We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture
Ranked #1,134 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Masschusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a 3 star hotel”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Looking at the pictures posted on the hotel web site, hotel/room looked very nice. However, pictures don't show how tired and shabby looking the hotel really is. Walls and trim stained and chipped. Very small & dark hallway and again walls, doors dirty looking and needs a good coat of paint. I think we had the room shown on the web site which overlooks the street across from St. Augustine church. Furniture very old and shabby and when we went look under the "desk" to find an outlet, found lots of dust.(Same behind the nightstands) During the day, having the large windows was great as they let in a lot of light. However at night they were a problem as the large grommets at the top let in all the light from the street. Also, the curtains were basically vinyl light-blockers and had several pinholes-they also did not completely cover the windows, The bathroom was also in need of complete rehab-tile and grout broken and stained. Corner by tub very dirty. Tub very deep but no hand rail to get out-could see the hand prints on the wall where others had used to get out. Not enough hooks to hang towels. We did not use the breakfast service as it was very pricy. Hotel is over priced given the condition-would be a one star hotel in the states.

So what was good: location - St. Augustine metro stop very close. If you like walking then can easily get to the Opera and Arc De Triomphe areas. Staff helpful but I was unable to talk to the manager. Daily New York Times newspaper. Mattress and linens fine-no bugs or mice seen anywhere. Room size adequate. TV did have an English speaking channel. Bells/noise from road not a problem. Could be a nice hotel if the management would spend the money on maintenance and a good steam machine!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderingRose36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    67
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
19
69
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
308 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel offered real good value for our short break to Paris. Great location, only 15min by walking from the Arc de Triomphe and about the same to Jardin des Tuileries. The room was tiny but good enough for two. It was clean and had lots of closet space. There was a small balcony as well. The noise from outside didn't bother us at all since the windows really blocked it well. We didn't have any breakfast but it was about 14e and you could order it to the room for the same price. Staff was great, genuinely friendly and attentive. We'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Good Location in the city centre. Close to Underground Station. Room is clean and spacious for hotel in Paris. Friendly staffs at Concierge who offered us map and showed us directions where we want to go. Though our room is next to Main Street but was not noisy. Good value for money. Will come back next time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Quality Hotel Malesherbes in mid-July 2013. The room was clean upon arrival, and the location was good and promising for a four days stay in Paris. But we were soon to be disappointed by the service of the breakfast and the cleaning of the room. In 3 out of 4 breakfasts we had to ask frequently for more of everything. They were out of bread, coffee, juice. . . It seemed they didn't care too much for their guests. After returning from days of sightseeing we also noticed lack of soap etc in the bathroom. When we asked for more we were sent to the store room ourselves to get what we needed. If the hotel could improve these things impression would have been far better. But with kids these things matters. Maybe the hotel doesn't want guests with kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familytraveller0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Myself and 3 other girls stayed here over Bastilles week-end 2013 for 3 nights. The people at the reception desk were really friendly and helpful through out the week end from showing us on maps where to go and helping us with the computer and ordering taxi's. The rooms were lovely, yes they are on the small side but very clean and beds were really comfortable. TV worked and you can change some channels to english speaking. The location was great as there is a metro station just up the road and every where is within comfortable walking distance. The only downside I would have was that unfortunatley they were rennovating the outside of the hotel and had scaffolding covering the whole of the outside which blocked our view of the lovely Saint Augustin church. This hotel was great value for money for us and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights, a lovely light, very clean room with a door opening on to a small balcony. Nice view of the old church St Augustin, some guests may not like the bells ringing out but it did not bother us. Road noise from a very busy intersection was more noticeable but room well soundproofed. Very near to the Metro & huge shopping centre Lafayette. Coffee making facility in room, also a mini bar/fridge. Breakfast plentiful but lots of cafes & restaurants nearby if preferred. Staff friendly & very helpful.

Room Tip: 5th floor room facing the side street?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australialynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very expensive compared to what you get. It's minimal and lack of any facilities and yet you pay more than 120€ per night.
The breakfast is expensive (14€) but its a really poor buffet, definitely not worth the money.
It's clean, yes, but the rooms are really small and minimal. At least has free wifi, but with annoying ads you have to watch in order to get online

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#357 of 1,802 in Paris
411 reviews
Hotel D'albion
#837 of 1,802 in Paris
195 reviews
Hotel le Lavoisier
#845 of 1,802 in Paris
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Elysees 8
#322 of 1,802 in Paris
187 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#59 of 1,802 in Paris
667 reviews
Hotel Haussmann Saint Augustin
#1,363 of 1,802 in Paris
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture

Property: Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture
Address: 11 Place Saint Augustin, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,134 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Malherbes in the heart of Paris allows you to be close to some essential places of the city : Les Grands Magasins, the Haussman Boulevard, the Opéra Garnier, the Madeleine Square, the business district and theaters. You will be seduced by his spirit "family house" et his uncluttered lines, his harmonious tone, warm and bright. His exceptional location permit some rooms with balcony to have a view on the Saint Augustine church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Paris
Quality Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing