We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Opera
Ranked #683 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
248 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

stayed here for 4 nights on our recent first time trip to paris. very clean with good amenities. spacious bath, comfy beds. off the main drag, so its quiet. very close to the metro: about a 7 to 10 minute walk. front desk are very helpful and courteous without being obtrusive. they are very knowledgeable and will help you in any way: directions, money exchange, stamps and mailing cards. very good continental breakfast with a variety of food, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, juices, croissants, cereals, and sliced meats that even an american enjoyed. high;y recommend to anyone going to paris, especially first timers

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biodont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    192
    42
    3
    5
See reviews for
200
127
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Windsor Opera Hotel during December 2013. Even though the hotel is not situated close to the main attractions, getting to them is relatively easy. The metro is close by and one can reach the sites within minutes. Also closely situated to GareDu Nord train station.The hotel is extremely neat. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. We requested connecting rooms as we were traveling with our kids. This was arranged for us. Modern and well maintained. Rooms are spacious for Europe. Breakfast though is very basic. Will definitely stay here again if I return to Paris.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMaharaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nestled in the 10th Arondissement, very close to the Metro, nestled in a quiet alley. The room (quad) was large enough for 4 persons, and was modern and clean. We could hear (actually very lightly feel) the rumble of the metro trains but it didn't bother us. Just down the road is a really good little burger place, and not far are two 'secret passage' shopping areas. We would recommend staying at this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eisfortheextras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

i stayed here for a business trip
it s an old building , recently refurbished , with a very specialised staff : specially multilingual
but dont wait to see a palace it still have a small corridor in room floors , very few rooms the elevator is small cause they added it inside the stair case so ...
but rooms are bigger than some other brand name hotels in paris and very clean
if it is your first time in the hotel you will find a problem to arrive the first time because it s in a passage (small road ) but after searching you will surely find it
breakfast is so so : fresh juice some cheese and croissant fresh bread ...
before booking i read some reviews saying it was just near the metro : in fact it s 500m far from the metro and the traveller must know this
but one more time i say the staff are very kind and helpfull
if you need to go to restaurants in the area ( there is many ) ask the staff and they give you the good adresses and they were good in my opinion

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vromvrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel staff is very helpful and nice and the room is recently redecorated and looks lovely. However, there are a couple things which I hated about the room and which would prompt me never to stay again nor recommend anyone stay here. The first and most annoying is the sound of the metro trains. Every minute (no exaggeration) you hear/feel the rumbling of the nearby trains from about 6AM to past midnight. At first, it's not too bad but after the second or third day, it was maddening. The second thing I hated was the shower. The bathroom is large and recently remodeled but whoever designed the shower really stuck their foot in it. The shower is a little nook on the side of the bathroom without any raised "curb" to contain the water. Furthermore, although it's wide enough, it's not very deep. So, two things happen the minute you step in the shower: (1) the shower curtain immediately sticks to your butt (ewwww) and (2) once you pry the shower curtain out of your butt and away from you, the shower sprays the whole bathroom. There's no way to shower without making an absolute lake of the bathroom. On top of that, a couple times the water went ice cold right in the middle of the shower without any rhyme or reason. Really guys? Who designed this place? In any case, I would never stay here again even though it was really clean, nicely decorated and well located.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nohemy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorOpera, Gérant at Hotel Windsor Opera, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. I am very happy to read that you found our staff very helpful and nice and that your recently decorated room looked lovely. I was also delighted to read that you found the hotel really clean, nicely decorated and well located.
What a shame you didn’t come to our reception team, who are always eager to please, so we could help you out with the issues you mentioned in your review.

We have three types of rooms available here at Hotel Windsor Opera (Comfort: 1 to 2 people, Superior rooms: 1 to 3 people and Junior Suites: 1 to 5 people) and while respecting the reservation and booking, we strive to also give each client a room suited to their personal wishes and taste. Some people prefer twin beds, others a double, some guests like to be on the ground floor, others higher up. Some like to be on the inner courtyard, others on the street, different colours etc. It’s a question of personal choice and different points of view. Whenever possible, we endeavour to cater to each guest’s expectations when we are made aware of them.

Concerning the metro and the maddening sound of the trains disturbing you. May I kindly remind you that you were staying in the heart of Paris, a beautiful, old city with an amazingly efficient underground system that runs throughout?

It is one of the densest metro systems in the world, with 245 stations within 86.9 km2 (34 sq mi) of the city of Paris. The average distance between stations is 562 m (1,844 ft), as a result, the metro can be heard all over the city, wherever you stay (or live) and can also be felt even on the higher floors of some old buildings that have lines running directly under them. I agree with you that it can be annoying – though every minute, really?
Fortunately there are no direct lines actually running under the hotel, just a service line that has a few non-commuter trains rarely running, during the night.
So again, all I can say, is that had you come to us, we might have been able to give you another room on a higher floor, but I’m afraid, like other hotels in Paris, we can’t guarantee that you wouldn’t feel any rumblings.

You stayed with us for 6 nights having booked your double room well in advance, through the internet at a special promotional and discounted rate.

The room you stayed in was a superior room, larger than the double one you actually booked (we upgraded you free of charge - the normal rate being 340€). In addition to the little private outdoor patio, the large superior room has a big bathroom of nearly 6m² (64 sq ft) with an open walk-in shower measuring *103cm by 90cm (3.38ft x 2.95ft ) that is specially designed, on purpose, (believe it or not!) without a “raised curb”, for two reasons.
1. It’s a design feature sort-out by a lot of guests who like the open-plan feel to the large bathroom called “douche à l’Italienne”, and
2. According to French law, all the bathrooms have to correspond to strict obligatory size regulations and certain bathrooms must have walk-in showers that are wheelchair accessible.
That you didn’t like the design is of course down to personal choice and understandable, but how surprising that you found your shower too small, since it’s one that is officially approved for wheel chair manoeuvres.*

So, there is no mistake, and the person who designed this place, did not stick their foot in it ! (Luckily for us, or we’d be in trouble!). Although I appreciate you didn’t like it, I wouldn’t consider it a reason to not recommend anyone to stay with us, or to not come back.
Again, we would have happily found a solution during your stay since we have many other bathroom combinations available in the hotel: bathrooms with bathtubs, bathrooms with showers with glass doors, and bathrooms with showers with bathtubs with or without shower curtains.

During your time with us, there was a moment when the water pressure decreased and we were made aware of this by another guest and the technician was called in to check things out immediately. It is crucial to us that we get this kind of information from our guests so that we can act on it as soon as possible.

I respectfully suggest that the most important ingredients when choosing a hotel for a successful visit in our beautiful city would be:
Clean rooms and bathrooms, good size rooms and bathroom, nicely decorated, well located and helpful, nice staff, not to mention exceptional promotional rates…

The Windsor Opera hotel has all of these 4-star qualities as you yourself pointed out.

I hope I have helped explain the few major issues you referred to and that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. I remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Kind regards,
S. Battaggia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from Gare du Norde train station. It isn't well signed from outside but there are two orange lamps either side of the front door which are easy to see. The hotel is lovely, we had a quad room and the fact the sofa split into two single beds was great. The room and beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good, croissants, pan au chocolate, Danish pastries and bread; cold meats, cheese, fresh fruits and yoghurt. There was also a cooked option, scrambled egg, sausage and bacon. It took us about half an hour to walk to Point Neuf across the Seine at a leisurely pace, the metro was only two blocks away when we ventured further afield.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely place to stay. Typical Paris in size but love the modern but rustic decor and features. I would recommend this to anyone and the area it is set is nearby a student like area full of bars but not the noise you get in the UK cities. Staff helpful and rooms of good size.

Anyone have any questions please feel free to ask me via TP!

Edd

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Touraine Opera
Hotel Touraine Opera
#780 of 1,798 in Paris
196 reviews
Opera / Bourse
TRYP Paris Opera Hotel
TRYP Paris Opera Hotel
#615 of 1,798 in Paris
1,038 reviews
Passy
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
#384 of 1,798 in Paris
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Standard Design
Hotel Standard Design
#496 of 1,798 in Paris
565 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#111 of 1,798 in Paris
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Opera

Property: Hotel Windsor Opera
Address: 10 rue Gabriel Laumain, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#286 Family Hotel in Paris
#353 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#397 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#510 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Opera Hotel offers peace and comfort in the heart of Paris, in the well known area of "les Grands Boulevards." Each newly remodeled room is unique and combines simplicity with elegance to offer the perfect balance of comfort and decoration. With modern private and well equipped bathrooms, this chic boutique style hotel will suit business and leisure travelers alike. Classic and modern meet, so WHO will become your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Windsor Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing