotel is very suffocating, dark and depressing. Bathrooms in rooms look dirty and depressing as well. I am never going to step my foot in that hotel ever again and it is such a pity - it is situated very conveniently and breakfast is good, but this decoration can make anyone depressed.
If you want to experience spending a night in dirty underground surroundings it is much cheaper to actually sleep on the dirty floor of underground tiles, because the feeling is the same when being in that room, and especially in that bathroom. But I can never imagine that anybody would actually like to sleep on dirty tiles of underground, so why go to that hotel and pay lots of money (it isn´t a cheap hotel)?
PS. I do not know where that picture for that room from the booking site been taken, but the real room surely does not look like that even remotely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your coment and thank you for your fidelity.

We understand your surprise when arriving if you did not know about our new decoration (in the entire hotel), finished since 2 years now.

You are right that this new decoration is completely different as the previous one, and we understand that you do not like it. It is in fact a modern decoration, with a lot of "black", and "lack "of natural light; with soft lights.

We are really sorry that this decoration and style does not correspond to you desire.

Yours Sincerely

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Avis de: Kees et Jacqueline (Pays-Bas)

The hotel is situated close to a lot of Paris' highlights in a lively neighbourhood. The famous Opera Palais Garnier is at walking distance. You'll find restaurants offering food from many nationalities 'round the corner. Last, but certainly not least, the rooms are very clean, the buffet breakfast is perfect and the personnel is kind and correct. We have stayed here now for more than 10 times and always leave with the best kind of feelings.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c_koedooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Jacqueline & Kees,

Thank you very much for being one of our best guests since now 10 years!

Thank you for your permanent smile, kindness and understanding with all of us.

Yours Sincerely

Yolanda & all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We visited this hotel last year in October and we stayed for 5 nights. First we got a room on the first floor but after a and hour we started to hear some strange noises. We called the receptionist and it was said to us, that there is a problem with an air conditioner and it could be repaired the other day. We were offered another room even though i had taken a shower there. The second room on the upper floor was fortunately without any problem.
Rooms are a bit small, but everything is clean and nice. Just the shower is very flat the water overflows and you have to be carefull when youre stepping off.
I liked our neighbouhood, there were 2 metro lines in walking distance.
Thank you for a good stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praguer507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Guest

We are really glad with your comment about our hotel; we all thank you very much for your kindness and sympathie.

We keep at your disposal and are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Nice and fresh design hotel situated close to the boulevards and close to several subway stations (Paris is huge, subs is the absolutely fastest way to get around, lots faster than taxi). Large and functional bath room, decent breakfast and nice interior.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank from_oslo_with_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Guest

We all would like to thank you about your nice comment about our hotel.

We still remain at your entire disposal and we are looking forward to serving you once again.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Poorly. The hotel is decadent. Very small room, toilet overflows, we spent three days and one without air conditioning and one without hot water. We get the impression that the hotel was renovated but not taken care of facilities for water and air conditioning. The staff is very kind and friendly but do not know how to solve the problems that happens all the time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Dear Guest

We apologize once again for that Water problem we had last Friday 11th in the morning . We advised all our guests in advance about, as we had been advised from the city of Paris about it.

We understand the disagrement and we tried to do our best for all our guests in the hotel.

We had during your stay an spectacular, too warm day. A single day during this month with Autum temperatures and rain almost every day. Days before and afterward we need to heat rooms.
We could not unfortunatelly guarantee having air conditionning that day, as we could not be sure of it, so prefer to be honest with you.
We finally managed to have the air conditionning in the late afternoon as we informed to you. You confirmed to us the next morning that you room was fresh. Thank you very much.

We would be pleased to welcome you next time and we will do our best to make your stay unforgeteable.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews