We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not sure!!...Overpriced for what you get.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Icone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Icone
Ranked #711 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice but not sure!!...Overpriced for what you get.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely little boutique hotel in a very good location next to lovely Restaurants and the Metro close by.
Stayed for 6 nights but was not very happy with the size of the room for such a period of time. On check-in I did go back to Reception to ask for an upgrade but at £100 extra euros per night, it didn't seem worth it and by the way the receptionist described this, didn't sound too convinced. Good hotel to stay if you are travelling for a maximum 3 nights. Housekeeping quite slow, we left the hotel at 10am and asked if the room could be cleaned as we would be back within an hour. Arrived back at 12 and the room was still not cleaned. Asked again and walked about for another hour, came back at 1:45pm, and they had only just started so was not impressed. This was by the same receptionist I asked for an upgrade for so not suprised. (All other staff were very friendly and helpful).
Room was clean, although not to the same standard everyday, and had to request for my bedding to be changed after the 4th night as it hadnt been. TV very small and guest handbook seemed old. Dirty glasses were not cleaned or replaced and on asking for Ice, was told there was none as the machine was broke. Ok, but surely there must be a freezer in the kitchen. Bathroom has a shower and bath, but the water leaks out all over the floor so not sure if that is environmentally friendly.
Restaurant/Lobby area has no life. Nice lighting but far too quiet, a little background music might work. Looks like they do breakfast but you get a good spread for 8euros around the corner.

The hotel are trying and we just had a bad experience this time round. If it wasn't for the location I wouldn't have stayed but don't think I shall return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have little balcony's Ask for the Iron and get all your clothes ironed in one day!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamLA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofiro, Propriétaire at Hotel Icone, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello Madam, Hello Sir

I am very shocked by your comment, which upsets me, so much we do our best to try and offer a Premium status to ICON HOTEL and are not used to receive this kind of remarks...
Would you be kind to indicate me your room number during your stay, that I can refer with the chambermaid who was responsible for it. Because these small details have to make the difference.

Although it is effectively, according to the influx of the Season, difficult to make a commitment on a service in the minute or an upgrade (that we are pleased to offer if availability). Nevertheless I try to teach services’ concern to my employees, and your comment is thus going to allow me to remind the propriety rules to the chambermaid who had your in responsibility, in particular.
Furthermore I would like to identify what can be the origin of the flows the flows of water at the end of the shower. We make customers’safety our priority and have a real sustainable development approach (as far as possible) as you were able to notice it if only in the ORGANIC welcome gifts at your disposal (certified Eu Ecolabel or Ecocert. and formulated with vegetable and biological origin, in delicate raw materials highly biodegradable)
And also within the small cardboard which suggests you changing your linen or keeping it. This may explains that it has not been changed in the middle of stay, if you had not made the request?

I am also going to submit your comment to the receptionist and to take the measures which are imperative.
Even if I think of having identified that it was about the sir who leaves this retired year and do not show any more effectively the same emotion and the motivation in its work... Time will make its effect and when the latter will go to take advantage of his retirement, we shall propose you the services of a Freshly motivated receptionist, as much as Juliana, you should have also met at the desk during your stay...

Do not thus hesitate to submit me by e-mail annesophie.rolland@hotelicone.com the dates of your stay (or in defect your name) and your room number, as well as your address and phone number, so that I make sure personally that your next stay at ICON will this time be an EXCELLENT souvenir, just like the even following and previous tripadvisor comments…

Have a nice day

Anne-Sophie ROLLAND
ICON Hotel PRESIDENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    175
    60
    18
    2
See reviews for
45
174
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Really nice hotel, great rooms, very clean, new and well appointed. Excellent staff, really helpful and willing to do their very best to make your stay better. The breakfast is reasonably priced for Paris and is very good, lots of variety. Very close to Richelieu Metro station and lots of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David280174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofiro, Propriétaire at Hotel Icone, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Evening Sir

We are really delighted that ICON Hotel has answered your wishes and promise you to do our best that it will be even better every times you come and visit us.... Do not hesitate to contact us directly in advance, for us to organize your next stay in excellence and upgradding way.

I wish you a nice evening and Thank you again of your kind comments which touches us a lot, so much we invest us to make of the ICON, your hotel of Parisian destination.....

Anne-Sophie ROLLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business but needed to be near the big stores! Was not sure what to expect for the euro rate especially in the centre of Paris, HOWEVER it was a great little hotel, very clean, nice decor and that was perfect for resting your head each night after long days shopping. I would suggest however breakfast out of the hotel for a true French experience!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SachaSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofiro, Propriétaire at Hotel Icone, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Good Afternoon Sir,

Thank you so much for your attractive compliments which touch us a lot! We take a lot of care of our Hotel, to make ICONE, YOUR favorite Parisian resort...
I hope to have the opportunity to meet you for your next come: Do not hesitate to ask after me at the reception.
Have a beautiful day and see you soon at hotel ICON!

Anne-Sophie ROLLAND
ICONE's Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Conveniently located in a small street just behind the Grands Boulevards, the hotel may be the best Paris hotel experience if you want to stay away from the ridiculously overpriced grands but are not ready to compromise on quality. The rooms are tidy and comfortable, the contemporary interior design is cosy and pleasant, and the small hall with fireplace is great for a impromptu b-meeting or for some solo working. A true gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Irina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofiro, Propriétaire at Hotel Icone, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your attractive compliments which touch us a lot! We take a lot of care of our Hotel, to make ICONE, YOUR favorite Parisian resort...
I hope to have the opportunity to meet you for your next come: Do not hesitate to ask after me at the reception.
Have a beautiful day and see you soon at hotel ICON!

Anne-Sophie ROLLAND
ICONE's Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We picked the hotel based on the positive reviews and location. The hotel is very close to the Richeliu metro stop which was extremely convenient and allowed us to get around easily. We were hoping it would be closer to the Louvre area, however it's about a 15 minute walk from the hotel to the Louvre. There are also a ton of restaurants nearby on the Blvd des Italiens. The hotel itself is average--a standard size for a European hotel. Being from the US the rooms were small by our standard, but we knew that going in. Our room was cleaned everyday, had a tub & shower & a window which was nice.

The only snafu we had is on the 2nd to last night of our 10 day stay, we returned from a trip to Brussels to discover that all of the doors to the hotel were not locking and that anyone could walk into any room in the hotel. We let the front desk know and they said since it was a Sunday, they would not be able to get ahold of anyone until the next day. This was ridiculous to us, because we were expected to leave all of our stuff (which included a laptop, passports, etc) in our room unattended, as well as sleep in an unlocked room. This went on for about 40 hours before finally a manager upgraded us to a different room where the doors were locking--even though we had requested this immediately once we found this out. We ended up spending our last day in Paris packing & repacking our stuff moving it to the front desk, to our old room, to another room, etc. Nightmare! Not impressed with the customer service, but I'm sure this was a rare event.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 35805Jesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very nice hotel, rooms were nicely decorated, spacious and clean. Staff was very helpful and nice. Good location close to the metro. Stayed for 3 nights with two friends and are more than happy with the stay. Got the room at a good price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKSLFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofiro, Propriétaire at Hotel Icone, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour

Je suis Ravie que vous ayez pu jouir pleinement de tous les avantages qu'offre l'ICÔNE lors de votre séjour à PARIS... Nous n'avons de cesse d'améliorer l'Hotel ICONE pour votre plus grand plaisir !
Belle soirée et à trés bientôt à l'ICÔNE pour y découvrir les nouveautés..................

Anne-Sophie ROLLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 9 nights in Paris and was very pleased. The location is perfect and I could walk easily to many attractions (Louvre is only about a 10 min walk) which is great. It is located on a quiet street but only 1 minute from Boulevarde Haussman

The rooms are on the small side, and as I have not stayed anywhere else in Paris I cannot compare, but based on a lot of research this seemed to be pretty standard for the city. As a single traveller though, this was fine but a standard room might be cramped for 2 so I would look at getting a bigger room. Bed was comfortable and the room has air conditioning so slept well.

Everything was new and clean and this was really important. Compared to some of the prices I encountered while searching for a hotel, I feel lucky to have found this hotel as it is great value compared with some of the astronomical prices of paris hotels.

There are also a couple of small niceties that I didn't expect from a 3 star hotel such as room service options (from 5pm to 1:30am) and options for massages and beauty treatments in your room. Staff were also quite friendly

Some of the complaints from other reviews are true, however they are annoying for about 1 second. For example the first time you enter, the hallways are narrow, however this is just for the couple of metres you have to walk to your room and you only have luggage when you first check in. The light also turns on within a few steps of walking out of your room so that wasn't really a problem.

Would definitely recommend to others - great find for me

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofiro, Propriétaire at Hotel Icone, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your attractive compliments which touch us a lot! We take a lot of care of our Hotel, to make ICONE, YOUR favorite Parisian resort...
I hope to have the opportunity to meet you for your next come: Do not hesitate to ask after me at the reception.
Have a beautiful day and see you soon at hotel ICON!

Anne-Sophie ROLLAND
ICONE's Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Mercure Paris Opera Louvre
Mercure Paris Opera Louvre
#819 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Gramont Opera Paris
Hotel Gramont Opera Paris
#326 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lautrec Opera
Hotel Lautrec Opera
#1,055 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Vivienne
Hotel Vivienne
#413 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Helder Opera
Hotel Helder Opera
#1,116 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Citadines Opera Paris
Citadines Opera Paris
#523 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Icone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icone

Property: Hotel Icone
Address: 4 rue d Amboise | 2nd Arr., 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#423 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Icone 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Icône sets the standard of luxury Parisian hotels. New facilities like free wifi, flat-screen TV. Modernly appointed for Paris hotel rooms (refurbished in 2010), personalized service, design with sophisticate style, an eco-friendly soul and just few minutes from Paris city center attractions. Hotel Icone is close to Opera Garnier, Bourse, Louvre museum and department store such as Galeries Lafayettes. Wonderful location to start your journeys in Paris, only one block from subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Icone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing